HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sophia's House

Hostel | Carrera 78AA #56-49, Barrio los Colores, Sector Laureles-Estadio Medellin, Colombia 000

88.1% Overall Rating

20 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/09/2013)

Donald Williams thinks…

"I met some nice people and learned a bunch about Medellin. I went to Estadio every morning for one hour and did laps in one of their nine pools. It was within walking distance and was free. Just show…"

Read all Sophia's House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Yellow House Hostel
11.89 USD

Hostel 92.7% 66 reviews
Palm Tree Backpackers Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 10 reviews
Paisa City Hostel
9.36 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
10.91 USD

Hostel 89.0% 107 reviews
Urban Buddha Hostel
11.95 USD

Hostel 84.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Conquistadores
10.40 USD

Hotel 69.8% 12 reviews
Eco Hostel Medellin Permaculture
15.59 USD

Hostel 99.3% 4 reviews
BUDDHA HOSTEL
11.95 USD

Hostel 80.3% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

20 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sophia's House'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.4%
Facilities
80.9%
Cleanliness
82.6%
Staff
93.9%
Value
91.3%
Safety
93.9%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Radek Cermak

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: During night there was party from boyfriends from the owners so it was not possible to sleep. The owner has a dog who enters many times to our rooms and he entered to my suitcase. The swimming was really dirty so it was no possible to use it. The staff did not know about our reservation and after that she wanted more than it was in our printed reservation. After small dialogue she accepted the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donald Williams

Alone

Relaxation/spa

25 September 2013 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: I met some nice people and learned a bunch about Medellin. I went to Estadio every morning for one hour and did laps in one of their nine pools. It was within walking distance and was free. Just show passport and have proper suit , cap and goggles. I shopped mainly at the mercado but Exito is real close by. Sophia and her two daughters are pleasant to be around. I played with the dog every day. Oh! Very nice Common area.

Disliked: Can't think of anything off hand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Solimar Colon Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2013 Solimar would recommend this property

Liked: Love them. They treated me like family. Of course, I will stay again.

Disliked: Nada

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 August 2013

Liked: The boys had a large room

Disliked: It was so noisy in the neighbourhood and it was not clean. It pretended to be safe. Silly me, I left my room unlocked and 50 euro's were gone.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: i dont understand the previous comments, this hostel is NOT clean at all. the kitchen as well as the bathroom are super-dirty and the owner is busy playing online poker instead of cleaning her house or paying attention to her dogs. one of those happened to poo and pee right in front of our door one night and she didn´t even apologize for it. One night we couldn't sleep coz of 5 alarms set in the owners cellphone, which was lying in the hall, ringing during the whole night. i would defenitely NOT recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Medellin!!!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - stuff is really friendly and helpful - nice common areas - just a short walk to a shopping mall

Disliked: - nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: Sophia's House is better to rename in Sophia's Home because you feel yourself there like at home. Sophia is a very kind, very smart and educated person. She, her daughters and even guests help you, talk with you, learn you and with you. We were like real big family with even crazy and cute dog :) The house is clean and big, situated in nice safe area, free laundry. So it's a perfect place for rest, for learning Spanish and for decreasing home missing.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donal Lavery

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Donal would recommend this property

Liked: The nicest place we have stayed in 5 month travelling round South America. It is a few minutes walk away from a supermarket, mall and bars/restaurants in the very safe suburb of Laureles. Do not expect a party hostel - this is a family run place which is perfect for relaxing in busy Medellin. The owner is really helpful and does all she can to make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Benjamin Recchi

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice owner, clean large and airconditioned dorms were a relief.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Sophia's House. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and I felt very 'at home' in the environment. It is great value for single rooms and they let you use the washing machine for free. I enjoyed being able to practice Spanish. The hostel is not in the main backpacker area which suited me and I think becomes a plus. It was in a safe neighbourhood with restaurants, supermarkets and bakeries near by. It is also really close to buses that can take you everywhere, but most days I preferred the 15-20 minute walk to the metro (Floresta).

Disliked: I wasn't provided with a city map on arrival which initially made navigation a little tricky, but as soon as I grabbed one from a tourist info centre I was set.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Guedo

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful house, great location. and Sophia and her daughters are very helpful. and very nice people. i would highly recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nishi Seiji

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Nishi would recommend this property

Liked: Sophia's House has vary kind and friendly staffs. They gave me a experience which I I could get to be as of a member of family .

Disliked: Nothing,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Sprague

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Sophie and her daughters were delightful and friendly. They run a very laidback hostel that is ideal for longer stays and immediately made me feel like family. If I go back to Medellin, I will definitely stay at Sophie's again.

Disliked: I disliked nothing, but if you want to hit up the tourist areas for a long night out, you might want to get a hostel in the Poblado on the weekend.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stuart parry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2011 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: this was a nice place to stay in. It´s not exactly central but is in a really nice, quiet area. Only a 15 min walk to metro so no problem there. Sophia is really nice and makes you feel very much at home. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sophia is just fantastic: she has two lovely daughters, and a gorgeous dog. Absolutely most friendly hostel owner we have met along our travels through Colombia so far -helped with all random requirements including confirming flights for us, carrying bags to taxi point, providing hugs etc. Really lovely. Very chilled out and great bunch of people staying there usually! Like a family away from home.

Disliked: Location a bit far out from Zona Rosa, need a bus or metro, butthebars and restaurants nearby are excellent and cheaper than Zona Rosa anwyay. Great giantn supermarket down teh road, and the kitchen is cleanest we´ve seen so far...!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Creedon

20 March 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing big unusual house with plenty of character, nice chilled atmosphere, extremely friendly and helpful owner and her 2 daughters , nice getaway from the usual hostel scene, would definitely recommend, good place to practice your spanish

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Woodworth

22 September 2009 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: We spent 3 days with Piedad and her 2 girls. The hostal is very clean and comfortable with TV room and we were able to use the kitchen to cook and also eat in the dining room. It was like home from home. Piedad took us on the metro cable, to the town centre, local shops and to the internet place. Nothing was too much trouble. We found the hostal to be very friendly and talking Spanish with Piedad has vastly improved my language skills. It is a very relaxed atmosphere. We would not hesitate to recommend other people to stay here.

Disliked: Dawn left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roisin sweeney

09 August 2009 roisin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly friendly and accomodating and it was a home away from home.

Disliked: roisin left no negative feedback.