HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Black Sheep Hostel Medellin Medellin

Hostel

Transversal 5A #45-133, Patio Bonito, Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 88%

Showing 11-20 of 53 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All is good! Stayed here last year for 3 weeks and I am back now for 5 days!!! Should be back here next time in Colombis :)

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's close to metro & a big supermarket, has a great TV room & it's a very chilled hostel

Disliked: My food got stolen & this happened to quite a few people during my stay. It was odd as I had medication in with my food.. The staff had my medicine but had no idea where my bag of food was.. Very odd. Not sure if the cleaning staff may be taking food.. They definitely need another fridge for the amount of people

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owners clearly know how to run a hostel. There's a kitchen for cooking, there's beer and water for purchase. We stayed in a private double with private bathroom and it was a great value for the price. The water was hot and strong in the showers. The location is where you want. I would not want to stay downtown because it's just a huge mess of street shops (fun to visit, not fun to meet every time you leave your hostel). El Poblado is super cute, pretty upscale, very safe. There are some cute shops and lots of cute restaurants in the neighborhood and the metro is very close. We ate breakfast at Al Alma down the street and it was amazing. A nice refreshing meal from the yellow/white meals that we've been eating so far in paisaland... Also had a good meal at Al Tabun, which is a Middle Eastern restaurant in the neighborhood.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - great hostel close to the calle 10 where there are a ton of bars and restauratns (5-10 min walk)- there seemed to be someone cleaning ALL the time! it was awesome. - hot showers- offer lots of activities .. very informative and helpful

Disliked: - it was crazy loud at night and morning from our room as our window backed out onto the courtyard where a lot of people gathered. it was slightly frustrating

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Room was spacious and clean. Kitchen was well stocked. Located in a nice suburb close to bars and public transport.

Disliked: There were not enough toilets and showers for the amount of people.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location. Close to zona rosa (party zone) and metro poblado. However the walk from the hostel to the zona rosa even though just 10 mins can be damgeroud at night by yourself. If you want to party and come home late at night (walking) then stay at casa kiwi instead. Other that that, this is a great hostel. They have a all you can eat BBQ on sunday (all you can eat if there is food left, which they ran out when I was there)

Disliked: nothing. Too big and too many people but besides that nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It may well be the best hostel in Medellin. It has become a haven for many international travellers. For sociable travellers who like being part of the ex-pat / gringo / back packer network then it is absolutely perfect. For those wanting something more authentically & culturally Colombian it'll be tourist hell.

Disliked: There is anything negative one really could say about the hostel. It is safe, clean, conveniently located and has excellent staff and good amenities. It is however very touristy and overun with gringos. Whether that is a good thing or not depends on your tastes.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to the metro and lots going on at the hostel.

Disliked: Slight lack of bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed in a private room. It was quiet and clean. The area is a very safe area and is so close to the Metro and supermarketThe staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There could have been a larger hang out area

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good hostel, good location and good value. Would recommend to anyone, especially as a landing place before going out to explore other parts of Medellin and beyond.

Disliked: The kitchen gets locked down at midnight, so I couldn't get my water out of the fridge, no big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability