HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saman Hostel Medellin

Hostel | Cl 10 N° 36-24, Medellin, Colombia 57

92.9% Overall Rating

64 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2014)

Jarmila Pospisilova thinks…

"Its very easy to find, small and very friendly place. I keep returning there as its for good money, staff is so nice and its clean and quiet. Its not a party place, which is good when you need some…"

Read all Saman Hostel Medellin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel
13.26 USD

Hostel 89.5% 43 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.60 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews
Tiger Paw Hostel
12.20 USD

Hostel 83.6% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
14.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Arcadia Hostel
8.48 USD

Hostel 82.6% 76 reviews
RAM Hostal
13.26 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
13.92 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
23.86 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

64 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saman Hostel Medellin'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarmila Pospisilova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Jarmila would recommend this property

Liked: Its very easy to find, small and very friendly place. I keep returning there as its for good money, staff is so nice and its clean and quiet. Its not a party place, which is good when you need some rest after long day travel or lots of parties. Can highly recommend it there.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, good location and local nightlife, friendly staff, good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: We booked a private room but didn't find it to be very private. We had an open window (that couldn't be closed) which opened up to a communal area, computers and bathroom. Everything else about this hostel was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martijn boogert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 martijn would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a good located,clean, friendly hostel with healthy breakfasts. This is your place!!

Disliked: martijn left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Saman Hostel is in a great location close to bars, clubs, restaurants and markets.

Disliked: The private rooms at the back of the hostel are very noisy every Friday and Saturday night. The music from the nearby club plays till 3:00 am

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Curle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen. Fully equipped and really clean. Nice sitting area with tv.

Disliked: Dorm rooms are a little small. With bags etc it was difficult not to constantly be getting in someones way. At times the bathrooms had no toilet roll and no lock on one of the bathroom doors was a bit annoying!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers! Staff on the door 24/7. Friendly staff. Great location!

Disliked: Would be useful if the staff spoke some basic English too. The dorm I stayed in had hard mattresses and allowed in all the noise from the traffic street,. If you stay in this room (the cheapest option but not by much) don't expect to get much sleep, Not enough power points in room. Mlore information about booking tours etc

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Pallweber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and even it is near the party zone it is pretty quiet

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basically just to step outside the door and you have restaurants, bars and good nightlife. Clean and good showers/bathrooms. Good if you want a quiet night. The price

Disliked: Not enough lockers if the hostel is full booked. No locks on the doors to the rooms. Not enough people to build a good atmosphere but it's not a problem as other hostelbars is just a minute or two away. Everyone went there in the evenings.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Volker Zink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Volker would recommend this property

Liked: The location near Parque Lleras is conveniant fpr those who want to be the Zona Rosa with all the Bars, Restaurants and Clubs.

Disliked: There are some small things like not enough lockers. Also the beds miss something to put the eyeglasses on when sleeping.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helene Mellerowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Helene would recommend this property

Liked: bathrooms, location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Luna Hisano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Bascialla

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Common areas are great.

Disliked: Breakfast is not provided. Same bathrooms for men and women.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location 2 blocks from Parque Lleras where all the fun is. Also the clenliness of the bathroom and rooms.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lived in private room. Good room. Good shower for a good price.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I recommend this place. It's clean and good located. The best showers of the trip. The staff was helpfull and gave excelent advices for Medellin and the towns around. Definetly I hope to come back.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen lugassy

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 January 2013 karen would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and close to all amenities. The hostel is super clean and the staff are extremely halpful and friendly. The atmosphere is welcoming and homely. I was sad to leave.

Disliked: karen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Norman Martin

Alone

City break

05 October 2012 Norman would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on bus lines and quick to the Metro. Many services within walking distance. Great walking park very close by. Room immaculate and baths cleaned several times per day. Very collegial atmosphere promoted interactions between guests. Host provided fresh fruit in kitchen, a big bonus!

Disliked: Thier brochure listed Washing Machines but these were not available to guests. Thus for a budget traveler the cost of laundry was very high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my third time at Saman. The place is very clean and comfortable, the people are very warm and helpful. The owner Alejandro is very sweet and accommodating. If you need to know the closest place for calentao in the morning or the nearest Exito there is always someone there to help. People tend to congregate in the living room, kitchen or balcony so it's a great place to meet other travelers especially if you're traveling solo. Also, it's in a great location in El Poblado which is an extremely clean and safe area. It's literally less than a two minute walk to Parque Lleras which has a ton of great places for food, drink and various boutiques.

Disliked: for some people it may seem like a long hike from the metro station, especially going uphill but that really never bothered me too much. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Metro but there are plenty of buses that pass right in front or on the street behind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hernando Saavedra

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

29 August 2012 Hernando would recommend this property

Liked: This was my fifth trip to Medellin and the third consecutive time that i stayed at Saman. I just love this place. Their facilicities are very clean, staff members are very friendly and polite, they are always willing to help you get around the city. There is always Colombian coffee and fresh fruit in the morning. Its convienently located in the heart of Poblado which is the tourist sector of town. There are tons of shops, bars and resturants within walking distance. I highly recommend this business.

Disliked: I just love this place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Saltarelli

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012

Liked: I had a great time at the hostel. The location is just right to be in the middle of the “action” and still very handy for coming back to the hostel and be peaceful and safe. The two streets to the Parque LLeras are also safe streets to walk at night, always with people around. Restaurants, clubs, coffle places is all around the corner. The staff is very friendly and I love the showers… full pressure and always hot water, toilets very clean. Same with the kitchen and the whole place. I was there for a week before I went to a festival, left my luggage for 3 days and I come back to the same place… so I recommend it! There is coffle all day long and a piece of fruit waiting for you to get up to enjoy it

Disliked: nothing to complain, I love it!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

John Hill

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: There are 3 toilets-bathrooms for 30 to 40 people. When its full they just put another mattress on the floor, blocking peoples entrance or exit and leaving no floor space to access your luggage. Communication between staff is poor. I was told the hostal could arrange transport for me to the airport for cheaper than a taxi, I asked the incompetent member of staff to arrange it the previous night amd when I got up at 4.30 am to leave she said, oh, do you want me to call you a cab. There is only one computer for the guests use which is always surrounded by people as its the one that the receptionist uses. The bathroom floors are always absolutely soaking as so many people have to use the one after the other. You have to wait so long just to have a piss in the morning as theres always someone in the toilet. The receptionist just found this amusing suggesting that people should reserve a time for using the toilet facilities. The only good thing was the location.

Disliked: See above.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Locsmandi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay and the location couldn't be better. Right in the heart of the touristy, nice neighborhood and close to a small supermarket. Also a 10 minute walk to the subway station. Very clean and quiet. A very nice kitchen too.

Disliked: No front desk and no one to ask questions to, but I used the computer and free internet to google. No wifi.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, modern, super clean, open layout, warm showers, towel provided, coffee all day, perfect location IF you want to be in the thick of a mega-tourist neighborhood (poblado). the girl that works the desk is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: not a friendly vibe at the hostel, poblado is awful - could be any expensive expat mega-tourist neighborhood in the world, only one computer available for guests and staff is on it most of the day, oz/nz guy that works the front desk is inept.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities are great, kitchen was really well equipped. perfect location in El Poblado. Nice and modern, clean, TV in private room.

Disliked: While it isn't a party hostel, noise does travel in this place. slightly expensive bearing in mind breakfast isn't included