HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arcadia Hostel

Hostel | No. 31A-188, Calle 11A, Las Lomas 1, Poblado Medellin, Colombia 05001000

82.3% Overall Rating

65 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2014)

"Good location a 5 minute walk from the bars and restaurants. Breakfast pancakes were pretty good."

Read all Arcadia Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Tiger Paw Hostel
15.67 USD

Hostel 83.6% 12 reviews
Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel
13.51 USD

Hostel 90.1% 42 reviews
Saman Hostel Medellin
11.89 USD

Hostel 92.9% 67 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.81 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews
RAM Hostal
13.51 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
15.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
24.32 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
14.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

65 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arcadia Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: There was nice common space. Wifi was so fast. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: Hot shower was so hard to use. The dormitory was messy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: Good location a 5 minute walk from the bars and restaurants. Breakfast pancakes were pretty good.

Disliked: The 12 bed dorm has four triple story bunk beds crammed into a small room. There are no lockers for bags despite what the website says and the floor was covered in bags that you had to step around to get to your stuff. The room had no key and only tiny lockers for small valuables. Things were stolen from the room while we were here. Our room was by the exit and the metal entry door is very noisy to open and shut so it's hard to sleep. Not enough bathrooms in the hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rhiannon Ledger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to bars, restaurants and clubs. Nice outside balcony area

Disliked: Triple bunk beds in the 12 bed dorm and also there are only 2 toilets and showers for the whole hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

george fermanis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 george would recommend this property

Liked: during my short stay at arcadia hostel i was impressed at the service of the staff in recommending good places to visit, being prompt with requests made and to bringing a enjoyable environment to the hostel. the owner of the hostel spiro played a big part in this with a prime example of bringing together the people staying to go out on a saturday night. the location was very good close the the 'el poblado' which is a great area to stay in and expereince the nightlife of medellin. the rooms in the hostel were cspacious and also very clean. the bathroom was one of the most cleanest and sizable that i have stayed in my 4 months of travelling around the world. the facilities were good with a kitchen to use to cook your meals and good common area and a bar provided where you can enjoy anything you want. the free breakfast provided is also a very nice thing about hostel considering the cheap rate compared to many others. i would defintely recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit medellin whether its a small or long stay.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Custom made bunk beds that make no noise, two power outlets for each bed and light and shelves with decent lockers. The social area is really nice with an indoor areas with sofas and a TV to use, and an outdoor social area patio. The place is a few minutes walk from the El Poblado main high street but it's by a river and a bit of forest so it's a nice change from the hecticness of the city. Well worth staying over the weekend to see Medellin and also Spyros' Greek BBQ on Sunday

Disliked: Nothing I can think of to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Courtney Merner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: Pancakes and coffee, good communal kitchen, beds were comfortable and big, the neighbourhood is quiet and close to restaurants/bars, good value

Disliked: Cons: My room was a little crowded. There are 12 people in the room and though the beds are big (big enough to fit me and my backpack easily) the amount of floor space gets a bit crowded with everyone's things. Also it was in an odd location and near to the exit so it could be a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Brett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, Spyros is a cool guy and the rest of the staff also, and the people I met.

Disliked: Not much. Noisy in dorms sometimes but that's part of hostels and more the guests fault.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free pancakes and coffee breakfast is delicious and the staff are pretty friendly and helpful. There is a free Salsa class on Friday nights which was a lot of fun and a great intro to Salsa for beginners like us! The kitchen is fully equipped and the common room area is nice place to chill out. There is also a communal balcony area outside which was good for socialising. We loved the hostel cats too.

Disliked: Although the hostel did have a good atmosphere we often felt it was a bit too noisy. It's not advertised as a party hostel, yet on one morning the reception was pumping out some pretty loud music at about 7:30/8am...which we felt was a bit early. The main thing for us though, was the noise after hours. We stayed in the 'Budget Private Room', which, in itself was ok...apart from the fact you don't get much privacy as it is right on the balcony, so you can't open the curtains, which can be a bit depressing! There is also zero soundproofing, so it's pretty noisy and sometimes cigarette smoke from people sitting outside would waft in too. We realise that hostels are always going to be a bit noisy - especially on the weekends, but to be woken up at 4:30am and 5:30am by people drinking, singing and playing music right outside the 'private room' window on 2 consecutive nights is just not reasonable. We had to ask them to be quiet ourselves (we only worked to a degree). There is even a sign in the room that says 'no loud talking after 12pm'....not enforced at all. So that's our view on the private room. However, if you want a nice place to socialise and don't mind the noise, then the dorms did look pretty good and there are plenty of good things too.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Medora Davison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Medora would recommend this property

Liked: I met some amazing people at Arcadia. From the staff to other guests, this is a really great place to meet friends. Spyros is really helpful and so are all the other staff with any information or help you need.

Disliked: Medora left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lee franks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 lee would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and staff. I would stay here again.

Disliked: A little dirty and the shower is rubbish.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing, free pancakes and coffee every morning is a nice way to save money. The locations is a bit far from the metro but close to all the bars and restaraunts. The 12 bed dorm is CHEAP.

Disliked: The 12 bed dorm is quite bad but you get what you pay for I suppose. There is no ventilation in there and no walk when it is full. The only public shower (without going into other people's dorms and waking them) is quite poor, full of bugs and you can see right into the shower from the outside. The cleaner made regular visits to this area (although I would like to think she did not peek). The kitchen is filthy and full of bugs. This hostel could be AMAZING with a bit of money and love.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecile Van Thiel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Cecile would recommend this property

Liked: Love the staff, very helpfull! Awesome 3 bed bunks beds, nice mattresses,..l loved it in total

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cool relaxed feel of the hostel and i like the terrace it is a good social space for people to meet and chat.

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the zona rosa, but in a quiet neighbourhood. It has a nice terrace and commun area. The owner and staff are really friendly and there is a lot of information to find on the city.

Disliked: It wasn`'t that clean and there are a bit too much beds in one dorm. The kitchen is big and has all the amenities but also wasn`t clean enough.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool common room, free breakfast, close to bars and clubs

Disliked: Location wasn't great for getting around, 20-25 min walk to the nearest metro. Originally booked budget double, be warned it's right next to the common room and the common area is noisy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel- loved the pancakes! Great atmosphere with loads of information on offer. The best part of Arcadia though is definitely Spyros and his staff, who are all extremely friendly and helpful. Strongly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 August 2013

Liked: Good vibe in the hostel, very friendly staff, two computers to use.

Disliked: The 12 man dorm is horrendous, very small and crampt and the bathroom is two floors away. The other dorms are a bit tight as well, the greek owner has obviously tried to maximum revenue from a relatively small hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spiros, the owner/operator, is a nice guy who wants to help you comfortable while visiiting Medellin. If you can, you should be there for the Greek BBQ on Sundays.

Disliked: Temporary contsruction that affected the cleanliness, but otherwise ok.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: The thing I liked most about this hostel was that you can definitely see that the Greek owner (Spyros) really puts his heart into the place: he and all the staff are friendly, there's really good tourist information in the form of a giant map of the city with all the important landmarks pointed out and there's a weekly BBQ with a Greek theme. The place is kept clean and staff were generally friendly and helpful. I also liked the complimentary breakfast, which consisted of coffee and pancakes (that you can make yourself anytime before noon).

Disliked: There weren't many things I didn't like, but they were annoying enough to lower my review score. First off, there weren't that many people around, even though Medellin seemed to be full of travelers at the time. This made socializing a bit hard. Despite that, it could still be rather loud at night, because some of the staff liked their music rather loud and the few people there were kept talking until late on the terrace our room faced, with no staff member stopping them. Also the first two mornings we got woken up by somebody playing the guitar on that same terrace before 9:30am, which is rather irritating if other people didn't let you sleep the night before. I also wasn't the biggest fan of the location. While it's close to the Zona Rosa, it's really rather far from the metro, so getting anywhere outside of Poblado is quite the mission. If you are there for sightseeing more than partying, that might be a bit of a problem. And while it didn't bother me, my girlfriend didn't really like the shared bathroom, which was on a kind of roofed terrace, that also houses the washing machine and drying laundry. It felt a bit like an afterthought (there's not even a mirror above the sink), which is a shame considering that the dorm next to our room had a really nice private bathroom.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mandy Chhoker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 February 2013 Mandy would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Jorge was brilliant and friendly, great guy. Very easy chilled out atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathroom to dorm room had no lock.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, terrace, events.

Disliked: Everything was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great private bathroom. Night staff lovely and with great brownies. Complementary pancakes and coffee are a winner.

Disliked: Adam Sandler movie and Canadian travellers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great find, the hammock was awesome, the beers were cheap and the beds were comfy.

Disliked: Nope

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Apraez Insuasty

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 December 2012 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente todo, divina la habitación, el staff genial, volveremos pronto :)

Disliked: Alejandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joel Mora Monge

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping

08 November 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: The Owner Spyros is a very good talker

Disliked: Will be better if this place would use AC in place of Fan