HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The PitStop

Hostel | Cra 43e no 5 - 110, Patio Bonito, Medellin, Medellin, Colombia 000

78.3% Overall Rating

46 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

leslie nava thinks…

"HOT showers!! Swimming pool, Irish bar, pool and ping pong tables, volley ball and basket ball courts, big TV room, steam room, comfortable beds, lockers, lots of plugs, big kitchen, WIFI everywhere,…"

Read all The PitStop reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Black Sheep Medellin
11.66 USD

Hostel 94.3% 143 reviews
Hostel Casa Blanca
10.60 USD

Hostel 77.4% 45 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
13.92 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
23.86 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
14.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
18.56 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.60 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews
Saman Hostel Medellin
11.66 USD

Hostel 92.6% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

46 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The PitStop'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

leslie nava

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 June 2014 leslie would recommend this property

Liked: HOT showers!! Swimming pool, Irish bar, pool and ping pong tables, volley ball and basket ball courts, big TV room, steam room, comfortable beds, lockers, lots of plugs, big kitchen, WIFI everywhere, 3 computers, helpful staff. This hostel had it all! You must like the party atmosphere if you want to enjoy your stay.

Disliked: leslie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The overall atmosphere and other travellers

Disliked: Staff wasn't always available

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

nicole grenfell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 nicole would recommend this property

Liked: we were just passing through and it was perfect. it lacked a little vibe and it seemed people had their groups. we didn't mind too much because we were always doing stuff, but the staff are extra friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: i felt i was bitten alive one night but otherwise comfortable beds and pillows were good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eva Ocenaskova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Party hostel, even though I was not in party mood. They offer tours, bar inside. I liked the rules - quiet time after 10pm. I got even upgraded. Quite ok breakfast, all day coffee

Disliked: The location is safe but boring and its really very far from the metro. BUT - yes, Medellin is a big city and most of the places are far by walking

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Hangover

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Vickers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Fun courtyard to hang out in, air conditioning is needed in Cartagena so that was good to have as well. Nice free breakfast

Disliked: Have to make your own bed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool to relax by during the hot days. Very sociable but the porter ensures everyone leaves by midnight incase you need an early night with peace and quiet.

Disliked: I found the female staff in particular pretty rude and unhelpful. Dorm rooms are large with the smaller 4 bed dorms attached and therefore also very loud. 1 shower room for the large dorm and 2 4 bed dorms meant queues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Aguilar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2013 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at pit stop is really helpful and outgoing. I found the hostel really clean and neat.

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Most of the staff was unfriendly and not particularly helpful, we had reserved a 6 bed dorm for all of us but instead they put us in a ten which wouldnt have been bad but some acknowledgement of that would have been nice. The plates etc in the kitchen were all burned and partially destroyed and the liquor at the bar is way over priced.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 April 2013

Liked: pool area is nice

Disliked: Well I was going to leave slightly above average feedback. The place was fine not great. Literally it was all dudes for a while and that creates a frat scene that I am not really into. But then it fell apart on my last night there as I came back from the bar and getting ready to catch a taxi for a red eye flight. My wallet had fallen out of my pocket when i was leaving the taxi. Losing credit cards, cash, and ID Cards in the middle of the night before a flight is never ideal. Now so far, that is totally my fault and no fault at all of the hostel. When I asked the guy at reception what can we do he offered ABSOLUTELY NO HELP AT ALL. Can we call Taxi services? "No there are too many" Can we call the club and see which taxi services frequent there and we can narrow it down? "NO." Can we just try a few of the major companies? "No." He didn't take me name or information down in the off chance the cabbie brings it back to the hostel. He didn't help me look in the street in case it fell out of the cab. Finally, when my taxi did arrive and I left saying(in a raised and heated tone admittedly), " Thanks for the F***ing help" He runs outside and charges at me. While I still have one bag on my back he first pushes and then swings and cracks me in the jaw. Thanks pal! Exactly the type of help I was looking for in a stressful situation. Lose my wallet and get punched in the face. Ohh and I missed my flight after it was all said and done. So NO, i don't recommend this hostel to anybody.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefan Kyburz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: clean room and bathroom, wifi worked, a lot of information around, close to bar and clubs-area..

Disliked: my single-room had the window into the kitchen, but so it was sticky - and the people hanging around in the hostel were not my style..this was my problem, and not the problem of the hostel..

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great movie room for chilling in and the showers are super hot. Not far from a metro station, supermarket and restaurants.

Disliked: The kitchen closes at 10pm which meant that people who had cooked late couldn't get in to clean up meaning it was a pig sty the next morning for breakfast. Also it's a huge kitchen with nothing in it. It's not very well set up to be used by so many people. The bar runs a tab system so we kept a tally of all the drinks we ordered. When we went to pay on check out the balance was different to ours and when questioned the reception girl argued it with us. Turned out they had entered the wrong price for some drinks and the happy hour prices were wrong. Just keep this in mind if you plan to stay here.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

michael rulloda

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 July 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The sports bar/ movie hall, the overall spaciousness

Disliked: hard to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rik Verhoeven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Rik would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect, this is a massive palace that's turned into a hostel. Pool, bar, tv-room with a million films where we watched the Euro's, nice dorm with spacious bathroom, everything cleaned daily. The perfect place to stay in Medellin.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012

Liked: Good TV room and kitchen.

Disliked: Too many men. Bad atmosphere and unfriendly staff.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matthew Burt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Research your room before you book it. We booked a 4 bed dorm, that it was but it was connected to a 12 bed dorm essentially making it a 16 bed dorm. It was also directly above the bar which is really loud. The floors have no insulation so you can hear everything from downstairs.

Disliked: Really loud

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable beds, helpful staff.

Disliked: They have a pool but no one could use it because the water was filthy. They have a bar on the terrace but it's always closed!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012

Liked: The location was good, the beds good and shower was not bad either. Good basketball court too.

Disliked: I imagine this is actually not really the fault of the hostel but I experienced a depressing atmosphere, mainly down to people who enjoyed staying for months on end enjoying drugs. Not my cup of tea but if it's yours then you will love it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amalia berastegui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 amalia would recommend this property

Liked: great pool, the kitchen was alright, we had a wicked bathroom. the area is pretty safe

Disliked: amalia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at pitstop for over a week and had such an amazing time. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Diana in particular is a star and genuinely made our stay at pitstop! Not only was pitstop ace but Medellin was as well.

Disliked: Dont have a bad word to say!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefan Schenk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was great and so as the people working there. I would stay there again.

Disliked: was kind of noisy and no beers for sale after coming back from the club :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nikolas Kelaiditis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2012 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: - lots of entertainment options (swimming pool, volleyball, soccer, billiard etc) - good inhouse bakery - decent location - many travellers - free wifi

Disliked: - noisy doorbell (you may need earplugs at night). - party center "Zona Rosa/Parque Lleras" is nearby, but only groups should consider walking there at night (hostel is on a dark, lonely road) - teambuilding activities would be a great plus - would break up the closed groups many nationalities form

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: God location, staff friendly. Great facilities available

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo Cesar de Souza Vieira

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: It`s a really good to place to stay in Medellin once the Hostel is located in a very beautiful neighbourhood (Patio Bonito) and we can get all the assistance you need from the hostel staff. I really recommend this place! Cheers!

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Yuval Goldenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011

Liked: The Swimming pool is nice and they have a pool table!

Disliked: Staff are not very kind.. the bar is not so good.. and the worst - there is no justification for the money that u pay! Basicly go to Casa kiwi - the best hostel in Medellin!