HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Sheep Medellin

Hostel | Transversal 5A #45 - 133, Medellin, Colombia .

94.2% Overall Rating

123 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"Everything was incredibly clean. Good location within a five minute walk to metro stop and a big supermarket. Great kitchen facilities and nice social areas. Particularly liked the hammock area on the roof - perfect for…"

Read all Black Sheep Medellin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Hostel Casa Blanca
10.36 USD

Hostel 78.3% 44 reviews
The PitStop
11.91 USD

Hostel 77.9% 56 reviews
Tamarindo Inn
13.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
23.30 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
12.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
12.95 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
9.81 USD

Hostel 79.5% 12 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

123 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Sheep Medellin'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 118 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the Metro and Zona Rosa. Frendly, helpful staff, nice layout.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Phil Bitis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable double bed, showers (hot & good water pressure), fast internet

Disliked: Phil left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roberto Ulloa

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: The bed, kitchen and toilets are quite good. The staff is very kind.

Disliked: It should have more common spaces.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Some of the male staff were very UNhelpful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, nice location, value for money

Disliked: nothing to reclaim

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Elder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff, they offer a great tour about Pablo Escobar, nice people, good kitchen, and clean rooms.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the city centre, but the public transit there is so good so its easy to get around.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, just 6-7 minutes from the metro, not on the hill, in a very safe area. They provide lots of lockers, the wifi is working really well even though there are so many people using it. The staff are nice and helpful.

Disliked: Not enough shared toilets! I found only 3 in total, and only one is integrated with shower, that's the only really good bathroom. The others only have small showers with not much space to put things and also get quite wet in the small space outside the shower. They definitely need more shower+toilet bathrooms. Also could be a bit cleaner in kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tommy Olick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: Owner and his employees are super helpful - loads of info and recommendations. Everyone speaks English very well. Wifi works perfectly (rare for Colombia) Best showers in Colombia!!!

Disliked: A little far (15 min walk) from the Zona Rosa action. Expect to take cabs (5mil COP) to get home at night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

clare osborn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 clare would recommend this property

Liked: great communal TV area and balcony. Also a massive BBQ to use and they do BBQ nights on sundays but we missed it. its clean and close to the metro and a massive supermarket.

Disliked: Its quite pricey but i think all hostels in the area are similar. they need more tables for eating at and a second fridge. No real complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Locsmandi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Wow, I would call this a 'super hostel'. Has everything you would need, and the owner is a super nice and helpful guy. Very very nice place.

Disliked: Its very large so there are a lot of young, loud people staying here. Also the location is not very close to anything. My taxi driver got lost for 20 minutes trying to find it WITH the written directions given on the website.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jean Woodward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Jean would recommend this property

Liked: Well organised, good facilities (computers and wifi, lots of lounge space, lockers, informed staff) They offer Spanish lessons which we took that were excellent! And for a good price.

Disliked: Little bit out the way, needs more stoves for kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet chiiled out relaxing place, very neat and tidy and has all the facilties you need. The owner kelvin was very helpful in giving you all the info about the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr schönes Hostel. Die Doppelzimmer mit grossem Flachbildschirm erinnern mehr an ein Hotel als ein Hostel.

Disliked: In der unmittelbaren Nähe gibt es neben einer Reihe an Fast Food Restaurants kaum gute Alternativen zum Essen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Mee

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 April 2012 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: Kelvin was incredibly helpful and the facilities, especially the large kitchen were excellent. Great system for using the internet if you dont have your own lap top. Awesome to hear a kiwi accent again!

Disliked: Nothing~!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, helpful reception staff and a relaxed friendly vibe.

Disliked: Things left around the hostel that weren't locked up seemed to go missing even from a private bathroom. Not sure if it was other people staying there or cleaning staff... some staff were brilliant (Juliana - great girl!), others not so enthusiastic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Notman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really great - location was perfect and Calvin, the owner was the BEST. The place was really clean, good internet and self-service kitchen. The staff were really helpful and let us use the phone when we had issues with our flight bookings. We felt all our gear was safe there too. Great bed!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Fay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Walking distance to shops, zona rosa, gym and safe area. Staff also helped organise paragliding tour

Disliked: nothing. I love Medellin, especially the beautiful women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Pino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the beer prices too.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and quite area, close to the metro and a short walk to zona rosa. Cold, good value beer available. The Sunday BBQ was great. The room was clean. Kelvin was full of good advice about things to do around the city.

Disliked: Everything was pretty good. A few people were snorting coke in the communal bathrooms and making a racket down our end of the building on one of the nights but I guess you have to expect this in Colombia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful.and the rooms were not t5oo cramped for dorms.

Disliked: The bed that I slept on was rock hard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

axel brandt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 axel would recommend this property

Liked: The Kiwi-Owner is a real good guy aND VERY HELPFUL,hostel is clean and we had a good crowd there, very easy to socializing with others,Fast Internet hot showers,,a very hamyhamy BBQ on Sunday,what else do you need while away from home??i would come back for sure 100%,.First night in medellin i was in a other Hostel and thanks god i changed,thank you so very much,Axel.

Disliked: All good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kelvin, the owner of the hostel, is really helpful in giving advice what one should and could do around Medellin. He knows Medellin quite well and does not depend on contracts with other firms to sell stuff to tourists. The showers are the best you will find in whole Colombia. The hostel is really clean. Another plus was that one can party, but it is no party hostel. Like that travelers who got to get up early will get their rest. Check the BBQ on Sunday. It might be that I ate my best steak on my trip in Medellin and not in Argentina as expected first...

Disliked: ... nothing really... I would go there again.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012

Liked: Its an ok place pretty close to the shops and metro

Disliked: Seemed to be full of people studying, quite boring a bit strange but otherwise fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Tenorio

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful and they all knew exactly what to recommend and how to give proper directions.

Disliked: The private rooms were amazing but the dorm rooms could have used a fresh coat of paint and new window panes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to the Metro. In a nice neighbourhood, a bit of a walk from Zona Rosa but not too far.

Disliked: Corridors and furnishings felt a bit like a hospital.