We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76, Laureles, Medellin, Colombia 0000

84.3% Overall Rating

115 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2015)

"Friendly staff, location is good (not great though), cheap, nice common areas, very clean (the best as is possible in a building that's a little bit old)"

Read all The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Paisa City Hostel
8.31 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
Palm Tree Backpackers Hostel
10.69 USD

Hostel 90.5% 13 reviews
Urban Buddha Hostel
9.50 USD

Hostel 87.1% 6 reviews
Eco Hostel Medellin Permaculture
5.94 USD

Hostel 99.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Conquistadores
9.18 USD

Hotel 69.8% 12 reviews
Yellow House Hostel
8.99 USD

Hostel 91.7% 67 reviews
Hostal Antiguo
9.50 USD

Hostel 96.2% 9 reviews
Sophia's House
8.71 USD

Hostel 88.1% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

115 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 116 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

svenja kunz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2015

Liked: They have a big kitchen to prepare food.

Disliked: When I enter the hostel the first time a massive patty was going on and it was difficult to made it to the reception. The girl at the reception was already drunk and seems to be annoyed that I disturbed her during her party. You couldn't lock any of the dorm rooms and since on the party were a lot of people from outside who walked happily through the whole hostel I felt not that my things were very well protected. On the next day the place looked like a mess and it took them till the afternoon to clean it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, location is good (not great though), cheap, nice common areas, very clean (the best as is possible in a building that's a little bit old)

Disliked: Room near the road is noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

João Paulo Oliveira

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

08 March 2015 João Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Very good its amazing...I recommend so much

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Higuera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

27 February 2015 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: For me was an awsome experience, good beds, very helpfull and nice staff, clean, very safe, very good location close to the metro, and easy to go to interesting parts in the city. Also i really like the diferent activities the hostel have to make you share with local people. I made great friends so now it is my second home, I really liked Medellin!!! I am really thankful with the Wandering Paisa, i really love it!! :)

Disliked: Cindy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - the owner and staff are super friendly and helpful. Lots of nighttime activities on and close to public transport so you can walk everywhere. Great salsa clubs within walking distance too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ron Rosenzvaig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Two plugs in the room for a 6 bed dorm, they charge you if you want to use the computers at the "lobby", the room was cramped and no blankets. The toilet at the room was clogged..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

manon asencio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 manon would recommend this property

Liked: There is a nice common area with hammocks and couches, that makes it easy to meet people. The staff is really helpful and friendly! And it's well located, the area around the hostel is pretty good, lots of place to eat and to have drinks, and there is a metro station close by, so it's easy to go around the city!

Disliked: It's a bit smelly downstairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service

Disliked: NA

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near La Setenta... Lots of people... Nice staff... They were celebrating the hostel anniversary and the live band was good... The vibe was awesome and everyone seemed to be having a great time!

Disliked: Private bathroom wasn't very clean but I was sharing with 5 guys who were there first...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Jones

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and available 24 hers a day and are always willing to help. They provided a big screen for sporting events. The provided Salsa classes were well attended.

Disliked: Nothing but please note if you are in the private room Equador this is adjacent to the lounge so there is likely to be noise until curfew time at least midnight

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Crowley

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 September 2014 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: It's just a cool place. The staff make you feel at home and the guests are all very interesting

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Lopez

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: I truly enjoyed my stay at The Wandering Paisa. The vibe and energy of this place is just vibrant. The staff made me feel at home since the minute I walked in. They are always willing and happy to please their guests. Location is perfect, close the metro station, a block away from Calle 70 full of restaurants, clubs etc. The place was always clean. Their weekly activities are a great way to mingle and meet other travelers and locals. I will definitely come back and will recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a great stay in a friendly, kind and fun place. ¡Gracias por toda la atención! Vanessa

Disliked: I liked everything about this hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diego Robles

Alone

City break

01 August 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the friendly staff and the daily activities this hostel has.

Disliked: They didn't take credit cards and breakfast is not included.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rafael Ramirez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful. Fellow travelers were enjoyable and a blast to hang out with. Beds are good and rooms are clean and with air conditioner. Karaoke, language exchange, BBQs and all other activities great. I had a blast on this hostel.

Disliked: Used paper towels on bathrooms most recollected most often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Kleinschmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The Wandering Paisa hostel was a key factor in what made my stay in Medllin the great time that it was! The staff was incrediable friendly and always available to help me with any questions that had with a smile on their face. It was a very clean hostel with very comfortable beds and clean showers with hot water! I loved the location as well because it is located very close to the metro which gives you great access to all the different parts of the city. It is also is located just a block away from one of the best local streets to hang out on! The Wandering Paisa hostel offered a great environment to meet fellow travelers, celebrate, but also relax! I highly recommend this place to anyone!!!

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Randy Arroyave

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Randy would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious! There is a nice rest area with hammocks that gets fresh air and some sun; perfect for an afternoon nap! Wifi was great. The staff and the people that stay there have a great energy! I made two great friends there! Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Milena Jarocka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: Its quite well located,the kamer is fron Us so when he is there no problem for the ones who don't speak Spanish

Disliked: It's pretty big and it is hard to keep it clean,the bathrooms where pretty disguisting, used toilet paper was falling out of the small bins in the end of the day,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean watts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 sean would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very chilled hostel, with bar (!), close to the metro and La Setanta, a good area for eating and drinking establishments! The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Definitely worth a stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Estrada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful when asked. Fellow travelers were enjoyable and a blast to hang out with. The hostel itself was thoroughly cleaned daily and always in good condition.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, good social events, nice location in the center of everything and extremely helpful bilingual staff

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay at Wandering Paisa. All staff and other travellers were very friendly and there is a good atmosphere in the hostel. The manager has a really good range of events going on and its a great place to meet up with other Colombians who regularly turn up for events like language exchange, free salsa and karaoke. Another good thing was the location. The hostel is in a great part of town called laureles which i think is a lot more interesting than Poblado where the majority of hostels are. Its easier to meet Colombians and practice spanish whilst also having its share of backpackers and travelers. I would definitely recommend the hostel as a good place to stay in and base from which to get to know Medellin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miriam Romaniuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Love, love, love the wandering paisa. This place had such a great vibe to it, amazing people and the staff were incredible. I would not stay anywhere else in medellin. I had an unfortunate incident where my bag got stolen when I was out and they were amazing to help me in these circumstances.

Disliked: Miriam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Steiniger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful receptionist, nice little roof patio.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location.. very close to Estadio metro station, so the whole city is easily accessible, and if you like sports you can utilize all of the facilities at the stadium for free. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Nice kitchen. Comfortable beds. But the best thing about the hostel is the weekly events that draw plenty of locals, along with a slew of other gringos who aren't staying in the hostel. The Paisa is a perfect spot to begin your Medellin adventure and make some new friends!

Disliked: Got a bit overcrowded on the weekends.