HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Popayan hostels

Reviews of HostelTrail

Hostel | Carrera 11, no 4-16, Popayan, Colombia .

92.0% Overall Rating

61 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

Howard Robinson thinks…

"Comfortable room, excellent facilities including kitchen, book exchange. Very helpful staff who are happy to book your next hostel. A lot of useful information about other places, things to see and…"

Read all HostelTrail reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.32
  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Popayan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Popayan

Hostel Caracol
9.76 USD

Hostel 92.1% 4 reviews
Park Life Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 94.6% 73 reviews
B&B Campobello Popayan
24.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

61 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HostelTrail'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 59 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Howard Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2014 Howard would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room, excellent facilities including kitchen, book exchange. Very helpful staff who are happy to book your next hostel. A lot of useful information about other places, things to see and do in the area and bus journeys, other hostels. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Howard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Ouwersloot

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: We had a good room. It was quiet and they had good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hemanta Mozumdar

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Hemanta would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF WAS VERY EAGER TO WELCOME ME AND WAS HELPFUL TO ANSWER MY QUESTIOS ABOUT THE IMPORTANT SIGHTSEEING PLACES,BANKING FACILITIES AND EATERIES, ETC.. I FELT COMFORTABLE AND SAFE TO STAY AT THE HOSTEL. KIM, A VERY TALENTED STAFF WAS ON TOP OF MATTERS CONCERNING THE VISITING GUESTS, INCLUDING MYSELF. I WISH THE STAFF ALL THE BEST. HAPPY HOLIDAYS. THANKS. HEMANTA

Disliked: MY ROOM 5 DOOR LOCKING SYSTEM WAS VERY HARD AND DIFFICULT--I HAD TO STRUGGLE WITH IT TO LOCK. IT NEEDS REPLACEMENT. THE WASH-SINK IN THE HALLWAY IS CLOGGED WITH WATER, THE STOPPER KNOB STAYS DOWN AND ONE HAS TO LIFT IT UP WITH FINGERS THRU DIRTY WATER.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel. Central, only 5 blocks from the main square. Nice DVD area. First electric shower to actually be warm!

Disliked: Might not be the best hostel for meeting other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean safe and great location.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good wifi, close to center, friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing special

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beth hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 beth would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing is a problem. We were close to the main square. The hostel may have to move which is a pitty as the building is great.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay so much, The room we had had a beautiful view from our own balcony. Milton and Roberto the two guys running the place were super cool and helpful. Each room has its own dvd player and tv to watch when your exhausted from all the shopping and hikes which we took full advantage of. The Kitchen is great situated high up on the roof with great views but it was a bit messy most of the time which may have been caused by other travellers but who knows. All in all I would recommend this place to stay.

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit messy but nothing to write home about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012

Liked: It is in a good location in town, not far from the main square, restaurants, cafés and the bus station. The place felt safe and pleasant, also, rooms and bathrooms very super clean. The electric shower did give us decently warm, if not hot, water and there was no line at the shared bathroom.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the room we had was VERY loud. Opening the window was impossible as the dirt and stink from the street right below made us choke, and even with the wooden shutters closed, the noise was incredible! No good night's sleep here: it got super stuffy without the window open, and that plus the noise gave us a headache. A decent ventilation system and new, insulated double-glass windows would certainly address the issue. Though this is promoted as a Scottish-owned hostel, none of the staff spoke any English. The owners obviously were not around. Everyone was nice, but it did not make up for certain shortcomings: we booked the "Downhill Biking Hot Springs Tour" which was supposed to be at 10am. At 9.45am we were told to hurry out of our room. There was no time to check the bikes. We arrived at the Aguas Hirviendos which are in a nice setting but themselves run-down, stinky and a bit sketchy. The water is nice and hot though. Biking home revealed a far bigger problem: the pedal on one of our bikes kept coming loose. As it is certainly NOT a Downhill tour, it meant that I had to push up every hill, adding almost two hours to the trip. The terrain goes up and down which I am sure is no problem if your bike works fine. The person in charge is offering us a tiny discount on the price of the tour, but I'm still a bit disappointed since everything looked so awesome before!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke ODell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting building, good areas to hang out, good information about Popayan and the surrounding areas.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is extremely helpful; tours and points of interest in town but also recommedations for other hostels etc. Brilliant!

Disliked: Despite the brilliand window-covers it's still rather noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure and friendly hostel.

Disliked: A bit noisy. They lost some of our socks in the wash.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great backpacker option. The dorm is spacious and clean. There are lockers available (some with sockets to charge your electrical items!). It's really close to the centre of town and other amenities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very safe. I really liked the well stocked tv room for the rainy afternoons. Hosteltrail will book tours (check the bikes before you use them though!) and other hostels for you.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything really! Didn't see the owners during our stay but the rest of the staff was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Carlos Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Juan Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Es un hostel pequeño pero a su vez brinda la oportunidad de conocer a otros huespedes y a gente del lugar. Todos lo que trabajan en el son muy atentos... es recomendable. Organizan actividades fuera como dentro del hostel.

Disliked: nada en particular

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte ososki

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great local information - your own map complete with restaurants and sights plus descriptions of those restaurants on a public board. Up to date bus times also on display. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious. Beers and drinks available. Good wifi downstairs.

Disliked: We booked a double bed but were given a twin bed. Not the end of the world though as we pushed them together and were given a CP$5000 discount for the inconvenience which was nice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic level of information about local attractions and travel in Colombia generally.

Disliked: Didn't like the bed in our private room. Soft, squishy foam.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of trips available and a good atmosphere with the other travellers. We'd highly recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, good curry dinners on offer on wednesdays, the staff know the surrounding areas really well and have plenty of suggestions on what to do in town

Disliked: Nil!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janja markus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 janja would recommend this property

Liked: I can easily say that Hoatel Trail is one of the best hostels I ve been in here in South America... Its located only few blocks from the main square, the owner was really nice, there is always someone at the desk who you can ask for advice, all the infos you need about town and places around you can get here... I really enjoyed staying here... :)

Disliked: hmmm... its really hard to say cause I really had only experience with Hoatel Trail...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great - tons of info on the walls.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good tv room with heaps of dvd's to choose from

Disliked: Everything was a bit expensive... the books, washing, dinner night. Very uncomfortable bed...the slats off the bed kept falling out from underneath

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: rude

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zoe Rouch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: bedroom was ginormous - we even had our own sunroom!

Disliked: someone´s skanky hairs left in the shower by the blind cleaning lady


See all Popayan hostels