We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Casa Blanca

Hostel | transversal 5A No 45 - 256, Patio Bonito, El Poblado Medellin, Colombia 0000

77.4% Overall Rating

36 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2013)

"Loads of things to do - tv, gym, billiards, darts, films - quiet time after 11pm with no after parties. Free coffee in the morning. Hot water, great wifi. Good communal kitchen. Friendly staff and great volunteers. Good…"

Read all Hostel Casa Blanca reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.15
  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Black Sheep Medellin
10.73 USD

Hostel 94.5% 147 reviews
The PitStop
9.76 USD

Hostel 79.2% 58 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
12.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
8.54 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
13.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
12.20 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 79.5% 12 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
9.76 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

36 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Casa Blanca'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, helpfull staff, the price is right for the value

Disliked: Laundry service is just ridiculously expensive, rooms have very thin walls, for the "included breakfast" you get two slices of toast and two eggs to cook yourself, no butter, no jam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of things to do - tv, gym, billiards, darts, films - quiet time after 11pm with no after parties. Free coffee in the morning. Hot water, great wifi. Good communal kitchen. Friendly staff and great volunteers. Good location, near metro and centre of Poblado.

Disliked: It was quiet after about 11.30pm but a bit noisy in the mornings from about 8am (kids etc). Not too bad in the private rooms but the dorm only has a curtain, so a bit noisier there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice and quiet.

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

24 January 2012 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff clean hostel alot of extras FREE INTERNET, LOCKERS AND COFFEE, comfortable beds, hot water, closed to the action, nice neighborhood I RECOMMEND IT 100%

Disliked: Carolina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably my 4th time staying here and I have to admit, they keep getting better and better. This time It was a short stay, but in my last trip I stayed almost a full month. The hostel is very good, great location, secure, nice residential area, and it is one of the very few hostels where people don't go partying, drinking and more. If you want a peaceful place, this is it. You get to deal directly with the owner and the place feels cozy. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: hmmm....I just wish they more rooms, since its usually always booked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nelson Barrales

Alone

Business / conference

17 December 2011 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: It's my third time to stay at Casablanca in Medellin and they have really improved a lot the service and facilities.

Disliked: Nelson left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro gaviria

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 October 2011 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Is one of the best hostels I have ever been

Disliked: The only thing that I didnt like was not having more time to stay in Medellin the best city in Colombia

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011

Liked: Nothing - I regret staying there. Only for I met some nice fellow travellers, it almost spoiled my trip to Medellin.

Disliked: Everything - see above.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011

Liked: not very much

Disliked: They tried to charge me 4 nights instead of 2. Also the bathroom was quite dirty and the location was rather inconvenient.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everthing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: After confirming our booking they gave away our bed, then on our arrival sent us to a dirty, overpriced hostel down the road (at our own taxi expense) and even gave the wrong directions to get there. They claimed to have a 24 hr reception but on our arrival we found a sleepy woman who just kept repeating ´no room´ (we had reservations).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Best Hostel in Medellin

Disliked: The best Hostel in Medellin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I RECOMMED IT

Disliked: NICE PLACE

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN, SAFE AND COMFORTABLE .........JUST EXELLENT

Disliked: Every thing SUPER GOOD!!!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hans Keinath

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2011 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Save place. Near Metro Station. Quiete after 11pm.

Disliked: Room with garden window too expencive and very noicy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean bathroms with hot water, comfortable beds, beautiful place very closed to the metro station and restaurants also within walking distance of the Zona Rosa, safe neighborhood, the staff is very helpfull it has a big garden ideal for eating and smoking

Disliked: Every thing was very nice I had and excellent experience

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice family running it. Helpful owner speaks English well. Quiet time after 11 pm

Disliked: Mattress and pillow thin and hard, but adequate

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are clean. the common area is bright and big.

Disliked: there are only 2 bathrooms/toilets to share by all guests which is way to few. We booked a twin room through hostelbookers and were given the Juan Valdez room which is really really small: a bunk bed and nowhere to put your bags etc. Other rooms seemed to be larger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Maradona

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: WOW it was owesome staying at the hostel Casa Blanca, very clean, nice staff, very safe and beautiful negborhood, close to everthig I RECOMEND IT, ES MUY BUENO

Disliked: Everythig was perfect, it was a shame that I did not have more time to spend in Medellin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Ramos

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: VERY GOOD, I WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!!!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Con Alexiadis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010

Liked: Joanna, the receptionist and cleaner, was very helpful. She wrote a list of places to visit and the nearest metro station. She and the other staff member, whose name I can´t recall, kept the place clean and tidy.Close to the metro and the exito, about a 5 minute walk to both.

Disliked: My room, the Juan Valdez, was very small. It had a double bunk but I don´t know how two people could fit in there because I needed one of the bunks to put my pack on. The door wouldn´t open fully because it would hit the bed. Also, the place was quite noisy. If someone was watching the television it sounded like it was in my room which at times made it hard to sleep if someone was watching it late or turned it on early in the morning. It was the same if people were talking or listening to music.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Perez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel alot of fun!!!! Muy buen Hostal me diverti mucho!!!!

Disliked: Carlos left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Meler

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

21 October 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The best experience, resently renew rooms, very safe and clean place, I RECOMEND IT!

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.