HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Sheep Medellin

Hostel | Transversal 5A #45 - 133, Medellin, Colombia .

95.0% Overall Rating

134 out of 140 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2014)

"Excellent ours running (especially Van por Colombia) from this hostel. Very good bilingual staff- great for practising Spanish. Excellent outdoor chilling areas, with hammocks and tables to eat at. Great TV room…"

Read all Black Sheep Medellin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Hostel Casa Blanca
10.75 USD

Hostel 78.3% 44 reviews
The PitStop
12.37 USD

Hostel 78.3% 57 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
14.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
24.19 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
15.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
13.44 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
11.83 USD

Hostel 79.5% 12 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.75 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

134 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Sheep Medellin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent ours running (especially Van por Colombia) from this hostel. Very good bilingual staff- great for practising Spanish. Excellent outdoor chilling areas, with hammocks and tables to eat at. Great TV room (including whole of Game of Thrones recorded on digibox!). Plenty of computers and fastest internet we've had in S. America. Excellent hostel- possibly our favourite in 6 months!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room. It was quiet and clean. The area is a very safe area and is so close to the Metro and supermarket The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There could have been a larger hang out area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, good location and good value. Would recommend to anyone, especially as a landing place before going out to explore other parts of Medellin and beyond.

Disliked: The kitchen gets locked down at midnight, so I couldn't get my water out of the fridge, no big deal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Not enough plug points! Please buy power boards for room. Not enough toilets. Would be good if there were mirrors in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, fast internet with range all over the property, nice friendly cats and plenty of lounges for people to choose from, one of the best hostels I have stayed at. Location is great close to the Metro train system easy to get to downtown Medellin.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john prater

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 June 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Great people

Disliked: The rooms are great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwame Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Kwame would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent and Kelvin the owner is on it. He is usually at the front desk most mornings and he is a wealth of information of things to do not only in Medellin, but throughout Colombia.

Disliked: I tend to prefer hostels that are right in the thick of the action, but this one is about a 10-min walk from the action, which clearly isn't a big issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant staff. Phenomenal barbecue on Sunday nights! Very sociable. Beautiful private rooms. Big well equipped clean kitchen. Location great for trips/sight seeing/nightlife very close, but hostel in nice quiet residential area. Free coffee, towels, water, movies, internet. Hot showers. Roof terrace, hammocks, balcony, lovely spacious clean dorms. ..really couldn't ask for more.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fred Crouch

Alone

Events / festivals

03 May 2014 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: It was all good.

Disliked: It was difficult to find because the sign outside is small. My only complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my very first time staying in a hostel. I was very hesitant at first and very nervous. I had my own room and private bathroom and I had everything I needed. I did not see any use in spending money for an expensive hotel, when I just wanted to be in the middle of the city and have an authentic experience. I was very pleased and relieved. This turned out better than I expected. It is very clean, everyone was so friendly, and overall I felt safe. I have been telling my friends all about it and would stay there again if I ever get the chance to go back. A very cute place.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was incredibly clean. Good location within a five minute walk to metro stop and a big supermarket. Great kitchen facilities and nice social areas. Particularly liked the hammock area on the roof - perfect for relaxing after a long day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are brilliant, internet is great, free towels, bedsheets, etc. Accommodated my 10am check-in. lots of lockers. good neighbourhood. have a great bbq on Sunday. 4 computers to use. drinks for sale. plenty of staff. outdoor seating space

Disliked: definitely for the 18-25 crowd. if you are much older you will feel out of place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Hawker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly helpful staff, great kitchen, everywhere was always super clean, large private rooms and plenty of hang out areas

Disliked: Wifi wasn't great although seems to be like that in most places in Colombia

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: well located, helpful staff, events organized, near to the metro, good part of town, and they'll let you print your boarding passes for free.

Disliked: the wifi was fast when it worked, but it cut out all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Very informative for travellers.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cornelis Ouwersloot

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are great; big and also a great bathroom with real hot water.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything are very well~~otherwise i forgot some important thing in here~when they got my mail and send it for me in my next city's hostal on next day~~it;s very very appreciate for them!!

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nils Kroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Nils would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, especially the girl that works in the morning - she is super friendly, super helpful! The kitchen is absolutely clean and there is free coffee. Rooms and bathrooms always clean aswell. TV-room and all other common areas are very comfortable. It is so easy to meet other travellers of all ages.

Disliked: There was no BBQ on Sunday, due to the American Football Superbowl thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eiji Suenaga

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014 Eiji would recommend this property

Liked: The private ensuite rooms, and especially those on the 3rd floor, are more like those found in a B&B or hotel than in hostels. Although the kitchen was a bit small for the number of guests, it functioned adequately because the guests were thoughtful in how they used it. The public spaces, including the kitchen, were always very clean. The hostel never had a noise problem from either the guests or the neighborhood, which is very safe and convenient to inexpensive eateries and a large Exito supermarket. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay here again. Kelvin is a very friendly and helpful host that clearly knows how to run a successful hostel!

Disliked: Although not really a "dislike" since the kitchen is currently adequate and well maintained (clean and tidy), a larger one would be appreciated.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eleanor Robson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is great. Lots of different areas so that it can accommodate those wanting to party, or chill out, or anything in between. I cannot praise highly enough the staff who consistently go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located between Metro and main nightlife area but no party hostel, all amendities you would expect in a hostel (WIFI, TV, Kitchen well equipped....), very friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: No breakfast included. Tours and joined activities could have been more frequent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a really good location, close to the metro system. Staff were friendly and helpful in booking things to do, the Pablo escobar tour was awesome. Rooms had heaps of space, beds were comfy and the showers were hot! Kitchen was really well equipped, there was heaps of common spaces and wifi was excellent even in the rooms.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paulina Klik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff, especially girls. Great to meet other backpackers.

Disliked: Lack of breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owner of the hostel were particularly helpful in organising tours and helping us get from one place to another. The location was excellent, less than 10 minutes from the metro which made most things accessible. Kitchen was roomy and allowed a lot of space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, cozy atmosphere. For a moment I felt like home! Helpful staff, good information about things to do in Medellín. Perfect location in Poblado, 5min from the metro station and huge exito supermarket. Easy to meet other travelers. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Quite small patio.