HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samán Hostel Medellin Hostel

Cl 10 N° 36-24, Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 19.77USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 92%

Showing 21-11 of 11 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location on bus lines and quick to the Metro. Many services within walking distance. Great walking park very close by. Room immaculate and baths cleaned several times per day.Very collegial atmosphere promoted interactions between guests.Host provided fresh fruit in kitchen, a big bonus!

Disliked: Thier brochure listed Washing Machines but these were not available to guests. Thus for a budget traveler the cost of laundry was very high.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: This was my fifth trip to Medellin and the third consecutive time that i stayed at Saman. I just love this place. Their facilicities are very clean, staff members are very friendly and polite, they are always willing to help you get around the city. There is always Colombian coffee and fresh fruit in the morning. Its convienently located in the heart of Poblado which is the tourist sector of town. There are tons of shops, bars and resturants within walking distance. I highly recommend this business.

Disliked: I just love this place!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This is my third time at Saman. The place is very clean and comfortable, the people are very warm and helpful. The owner Alejandro is very sweet and accommodating. If you need to know the closest place for calentao in the morning or the nearest Exito there is always someone there to help. People tend to congregate in the living room, kitchen or balcony so it's a great place to meet other travelers especially if you're traveling solo. Also, it's in a great location in El Poblado which is an extremely clean and safe area. It's literally less than a two minute walk to Parque Lleras which has a ton of great places for food, drink and various boutiques.

Disliked: for some people it may seem like a long hike from the metro station, especially going uphill but that really never bothered me too much. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Metro but there are plenty of buses that pass right in front or on the street behind.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had a great time at the hostel. The location is just right to be in the middle of the “action” and still very handy for coming back to the hostel and be peaceful and safe. The two streets to the Parque LLeras are also safe streets to walk at night, always with people around. Restaurants, clubs, coffle places is all around the corner.The staff is very friendly and I love the showers… full pressure and always hot water, toilets very clean. Same with the kitchen and the whole place.I was there for a week before I went to a festival, left my luggage for 3 days and I come back to the same place… so I recommend it!There is coffle all day long and a piece of fruit waiting for you to get up to enjoy it

Disliked: nothing to complain, I love it!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There are 3 toilets-bathrooms for 30 to 40 people.When its full they just put another mattress on the floor, blocking peoples entrance or exit and leaving no floor space to access your luggage.Communication between staff is poor. I was told the hostal could arrange transport for me to the airport for cheaper than a taxi, I asked the incompetent member of staff to arrange it the previous night amd when I got up at 4.30 am to leave she said, oh, do you want me to call you a cab.There is only one computer for the guests use which is always surrounded by people as its the one that the receptionist uses.The bathroom floors are always absolutely soaking as so many people have to use the one after the other. You have to wait so long just to have a piss in the morning as theres always someone in the toilet.The receptionist just found this amusing suggesting that people should reserve a time for using the toilet facilities. The only good thing was the location.

Disliked: See above.


The property's response is

Dear John, we apologize for your bad thoughts of the hostel.I want to clarify: Our hostel is only for 24 people, that night was 25 because one person didn't have a place(the matress wasn't in your room) Colombia is a spanish country and you spoke spanish with us.About the taxi service you told me that you were trying to change your flight, when you knew the price it was too expensive for you. Did you forget to pay your beers? I really don't understand your coment but I apreciate it. Regards.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice, modern, super clean, open layout, warm showers, towel provided, coffee all day, perfect location IF you want to be in the thick of a mega-tourist neighborhood (poblado). the girl that works the desk is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: not a friendly vibe at the hostel, poblado is awful - could be any expensive expat mega-tourist neighborhood in the world, only one computer available for guests and staff is on it most of the day, oz/nz guy that works the front desk is inept.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice place to stay and the location couldn't be better. Right in the heart of the touristy, nice neighborhood and close to a small supermarket. Also a 10 minute walk to the subway station. Very clean and quiet. A very nice kitchen too.

Disliked: No front desk and no one to ask questions to, but I used the computer and free internet to google. No wifi.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jennifer, thx for your nice review. Really we have a 10 Megabytes speed wi-fi all the time, maybe something was wrong.

I take your coment about the front desk, we´ll improve about it.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Facilities are great, kitchen was really well equipped. perfect location in El Poblado. Nice and modern, clean, TV in private room.

Disliked: While it isn't a party hostel, noise does travel in this place. slightly expensive bearing in mind breakfast isn't included

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The building. Great bathrooms and showers.Really good location in "el poblado" sector.

Disliked: at the prices they have, they should include breakfast, as other hostels in that range.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, anywhere, for the price. Kitchen flawlessly equipped, everything spotlessly clean, matresses and sheets were a dream, dormitory cozy and cheap, plenty of character and charm. Not a party hostel, more one to meet a few good people for going out for beers. Good location close to parque lleras.

Disliked: Traffic noise a bit loud in the dormitory, but probably not much worse than anywhere else in el poblado.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability