HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel Medellin

Hostel

Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles., Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 83%

Location 85%

Safety 88%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 83%

Location 85%

Safety 88%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Hammocks are cool. And the chicks were great

Disliked: wAy way too loud. Maybe by 330am, it finally gets quite.Honestly , my next day was a total waste -- I was stumbling around Medellin like a drunken idiot cuz I got no sleep.


The property's response is

It's ghetto , rough neighborhood , very very loud all nite.
I actually left a day early - couldn't stand it

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Nice hostel, we'll kept, with all you need in the kitchen, nice areas to meet other travelers and staff I great! Smiling and helpful !Would come back, excellent deal for the money.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice community feeling. Good communal spaces.

Disliked: Our room was on the first floor and very loud at night.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: amazing people awesome layout hammocks kitchen beers 24/7. quiet but still close to the action. had an amazing time

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff generally, lots of space to chill in

Disliked: To be honest the 8 bed dorm was an embarrassment. I've stayed in some smaller places but this was tiny, people kept knocking bags over and generally it was too cramped. However, I guess the cheaper price reflects this!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was in a very good location and close to everything that I needed to do in my first two weeks in Medellin. The hostel had a lot to offer both during the day and at night time and I felt it catered very well for all people staying there

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff. Great location -lots of restaurants and bars, Good food. Not as touristy as el poblado!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly and there was a decent kitchen and outdoor/common areas

Disliked: Bed sheets were threadbare and covered in other people's hair. I assume they'd been changed between visits and maybe this had got stuck on in the washing machine but it wasn't pleasant. Rooms had lots of dust and fluff on the floors and looked like they hadn't been cleaned very often. Location is fine for a more authentic local experience but if you have to get to Poblado it's about a 45 minute door to door trip and the metro finishes at 11pm on weeknights so you have to leave early or accept taxi fares will add up

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The space, the hammocks, the aid of the staff and the value overall.

Disliked: not enough locks for lockers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Love how this hostel has a lot of social/hangout areas. You have the couches, hammocks, castle, balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff. I asked an infinite amount of questions and they were always eager to help me. They were practically my tour guides. The atmosphere and vibe of this hostel is amazing. I am a solo traveler so meeting people that like to have a good time was no problem here. I have a few trips lined up after my stay at wandering paisa. Going to reunite with the people from my stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability