HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saman Hostel Medellin

Hostel | Cl 10 N° 36-24, Medellin, Colombia 57

92.9% Overall Rating

64 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2014)

Jarmila Pospisilova thinks…

"Its very easy to find, small and very friendly place. I keep returning there as its for good money, staff is so nice and its clean and quiet. Its not a party place, which is good when you need some…"

Read all Saman Hostel Medellin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel
13.31 USD

Hostel 90.1% 42 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.65 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews
Tiger Paw Hostel
15.44 USD

Hostel 83.6% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
14.91 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Arcadia Hostel
10.65 USD

Hostel 82.3% 74 reviews
RAM Hostal
13.31 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
13.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
23.96 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

64 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saman Hostel Medellin'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 67 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo Esteban Guala

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Leonardo Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: The building. Great bathrooms and showers. Really good location in "el poblado" sector.

Disliked: at the prices they have, they should include breakfast, as other hostels in that range.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luciana Lanfranco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012

Liked: Nada. Me fui muy enojada por la pésima atención y el no haber respetado una reserva PAGA, sumado a tener que haber pagado la TOTALIDAD cuando llegamos, para que finalmente nos expulsen a otro hostel.

Disliked: Mis 2 amigas y yo estuvimos solamente unas horas en el hostel. Sucedió lo siguiente. Cuando llegamos, las 2 empleadas nos hicieron pagar EL TOTAL por las 2 noches que ibamos a pasar, sin siquiera habernos mostrado la habitación. Luego, nos quisieron meter en una habitación de 6 personas, cuando habíamos pagado por una triple. Pero habían OLVIDADO la reserva y como habían tenido un problema con una habitación doble (después nos enteramos que se les había roto la puerta dejando a una pareja encerrados durante horas!) , habían movido a esta pareja a nuestra habitación triple. Dijeron que en ese momento no estaban, pero que cuando volvieran les pedirían que volvieran a la doble, que ya estaba arreglada. No muy convencidas, dejamos las cosas en un PASILLO para poder ir a recorrer la ciudad ya que teníamos poco tiempo para hacerlo. Cuando volvimos nos encontramos que las dos empleadas ya no estaban y que había una tercera (que era su primer día de trabajo) que nos dijo que la pareja no se había querido ir de la triple y que NOS HABIAN CONSEGUIDO LUGAR EN OTRO HOSTEL, que estaba todo arreglado y no teníamos que pagar nada más. Y, como atención, nos regaló a cada una un paquete de café (QUE MAS TARDE VIMOS QUE ESTABA VENCIDO!!!)Cuando llegamos a ese hostel, NO SABIAN NADA, NADIE HABIA ARREGLADO NI HABLADO NADA CON ELLOS. Volvimos a Saman, muy enojadas, y la encargada (luego de llamar a las inoperantes de sus compañeras de la mañana que la habían dejado sola con el problema que ellas generaron) nos dijo que había una confusión, que era otro el hostel. Pedimos que nos venga a buscar alguien de ese hostel. Al rato llegó la encargada del otro hostel (María), nos acompañó y en el camino cuando le contamos todo, se indignó y nos dijo que CON ELLA NADIE HABIA ARREGLADO NADA TAMPOCO. Y que la habitación que tenía para ofecernos en realidad estaba reservada, que en todo caso había que esperar por si la gente no se presentaba. Es decir que SEGUIAMOS SIN SABER DONDE PASAR LA NOCHE y eran ya como las 8 pm. Luego de varias idas y vueltas María nos ofreció hospedarnos en otro lugar que recién se estaba abriendo y que ella iba a arreglar el tema económico personalmente con la gente de Saman. Gracias a ella que no tenía nada que ver, pudimos resolver el problema y tener dónde pasar la noche!!! Una vergüenza!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, anywhere, for the price. Kitchen flawlessly equipped, everything spotlessly clean, matresses and sheets were a dream, dormitory cozy and cheap, plenty of character and charm. Not a party hostel, more one to meet a few good people for going out for beers. Good location close to parque lleras.

Disliked: Traffic noise a bit loud in the dormitory, but probably not much worse than anywhere else in el poblado.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Raybin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Alejandro is great and very helpful and takes a lot of pride in his hostel. The staff are very helpful with anything you may need. The place is very clean and very mellow. I highly recommend staying here if you come to Medellin.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn rowley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel we stayed in South America. Great nieghborrhod, friendly staff and wonderfully clean rooms. Would highly recomend staying here.

Disliked: location was great and the rooms and common area were very clean all the time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the private rooms, they were quiet and always cleaned, and the beds were some of the best I have slept in, and the pillows and doona were absolutely incredible. It's in a great location, walking distance to the metro, and there are lots of great little places to eat close by. After our booked two nights, we wound up staying a week. The kitchen here is one of the best I've seen, the facilities are really fantastic and the hostel was always spotless. Not to mention the delicious free coffee all day, everyday. The staff were nothing but helpful. I'd definitely stay here again and wish more hostels were are wonderful as this one!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, not a party hostel, the location is perfect for going to the Zona Rosa, very safe as well. The let us use the internet for free.

Disliked: The staff really doesn't speak any English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea O Carroll

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean with a great hot shower! Coffee available all day and big tv common room. Quiet, small hostel in a great location.

Disliked: Dorm room we stayed in overlooked main road and very hard to sleep because of constant traffic. Matresses too hard for my liking!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mirrors on top of the toilets

Disliked: beds were indeed a little rock solid

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aaron Dartnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, in the heart of Medellin's tourist district. Clubs, pubs, hotels etc are nearby. Free coffee available all day. Very clean and modern. Hot showers :-)

Disliked: When checking in, the staff did not have much local information at hand. There were no maps of the area and very minimal tour information. No breakfast was provided, except for a few dried up pieces of fruit. Additionally, the staff did not speak any English - this is not a big issue to me, but I'd imagine it would be for some potential visitors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a lovely feel about the place with clean, modern rooms and a little courtyard with plants. Our double room was quite small but had a flat screen TV with cable. The bathroom was shared but not with many because its a small hostel. It was nice and clean and it was one of the best hot showers of our trip. The kitchen was good.

Disliked: Breakfast was meant to be included (fruit) but there was none the morning we were there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good, calm hostel in good district. Near the metro station, easy to go to both bus terminals and other parts of city.

Disliked: They do not have rooms with a private bathroom. At would be nice to have something else for breakfast, not only cup of black coffee.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a hostel that isn't a party hostel. It is very clean, fast internet and spacious. The showers are hot and well, you'll have no difficulty getting wet. They are amazing. Make sure you get a room away from the road (don't book 5 bed dorm) as it gets noisy or bring earplugs.

Disliked: After 70 odd beds this trip, the dorm beds here are the hardest we've slept on. We are talking so hard you get pins and needles if you sleep on your side (it is bareable on your back). Private rooms have softer beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, great hospitality, friendly staff, atmosphere, fresh fruit in the AM, laundry on-site

Disliked: could use more organized activities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and had a nice character with big living area.

Disliked: The staff weren't overly friendly, but they weren't unfriendly either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Style

Disliked: breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeronimo Naranjo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 August 2011 Jeronimo would recommend this property

Liked: I love the zen ambience of this hostel, It is a place to truly rest and relax, while still meeting international people. If you decide to stay at Hostel Samán, it is because you're looking for a place to feel like you're home, versus a dorm hall with pre-party scenes.

Disliked: Some of the power outlets are loose, hence not keeping some electrical cords in place. Another unfavorable condition is the lack of closets, at least in the private rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miha Trcek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Miha would recommend this property

Liked: It is on a great location in main party area. We were staying there over a weekend and when we left the front door we were already in zona rosa. Rooms are nice and clean bathroom in modern, kitchen is well equipped and there was fresh fruit along coffee every morning for free. They also offer free internet which was very fast.

Disliked: I didn't dislike nothing....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the mattress, shower, staff

Disliked: The Room key was not provided at first. Only in the second day of stay. The Room light was not very bright.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a smaller, non-party hostel, this place is perfect.. It's in a perfect location close to Lleras Park, the staff is friendly, and the atmosphere is cozy and safe. It doesn't have a bar or much else in terms of common areas, but the rooms are nice, it's quiet, and they keep it very clean. I had a private room which was large and comfortable.

Disliked: Just the relative lack of social-ness compared to other hostels, but this isn't really a bad thing, it's just a tradeoff for the quietness that it offers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, bright, well-located, good value, free fruit and coffee, great kitchen, amazing showers

Disliked: Night staff seemed grumpy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like a home away from home, cosy and very tastefully decorated. Massive flat screen TV which is awesome

Disliked: The private rooms are quite small, quite a squeeze for 2 people and our bags.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Edenfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is usually present, making himself available to answer questions, offer recommendations, and is very welcoming. The same can be said about the rest of the staff, they are all very friendly and personable.

Disliked: I have stayed here several times in the past and have no dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is new and clean, spectacular kitchen. Staff really kind.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dermot O´Hara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Dermot would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean. Best hot shower Ive had in Sth America. Great place for couples to stay. Great location around the corner from Zona Rosa.

Disliked: Not really a criticism, but not a party hostel, so not the best place to meet people.