HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunshine Hostel Medellin Medellin Hostel

Calle 9 43c - 36, Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 80%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 80%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location, closed to nice area and to subway station

Disliked: Not so clean, not so organized the rooms

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Absolutely nothing to like about this place. One of the worst I have stayed in during 4 years of travel in South America. The owner is too cheap to hire proper cleaning staff, and the place is awful. Dirty rooms, beds, bathrooms. The smell of mildew and cigarette smoke. The owner doesn't care about guests, only about collecting their money.

Disliked: Everything.


The property's response is

hi
it is me the owner.i am very sorry for your bad experience at my hostel.i thought to give you a free night, that way you will see i do not care only about your money.maybe i could also improve your image of the hostel.
yet,i decided not to,only because you say you did not like absoulutly nothing .sunshine has competetive prices,good wifi allaround,comfortable beds,well equiped kitchen,chilled atmosphare,friendly stuff and much more.most guest appriciate our eforts here.sorry you are not..

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, great hot shower and kitchen is good.

Disliked: Although some of the staff was really friendly and helpful, most spent the majority of their time in the chillout area smoking (and not just cigarettes). Not a smell you want floating into your dorm room all day. The hostel could have been cleaner.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice hostel,very friendly stuff,close to metro,supermarket,and economic restaurants.also good wifi all around the place.

Disliked: nothing really...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, chilled atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's cheap and it has that real hostel feel that you don't find that often anymore. Nothing fancy. If you're a true backpacker, you'll probably have no problem with this place. Nice staff: pleasant experience with the young Colombain woman (super nice and friendly) and the Irishman (took us out for Medellin's night life)

Disliked: Rooms are crammed and a bit dark; not for hanging out in there all day. Mattresses could be a lot better (but it seems Medellin just has bad mattresses). And the dorm room at the end doesn't actually have a sealed wall, so alllll conversations anywhere in the common areas can be cleary heard in the room (Earplugs solve that problem easily).

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice and helpfull Stuff

Disliked: No windows to the outside, only to the corridor where the Stuff sometimes smoked. So, fresh ail was quite rare.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ive been to hundreds of hostels, and th estaff was in the top 3 for best. They were helpful, and kind, and a pleasure to be around. Kitchen available, laundary services. Other reviews talked about drugs or loudness. I did not experience that at all. I saw no drug use. And the pingpong ends at 11pm, music at 2am, and that is not as close to the rooms. tv, dvds and internet available for free, snacks and drinks for purchase

Disliked: The room was a little hot, making it difficult to fall asleep. the beds had some kind of plastic covering that made noise upon moving around, and my sheets kept coming off the edges of the bed

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: a wonderfull place to stay: good wifi all around the house,great cooking facilities,clean,friendly atmosphare,very good located and fairly priced.instead of 1 or 2 days i stayed at the sunshine hostel almost 1 week. highly recomended!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good vibes,nice people,great location

Disliked: dont have any compains....

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability