We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Sheep Medellin

Hostel | Transversal 5A #45 - 133, Medellin, Colombia .

94.5% Overall Rating

141 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"good location. Close to zona rosa (party zone) and metro poblado. However the walk from the hostel to the zona rosa even though just 10 mins can be damgeroud at night by yourself. If you want to party and come home late…"

Read all Black Sheep Medellin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Hostel Casa Blanca
9.76 USD

Hostel 77.4% 45 reviews
The PitStop
9.76 USD

Hostel 79.2% 58 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
12.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
8.54 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
13.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
12.20 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 79.5% 12 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
9.76 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

141 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Sheep Medellin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 136 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet chiiled out relaxing place, very neat and tidy and has all the facilties you need. The owner kelvin was very helpful in giving you all the info about the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr schönes Hostel. Die Doppelzimmer mit grossem Flachbildschirm erinnern mehr an ein Hotel als ein Hostel.

Disliked: In der unmittelbaren Nähe gibt es neben einer Reihe an Fast Food Restaurants kaum gute Alternativen zum Essen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Mee

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 April 2012 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: Kelvin was incredibly helpful and the facilities, especially the large kitchen were excellent. Great system for using the internet if you dont have your own lap top. Awesome to hear a kiwi accent again!

Disliked: Nothing~!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, helpful reception staff and a relaxed friendly vibe.

Disliked: Things left around the hostel that weren't locked up seemed to go missing even from a private bathroom. Not sure if it was other people staying there or cleaning staff... some staff were brilliant (Juliana - great girl!), others not so enthusiastic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Notman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really great - location was perfect and Calvin, the owner was the BEST. The place was really clean, good internet and self-service kitchen. The staff were really helpful and let us use the phone when we had issues with our flight bookings. We felt all our gear was safe there too. Great bed!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Fay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Walking distance to shops, zona rosa, gym and safe area. Staff also helped organise paragliding tour

Disliked: nothing. I love Medellin, especially the beautiful women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Pino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the beer prices too.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and quite area, close to the metro and a short walk to zona rosa. Cold, good value beer available. The Sunday BBQ was great. The room was clean. Kelvin was full of good advice about things to do around the city.

Disliked: Everything was pretty good. A few people were snorting coke in the communal bathrooms and making a racket down our end of the building on one of the nights but I guess you have to expect this in Colombia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful.and the rooms were not t5oo cramped for dorms.

Disliked: The bed that I slept on was rock hard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

axel brandt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 axel would recommend this property

Liked: The Kiwi-Owner is a real good guy aND VERY HELPFUL,hostel is clean and we had a good crowd there, very easy to socializing with others,Fast Internet hot showers,,a very hamyhamy BBQ on Sunday,what else do you need while away from home??i would come back for sure 100%,.First night in medellin i was in a other Hostel and thanks god i changed,thank you so very much,Axel.

Disliked: All good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kelvin, the owner of the hostel, is really helpful in giving advice what one should and could do around Medellin. He knows Medellin quite well and does not depend on contracts with other firms to sell stuff to tourists. The showers are the best you will find in whole Colombia. The hostel is really clean. Another plus was that one can party, but it is no party hostel. Like that travelers who got to get up early will get their rest. Check the BBQ on Sunday. It might be that I ate my best steak on my trip in Medellin and not in Argentina as expected first...

Disliked: ... nothing really... I would go there again.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012

Liked: Its an ok place pretty close to the shops and metro

Disliked: Seemed to be full of people studying, quite boring a bit strange but otherwise fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Tenorio

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful and they all knew exactly what to recommend and how to give proper directions.

Disliked: The private rooms were amazing but the dorm rooms could have used a fresh coat of paint and new window panes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to the Metro. In a nice neighbourhood, a bit of a walk from Zona Rosa but not too far.

Disliked: Corridors and furnishings felt a bit like a hospital.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and simple. friendly staff and guests. great location. the best hot shower we have had in Colombia.

Disliked: at night there are no staff that speak English so if you get in late and need help or advice you have to wait until morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, quiet when needed, rooms clean, safe area of Medellin

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noel O'Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Noel would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything was good about the stay. The staff are great, there are a few common areas to help mingle with others and the Sunday barbecue was terrific value. A short walk from Parque Lleras and Poblado Metro station make this a good location to explore from but the quiet neighbourhood means you won't be kept up all night (unless you want to).

Disliked: Nothing. For party animals you might prefer something right at the Zona Rosa.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Quilter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 August 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, good common areas and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wattle Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Wattle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest owner and staff, lots of space to hang out, nice and clean.

Disliked: The only thing that would make this place better is a larger fridge, otherwise it is great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011

Liked: large dorm rooms with own bathroom

Disliked: location was in a residential area and others offered a pool for the same price. They also threw out my food after less then a day in the fridge and it was marked!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very clean, friendly helpful staff, good kitchen, great place to meet people and go out.

Disliked: nothing to dislike about this hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zoe Eaton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: nice outdoor settings, rooms are clean and modern with huge plasma tv, kitchen was awesome too - the guy on reception is a star, totes helpful and patient!

Disliked: nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacob Fjord

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms, spacious kitchen, nice outdoor areas in good location. Seemed popular with single or double travellers. Host is knowledgable and keen to assist all day. Unsure about the mud-map on the info page hostel and not a proper google maps link, which seemed odd.

Disliked: Nowt.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Devlin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern hostel. Good kitchen. The owner Kelvin is very helpful (although some might not understand his dry Kiwi sense of humour!). Lots of information on what to do. Located only a few minutes walk from a host of decent fast food places. The local salsa school is also very good if you want to take dance lessons.

Disliked: Nothing