HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Popayan hostels

Reviews of Park Life Hostel

Hostel | Calle 5 6-19, Parque Caldas, Popayan, Colombia 00000

94.6% Overall Rating

71 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2013)

"The two owners are super duper nice. Location is almost beyond belief as it is literally on the square, next to the church. Cool vibe and you could do a lot worse than staying here. Not much going on in Popayan but this…"

Read all Park Life Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Popayan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Popayan

Hostel Caracol
9.76 USD

Hostel 92.0% 5 reviews
HostelTrail
9.76 USD

Hostel 92.0% 62 reviews
B&B Campobello Popayan
24.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

71 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Park Life Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 73 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very good location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were a bit upset because by mistake we got the superior room with a view but not with private bathroom (because the description online was misleading). They apologized for the bad description, promised to amend it and gave us a discount.

Disliked: The superior room "with view" is not very great value, so I would advise not taking it - has shared bathroom not so close to the room, and because of the two windows that overlook the main square there is a lot of light during the night which makes it more difficult to sleep. The shower was too hot and could not be adjusted (cold tap does not work). Wifi didn't work too well while we were there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel in the perfect location on the beautiful square of popayan. staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rerally friendly staff and right the heart of things. and lots of information about the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Numa

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, I'll come back next time I visit Popayán.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Very professional and organized staff' Lots of information available. Good showers. Extra blankets available if you want them.

Disliked: As cited on other reviews, mattresses are a little thin but I stlept well

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great social area with comfy seats and bean bags clean rooms great location, right next to the main cathedral staff are english speaking and very helpful

Disliked: breakfast could be included for the price hot water is hit and miss

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double room with the park view was great! Good wifi, fantastic kitchen, very friendly staff, good info about Popayan/Colombian/crossing the border. Great location and value for money.

Disliked: They don't offer breakfast but it the rooms are cheap so understandable. The curtains let all the light in (it's light from 6am) but they are getting thicker ones at some stage. You can hear the noise of the square. Minor grievances!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly atmosphere and helpful staff - didn't appear to be a party hostel so wasn't noisy. Felt relaxed and we weren't ignored by other travelers which is always nice! Location is excellent on main Parque Caldas but still no noise other than mass next door. We stayed in double with private bathroom (only 1) and bed was comfortable but bathroom was shabby - Information was available. Kitchen was ok. cat was cute. It was also very helpful that Kieron answered our booking by email very quickly and we were able to check in early.

Disliked: Only double ensuite room is right next to kitchen so there is noise and smells from kitchen (but kitchen closes from 10.30pm so we slept ok until 7am) Shame front double rooms have no private bathroom as they are lovely and offer much more privacy. Owners are aware of this... Bathroom in room needs work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Hart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in in 5 months travelling. One of the owners described to me that he wanted it to feel like coming to stay st a friends place, they have totally achieved that. The location could not be better, the hostel is beautiful and the staff all go out of their way to help you. Wish I could have stayed longer, but the Caribbean coast was calling!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very central and beautiful and enough space to sit and relax

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location right beside the church in the historic square. Really helpful staff. They post much helpful information and they were a tremendous help with information about visiting Tierradentro and crossing the border. Near supermarket and walking distance from bus station and airport.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew King

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, just off the main square next to the cathedral. The staff were great, they spoke English and were more than happy to help out with any questions we had. Nice common areas and big, well equipped kitchen. Our room was small, but had a great view of the square out of the window. The room was clean and tidy, and the bed was nice and comfy. All in all a great stay!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Glynn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful atmospheric building with lovingly designed rooms. More like staying in a boutique hotel than a hostal. Thank you guys - muy muy bueno.

Disliked: Toby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing - best hostel we've stayed in so far in south america. Staff and owners were extremely helpful and friendly as well as being multi lingual. Would definately recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel, very friendly owners, great kitchen, amazing location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best place I stayed in 3 months of South America. Incredibly helpful multilingual staff, an incredible place to relax in the common area (kitchen also), and beautifully set out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Don row

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Don would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, great location.

Disliked: Don left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really likes the owners. They were very nice. I had a great experience there.

Disliked: nunca

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were EXTREMELY helpful to a first-timer. LOVED waking up to Ava Maria as the church choir practiced next door in the historic cathedral. Awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great facilities and great staff! What more does a backpacker need!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and everything is so good organiced.

Disliked: X

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Tilton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite hostels! Borja and Luisa, the owners, are incredibly helpful and nice and the hostel is in a great location, right on one of the main squares. The hostel is clean, inviting, and has a very positive vibe. While there, I got pretty sick and I was nursed back to health by the owners. They really went above and beyond. I can't recommend Park Life highly enough.

Disliked: Not a thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prudence proctor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Prudence would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing place to stay, not only do you walk out straight onto the square however you have a view of the cathedral spire from the kitchen. High ceilings, wonderful communal lounge again with high glasshouse roof that makes it easy to lounge around and read/chat. We had the front room in corner which offers excellent vantage point to watch the activity in the square, only down side is very thin curtains so bring eyemask if staying in the doubles as the light from square come through, the dorms are darker. The spanish couple managing the hostel speak excellent English and offer excellent eating out suggestions along with non bias information. All in all a beautiful place to get the most out of popayan. Highly recommended!!!

Disliked: As mentioned only down Point is the curtains in double were to thin and light comes through.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are so helpful and friendly. The location is perfect and the hostel has a real charm to it. I would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Popayan hostels