We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Tamarindo

Hostel | Calle 7 n 35-36, El poblado, Medellin, Colombia 0

83.9% Overall Rating

32 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Dustin Brett thinks…

"Price wasn't bad and the people I met at hostel are cool. Also it's got a few nice common areas and a nice layout."

Read all Hostel Tamarindo reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e-mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) and your full address in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Medellin

Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel
14.64 USD

Hostel 87.3% 47 reviews
Saman Hostel Medellin
10.73 USD

Hostel 92.6% 68 reviews
Hostal Poblado Park
13.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Tiger Paw Hostel
10.73 USD

Hostel 83.6% 12 reviews
Arcadia Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 81.1% 78 reviews
RAM Hostal
12.20 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostal Tamarindo Inn
13.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Calle 10 Hostel
8.54 USD

Hostel 77.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

32 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Tamarindo'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dustin Brett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: Price wasn't bad and the people I met at hostel are cool. Also it's got a few nice common areas and a nice layout.

Disliked: WiFi doesn't work upstairs in the dorms, staff speaks zero English, need to wait to be let out of the hostel and the staff always seemed annoyed to let me out as if I was inconveniencing them, hostel PC is shit but that's common.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Worst staff ever. Uncomfortable beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: Good kitchen

Disliked: The staff were horrible!! We spoke to one lady on check in, told her we would stay one more night and she said it was fine, our beds were ours until we were ready to check out. We woke up for breakfast at 10am and were told we were checking out at 11. We told her we were staying longer and she said our beds were no longer available. We asked for additional time like an hour to eat breakfast and pack bags and were told we had to be out within the hour or we would be charged another night. Not to mention on checkin, our beds weren't ready till 3.30pm where it says 2pm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you are looking for a calm place to stay, el tamarindo is a good option... nothing special, but clean and comfortable. the kitchen is verry good, much cooking stuff and clean and there is a supermarket 1 minute away from the hostel. the staff is friendly but not bothersome. if you want to have a big party with rich columbian people you can do that right around the corner. there are also nice little designershops and special restaurants in the area - but everything is more expensive...

Disliked: the atmosphere is a bit strange - very calm, sometimes spooky :) the rules are a bit too strict (f.e.: check out at 11 - late check out: pay an extra night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012

Liked: The kitchen

Disliked: The unfriendly staff and the atmosphere of a funeral

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Troy Tolkinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: Easily the worst experience I've had at a hostel. The women that work there are absolutely rude. Heaven forbid one should smile. None of the women speak english and none will try to communicate when you try speaking broken spanish. You get the distinct feeling that they genuinely dislike backpackers. They lock the door behind you so you have to ask the woman to let you out and in. When you ask that they let you out they act as if you've just majorly incovienenced them. On my final night I got in at 8am. I had to check out at 11am so I asked for a wakeup call at 10am so I would be gone before 11am. I read on other posts that they were really bad about checkout and would try to make you pay so I wanted to ensure I would be out on time. Well, my wakeup call never happened and I ended up sleeping to 3pm. I packed my bags and tried to leave but they insisted I pay for the night. I explained that I requested a wakeup and they never did. The woman lied and said she tried to wake me 3 times. They called the police and I had to explain why I wasn't paying them. They needed someone to translate so they found a guy in the hostel who happened to be in my dorm room. He explained to the police what I said and then told them he also is in my dorm and no one ever came to wake me. The woman went ape and started yelling at the other backpacker. I felt bad for him because now they will try to mess with him. The cops told me I could leave after the other guest backed my story. What a joke.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and the atmosphere was tranquil and relaxed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tania Connolly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Owner of hostel is very nice but the older female staff member is quite rude. We booked a private room and the bed in the room was hard as a rock. I mean so hard i had a sore back when i woke up in the morning. The rooms are also very basic with no side table lights or anything. At 11.20am i went downstairs and explained to the staff member that the bed was too hard and i couldn't sleep on it and enquired whether we could swap rooms. She was really unhelpful and rude and said that check out time was 11am (it was only 11.20) and there were no other rooms available. We asked her to call Natalie the owner and had to persist to get her to do this (even though Natalie had insisted we call her if there were any dramas as the other staff couldn't speak english well). I explained the issue to Natalie and she suggested we could stay in their B and B, which was more expensive, but she would credit the value of the extra night towards it. We moved to the B & B and paid extra but the bed was much more comfy.

Disliked: the bed in the room was hard as a rock. I mean so hard i had a sore back when i woke up in the morning. The rooms are also very basic with no side table lights or anything. At 11.20am i went downstairs and explained to the staff member that the bed was too hard and i couldn't sleep on it and enquired whether we could swap rooms. She was really unhelpful and rude and said that check out time was 11am (it was only 11.20) and there were no other rooms available. We asked her to call Natalie the owner and had to persist to get her to do this (even though Natalie had insisted we call her if there were any dramas as the other staff couldn't speak english well). I explained the issue to Natalie and she suggested we could stay in their B and B, which was more expensive, but she would credit the value of the extra night towards it. We moved to the B & B and paid extra but the bed was much more comfy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel with good facilities. Kitchen is always clean and there is a TV and lots of DVDs to watch. Free wifi in lobby and staff are friendly and helpful. Owner speaks English. The doors are always locked so very secure. Cheap, clean dorms.

Disliked: You cant get the wifi in the room. When Natalie isn't there, the staff do not speak any English so makes it a bit hard to get help if needed. The doors are always locked so if no one is there to let you out, you have to wait around for a while until someone comes with the key so you can get out of the hostel. Beds were a bit hard but hey ho! what do you expect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

andreas wittwer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect: quiet and safe, despite being only 3 blocks from the main bar/disco area of medellin

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gente muy amable la que atiende es en realidad muy comodo

Disliked: en realidad todo estuvo bien

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalie was an excellent concierge, providing all kinds of info, calling for cabs and even arranging a dental appointment! The other staff are very nice but don't speak a lot of English, which is normal. This is Colombia. Free wi-fi and use of computer Location is amazing. Steps to restaurants, bars and clubs, a grocery store and a little outdoor gym around the corner. Neighbourhood felt safe. It is really really quiet at night. Books, TV room, areas to socialize

Disliked: Not a party hostel in the least. This could be good or bad. Sun deck kind of small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed vibe, very well located.

Disliked: Nada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful; the location was great (walking distance to Zona Rosa and a nearby supermarket); and the shower was hot!

Disliked: Only downside was the fact that you could hear everyone in the lower lobby from the room; however, the hostel did have a designated quiet time, which was enforced, for this very reason.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalie provided more than enough instructions/information for places to go.

Disliked: Wi-Fi connection hardly reached the rooms and it always got disconnected. It needs to be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfecto ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Gregory

15 May 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a place that is close to Zona Rosa and really good night life this is the area to be. the hostel was the cleanest hostel I stayed at out the 5 hostels in Colombia. The owner is fluent in English and Spanish and really helpful.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Tamarindo was a great place to stay. The hostel owner, Natalie, was friendly and very accommodating. We stayed in a private room and it reminding me of my bedroom as a kid--with glow-in-the-dark stars on the wall. This hostel is good for the laid back traveler that values peacefulness and location. Parque Lleras and all the bars and restaurants are a very short walk away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, best equipped kitchen I´ve seen. Small and not a "party hostel" which I like.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, owner really helpful and spoke perfect english, definately not your party hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warmth of the staff people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerrit-Jan Lanting

07 August 2009 Gerrit-Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, friendly owner who speaks english fluently.

Disliked: Gerrit-Jan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its the most beautiful place i ever been for may 5 months trip.I felt like in my home.The staff is more than polite.Its a perfect house with style and very very clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.