HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The PitStop

Hostel | Cra 43e no 5 - 110, Patio Bonito, Medellin, Medellin, Colombia 000

78.3% Overall Rating

46 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

leslie nava thinks…

"HOT showers!! Swimming pool, Irish bar, pool and ping pong tables, volley ball and basket ball courts, big TV room, steam room, comfortable beds, lockers, lots of plugs, big kitchen, WIFI everywhere,…"

Read all The PitStop reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Black Sheep Medellin
11.32 USD

Hostel 95.0% 140 reviews
Hostel Casa Blanca
10.78 USD

Hostel 78.3% 44 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
14.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
24.25 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
15.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RAM Hostal
13.47 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostel Tamarindo
10.78 USD

Hostel 83.9% 37 reviews
Saman Hostel Medellin
11.86 USD

Hostel 92.9% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

46 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The PitStop'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 52 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

andreas wittwer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: very good pooltable (for free!), good basketballcourt, good prices for drinks, fantastic and cheap dinners.

Disliked: dorms are quiet noisy and for the amount of people staying there 3 computers are def not too many i think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Munoz Valdez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, the staff is really nice and the other people who are staying there as well. I liked the swimming pool,

Disliked: nothing:)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011

Liked: kitchen is good. they provide free coffee in the morning.had a notice board for activities

Disliked: we have never complained about a hostel before but this hostel was a major disappointment and a let down annoyed more by the fact that it is irish owned. we booked a 4 bed dorm which is in theory about a 30 bed dorm.you have to walk through the other dorms where people are sleeping to get to it and there isnt even a proper wall, it doesnt join the celing so in fact the room is open to all the ajoining dorms. wifi service was terrible&you have to pay to use the computers.no map of the local area provided.bathrooms were grotty.there is no security in the dorms anyone is free to walk anywhere.its a party hostel which is fine but trying to sleep above a bar is next to impossible even with earplugs.beer and drinks are overpriced.kitchen closes at 10pm, so noone is allowed to be hungry after that time or even get a drink of water, we arrived just after 10pm. the pool was disgusting with bottle tops and cig butts floating in it. what annoyed me the most is they offer a free nights accommodation if you give them 100% on hostelbookers website...what a sham!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very chilled out, good bar, good wifi

Disliked: beer is pricey, shops are a bit of a walk away

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Zaporoshenko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool place to stay. Great vibe and the outdoor areas are perfect for relaxing or playing a bit of sport. The hostel is also in a very convenient location.

Disliked: Nada

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2011

Liked: The facilities are decent and the layout it nice. The showers could use better curtains so water doesn't go everywhere but the pressure and temp is good

Disliked: The staff wasn't helpful at all, rude and seemed as if they were annoyed every time you asked them something.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Manav Passi

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 April 2011 Manav would recommend this property

Liked: in a safe location. can walk around at night etc

Disliked: moody staff. tab system is always a negative in my view

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pineda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel. i would stay here again.

Disliked: the noise at the bar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect! I would say it's like a villa with swimming pool, etc.!

Disliked: I could bit a bit closer to the metro.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are hot. The staff are hot (pretty unfriendly though). The pool is great. Beer is cheap. Bar is great.

Disliked: Staff a little unfriendly. WiFi hardly works. Noisy if you are trying to sleep. Difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, not bad for partying. Lots of great facilities

Disliked: Bit noisy at night 90% men.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Curtis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 October 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here, the staff is very helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Nothing, this hostel is awesome! Definitely a party hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Cole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel & Great staff. This hostel has everything you need.... Swimming Pool, Bar (open til 2am), Pool Table, Dart Board, Mini- Basketball/Football Pitch, Large TV/DVD Room with all cable channels, loads of DVD´s to choose from and very comfy couches, Big Kitchen, Internet, Table Tennis, In-House Laundry, In-House Massuse (though believe she will be off travelling herself soon) and a range of accomodation to suit everyone´s budget. At the time of writing, the dorms ranged between $17,000 to $23,000 Pesos, and privates from $30,000 to $60,000. Initially I was only staying for a weekend, but extended this to 10 days, then returned for a further 5 days after travelling to the North. One of the best atmoshere hostels I have stayed in during my 5 mths travels. Great value for money and would recommend to all.

Disliked: Nothing...!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bart Parsons

10 April 2010 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has by far the best facilities of any hostel I have ever seen. Pool, Bar, massive TV/Movie room, Kitchen and huge yards. The atmosphere is awesome even when it was a little quiet during our stay. People who have written bad comments about the hostel being out of control need to have a look at what they are getting themselves into before booking and maybe go to a Youth Hostel not a Party hostel.Highly recommend!

Disliked: Bart left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool, bar and outdoor area, plus a comfy tv room to relax in when youre tired.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really the great the have more facilities than i have ever seen in any other hostel. The staff were really helpfull and outgoing and the beds were super cumfy. Definatly a must to stay if visiting medellin

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

kerim shaban

02 November 2009

Liked: I have stayed in hostels around the world and have never been treated as badly as I have at the Pit Stop. Avoid at all cost! The Black Sheep is around the corner and better.

Disliked: kerim left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Hanneke Buis

10 July 2009 Hanneke would recommend this property

Liked: real party hostel. no sheets on the beds...

Disliked: Hanneke left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did NOT like the mattresses and pillows wrapped in plastic under a thin sheet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 June 2009

Liked: The size of the property is impressive, but it is not being maintained enough, and it shows.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel. It is one of the best I have stayed in if maybe the best. It ihas verything you are looking for in an hostel and the price is very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Will Hall

01 June 2008 Will would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend as a party hostel, however, I would not recommend people to visit Medellin, as it is an industrial city with little to do.

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.