HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arcadia Hostel Medellin Hostel

Calle 11A, No. 31A-188, Las Lomas 1, Poblado, Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 81%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 81%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The staff

Disliked: I stayed in a room which was literally named Hell { the Greek god name} and it was. Triple bunks in a room which was about 4 or 5 m squared. 12 beds in that space with no window is Hell. Only two toilets available for the people in Hell which was the common toilet for the bar etc. Do not get the 12 dorm room in the hostel!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's close to the nightlife area, which a park very close. The common area and parties are really nice.

Disliked: It's not close to the metro, it's around a 20-25 minutes walk, so after a day knowing the city you'll probably get a cab to come back, since it's a way up.The private room I stayed, in the first floor, it's terrible. It has no windows, so it's stuffy all the time with a smell of cheap motel. The bed is really unconfortable, like hard and not soft. They add two beds to make a double bed, but it's impossible to sleep in the middle because it's quite unconfortable.The noise in this hostel goes until 1-2am. The first day I got there I was really tired expecting to have a nice night of sleep. For my surprise, one the staff (yes the staff) was watching a movie until late at night and talking loudly as well.There's two bathrooms, but one of them is only for shower, it may get a little crowded in some periods of the day. The pressure of the water is not good in one of them. The two bathrooms seems like a temporary construction and not finallized, it's strange.The staff is not commited. I booked two days before a tour to Guatapé. When I got back to the hostel a day before, I asked if the tour was confirmed and it was all right. The girl just says: oh yes I have to call and book you. It was 6pm and of course there was no room for me anymore. There was another company, more expensive, which they called and for my luck someone had give up. If it wasn't for this desistance I would not have made the tour that I wanted, since I was leaving the next day.And finally, it's not clean, I found a small cockroach in my bed.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were good. Free coffee all day.

Disliked: AVOID THE 12 BED DORM AT ALL COSTS!! Is literally the garage turned into a small room, with 3-story bunk-beds crammed in. No space to keep your backpack, it has to be kept upstairs in the broom-cupboard. No bathroom, just a toilet or shower on the top floor in the laundry - so nowhere to get changed or even put your towel and clothes when showering. Plus they were always filthy, as was the kitchen. Probably if you were in any other room it would be OK?? Lacking vibe in the common areas, no outside only small undercover balcony.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The laidback atmosphere

Disliked: Check-in took ages

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location and really friendly stuff. I had a 6 beds dorm and it was perfect! Loved the pancakes for the breakfast. You have to do them by yourself, what shouldn't be any problem for a backpacker and just add some marmalade or bananas. The hostel is perfect to meet people and spend some days in medellin

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's located a 5-10 minute walk from the center in El Poblado, it's not too loud at nights therefore, but you're still quite close to the nightlife. Great atmosphere in the hostel, Greek grill parties on Sundays, nice common areas to relax. Great and always helpful staff, especially Jessica.

Disliked: There are not too many showers and bathrooms available, if you don't have a room with private bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There was nice common space. Wifi was so fast. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: Hot shower was so hard to use. The dormitory was messy.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location a 5 minute walk from the bars and restaurants. Breakfast pancakes were pretty good.

Disliked: The 12 bed dorm has four triple story bunk beds crammed into a small room. There are no lockers for bags despite what the website says and the floor was covered in bags that you had to step around to get to your stuff. The room had no key and only tiny lockers for small valuables. Things were stolen from the room while we were here. Our room was by the exit and the metal entry door is very noisy to open and shut so it's hard to sleep. Not enough bathrooms in the hostel


The property's response is

Hola thanks for your comment.
The bunk beds are triple but really stable & is one of the cheapest dorms you can get in the city including coffee, pancakes & internet.Its true that there isn't enough space and for this we are planning to instal shelves in each bed to free space in the floor.There are bigger lockers out of the dorm if u need.2 toilets & 2 showers should be ok for Hades and 2 privates.All the rest of the rooms have toilets/showers inside.I see what i can do for the door..

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location close to bars, restaurants and clubs. Nice outside balcony area

Disliked: Triple bunk beds in the 12 bed dorm and also there are only 2 toilets and showers for the whole hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hola thanks for your comment.
The 2 toilets and showers is only for Hades the 12 dorm and 2 privates that should be ok.The rest of the 4 dorms and 1 more private all have their own shower/bathroom inside each room.So these toilets aren't for the whole hostel but for the 1/3 actually!
The bunk beds are triple but really stable and is one of the cheapest dorms you can get in the city including coffee and pancakes and internet Free in the best area Poblado 5 min walk form zona Rosa!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: during my short stay at arcadia hostel i was impressed at the service of the staff in recommending good places to visit, being prompt with requests made and to bringing a enjoyable environment to the hostel. the owner of the hostel spiro played a big part in this with a prime example of bringing together the people staying to go out on a saturday night. the location was very good close the the 'el poblado' which is a great area to stay in and expereince the nightlife of medellin.the rooms in the hostel were cspacious and also very clean. the bathroom was one of the most cleanest and sizable that i have stayed in my 4 months of travelling around the world. the facilities were good with a kitchen to use to cook your meals and good common area and a bar provided where you can enjoy anything you want. the free breakfast provided is also a very nice thing about hostel considering the cheap rate compared to many others. i would defintely recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit medellin whether its a small or long stay.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability