HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Pit Stop Hostel Medellin Hostel

Cra 43e, No 5 -110, Patio Bonito, Poblado, Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 71%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 71%

Value 78%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: HOT showers!! Swimming pool, Irish bar, pool and ping pong tables, volley ball and basket ball courts, big TV room, steam room, comfortable beds, lockers, lots of plugs, big kitchen, WIFI everywhere, 3 computers, helpful staff. This hostel had it all! You must like the party atmosphere if you want to enjoy your stay.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: we were just passing through and it was perfect. it lacked a little vibe and it seemed people had their groups. we didn't mind too much because we were always doing stuff, but the staff are extra friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: i felt i was bitten alive one night but otherwise comfortable beds and pillows were good.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Party hostel, even though I was not in party mood. They offer tours, bar inside. I liked the rules - quiet time after 10pm. I got even upgraded. Quite ok breakfast, all day coffee

Disliked: The location is safe but boring and its really very far from the metro. BUT - yes, Medellin is a big city and most of the places are far by walking

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Hangover

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fun courtyard to hang out in, air conditioning is needed in Cartagena so that was good to have as well. Nice free breakfast

Disliked: Have to make your own bed

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great pool to relax by during the hot days. Very sociable but the porter ensures everyone leaves by midnight incase you need an early night with peace and quiet.

Disliked: I found the female staff in particular pretty rude and unhelpful. Dorm rooms are large with the smaller 4 bed dorms attached and therefore also very loud. 1 shower room for the large dorm and 2 4 bed dorms meant queues.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff at pit stop is really helpful and outgoing. I found the hostel really clean and neat.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Most of the staff was unfriendly and not particularly helpful, we had reserved a 6 bed dorm for all of us but instead they put us in a ten which wouldnt have been bad but some acknowledgement of that would have been nice. The plates etc in the kitchen were all burned and partially destroyed and the liquor at the bar is way over priced.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: pool area is nice

Disliked: Well I was going to leave slightly above average feedback. The place was fine not great. Literally it was all dudes for a while and that creates a frat scene that I am not really into. But then it fell apart on my last night there as I came back from the bar and getting ready to catch a taxi for a red eye flight. My wallet had fallen out of my pocket when i was leaving the taxi. Losing credit cards, cash, and ID Cards in the middle of the night before a flight is never ideal. Now so far, that is totally my fault and no fault at all of the hostel. When I asked the guy at reception what can we do he offered ABSOLUTELY NO HELP AT ALL. Can we call Taxi services? "No there are too many" Can we call the club and see which taxi services frequent there and we can narrow it down? "NO." Can we just try a few of the major companies? "No." He didn't take me name or information down in the off chance the cabbie brings it back to the hostel. He didn't help me look in the street in case it fell out of the cab. Finally, when my taxi did arrive and I left saying(in a raised and heated tone admittedly), " Thanks for the F***ing help" He runs outside and charges at me. While I still have one bag on my back he first pushes and then swings and cracks me in the jaw. Thanks pal! Exactly the type of help I was looking for in a stressful situation. Lose my wallet and get punched in the face. Ohh and I missed my flight after it was all said and done. So NO, i don't recommend this hostel to anybody.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean room and bathroom, wifi worked, a lot of information around, close to bar and clubs-area..

Disliked: my single-room had the window into the kitchen, but so it was sticky - and the people hanging around in the hostel were not my style..this was my problem, and not the problem of the hostel..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability