We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Sheep Medellin

Hostel | Transversal 5A #45 - 133, Medellin, Colombia .

92.9% Overall Rating

152 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2015)

"Great quiet location! You're still only about a 10-15 min walk from the nightlife, and super close to a largesupermarket. The staff for the most part are super nice and helpful."

Read all Black Sheep Medellin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Hostel Casa Blanca
7.89 USD

Hostel 77.4% 45 reviews
The PitStop
8.68 USD

Hostel 79.2% 58 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
11.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Poblado Park
11.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 79.5% 12 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
7.89 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews
Saman Hostel Medellin
8.68 USD

Hostel 90.2% 69 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

152 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Sheep Medellin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great quiet location! You're still only about a 10-15 min walk from the nightlife, and super close to a largesupermarket. The staff for the most part are super nice and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom we have access to smells awful and the shower is like a freezing firehouse. We have been using a bathroom on the main floor, and its clean and the shower is amazing! So just be weary of which shower you use. There are plenty around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Helen Longfils

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities e.g. shared computers, wifi, kitchen and common spaces. Helpful staff. Good BBQ

Disliked: Rooms could be cleaned more regularly (ours wasn't cleaned at all during our 3 night stay). Nice enough hostel but lacking a little in character, A little on the pricey side for what it is

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Bolinska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: All is good! Stayed here last year for 3 weeks and I am back now for 5 days!!! Should be back here next time in Colombis :)

Disliked: Nada

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to metro & a big supermarket, has a great TV room & it's a very chilled hostel

Disliked: My food got stolen & this happened to quite a few people during my stay. It was odd as I had medication in with my food.. The staff had my medicine but had no idea where my bag of food was.. Very odd. Not sure if the cleaning staff may be taking food.. They definitely need another fridge for the amount of people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Russell-Einhorn

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The owners clearly know how to run a hostel. There's a kitchen for cooking, there's beer and water for purchase. We stayed in a private double with private bathroom and it was a great value for the price. The water was hot and strong in the showers. The location is where you want. I would not want to stay downtown because it's just a huge mess of street shops (fun to visit, not fun to meet every time you leave your hostel). El Poblado is super cute, pretty upscale, very safe. There are some cute shops and lots of cute restaurants in the neighborhood and the metro is very close. We ate breakfast at Al Alma down the street and it was amazing. A nice refreshing meal from the yellow/white meals that we've been eating so far in paisaland... Also had a good meal at Al Tabun, which is a Middle Eastern restaurant in the neighborhood.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spacious and clean. Kitchen was well stocked. Located in a nice suburb close to bars and public transport.

Disliked: There were not enough toilets and showers for the amount of people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Obodzinski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: - great hostel close to the calle 10 where there are a ton of bars and restauratns (5-10 min walk) - there seemed to be someone cleaning ALL the time! it was awesome. - hot showers - offer lots of activities .. very informative and helpful

Disliked: - it was crazy loud at night and morning from our room as our window backed out onto the courtyard where a lot of people gathered. it was slightly frustrating

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. Close to zona rosa (party zone) and metro poblado. However the walk from the hostel to the zona rosa even though just 10 mins can be damgeroud at night by yourself. If you want to party and come home late at night (walking) then stay at casa kiwi instead. Other that that, this is a great hostel. They have a all you can eat BBQ on sunday (all you can eat if there is food left, which they ran out when I was there)

Disliked: nothing. Too big and too many people but besides that nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It may well be the best hostel in Medellin. It has become a haven for many international travellers. For sociable travellers who like being part of the ex-pat / gringo / back packer network then it is absolutely perfect. For those wanting something more authentically & culturally Colombian it'll be tourist hell.

Disliked: There is anything negative one really could say about the hostel. It is safe, clean, conveniently located and has excellent staff and good amenities. It is however very touristy and overun with gringos. Whether that is a good thing or not depends on your tastes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the metro and lots going on at the hostel.

Disliked: Slight lack of bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent ours running (especially Van por Colombia) from this hostel. Very good bilingual staff- great for practising Spanish. Excellent outdoor chilling areas, with hammocks and tables to eat at. Great TV room (including whole of Game of Thrones recorded on digibox!). Plenty of computers and fastest internet we've had in S. America. Excellent hostel- possibly our favourite in 6 months!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room. It was quiet and clean. The area is a very safe area and is so close to the Metro and supermarket The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There could have been a larger hang out area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, good location and good value. Would recommend to anyone, especially as a landing place before going out to explore other parts of Medellin and beyond.

Disliked: The kitchen gets locked down at midnight, so I couldn't get my water out of the fridge, no big deal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Not enough plug points! Please buy power boards for room. Not enough toilets. Would be good if there were mirrors in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, fast internet with range all over the property, nice friendly cats and plenty of lounges for people to choose from, one of the best hostels I have stayed at. Location is great close to the Metro train system easy to get to downtown Medellin.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john prater

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 June 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Great people

Disliked: The rooms are great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwame Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Kwame would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent and Kelvin the owner is on it. He is usually at the front desk most mornings and he is a wealth of information of things to do not only in Medellin, but throughout Colombia.

Disliked: I tend to prefer hostels that are right in the thick of the action, but this one is about a 10-min walk from the action, which clearly isn't a big issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant staff. Phenomenal barbecue on Sunday nights! Very sociable. Beautiful private rooms. Big well equipped clean kitchen. Location great for trips/sight seeing/nightlife very close, but hostel in nice quiet residential area. Free coffee, towels, water, movies, internet. Hot showers. Roof terrace, hammocks, balcony, lovely spacious clean dorms. ..really couldn't ask for more.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fred Crouch

Alone

Events / festivals

03 May 2014 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: It was all good.

Disliked: It was difficult to find because the sign outside is small. My only complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my very first time staying in a hostel. I was very hesitant at first and very nervous. I had my own room and private bathroom and I had everything I needed. I did not see any use in spending money for an expensive hotel, when I just wanted to be in the middle of the city and have an authentic experience. I was very pleased and relieved. This turned out better than I expected. It is very clean, everyone was so friendly, and overall I felt safe. I have been telling my friends all about it and would stay there again if I ever get the chance to go back. A very cute place.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was incredibly clean. Good location within a five minute walk to metro stop and a big supermarket. Great kitchen facilities and nice social areas. Particularly liked the hammock area on the roof - perfect for relaxing after a long day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are brilliant, internet is great, free towels, bedsheets, etc. Accommodated my 10am check-in. lots of lockers. good neighbourhood. have a great bbq on Sunday. 4 computers to use. drinks for sale. plenty of staff. outdoor seating space

Disliked: definitely for the 18-25 crowd. if you are much older you will feel out of place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Hawker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly helpful staff, great kitchen, everywhere was always super clean, large private rooms and plenty of hang out areas

Disliked: Wifi wasn't great although seems to be like that in most places in Colombia

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: well located, helpful staff, events organized, near to the metro, good part of town, and they'll let you print your boarding passes for free.

Disliked: the wifi was fast when it worked, but it cut out all the time.