HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guatape hostels

Reviews of Hostal Mi Casa Guatape

Hostel | Antioquia, opposite Estadero La Mona, Guatape, Colombia N/A

99.3% Overall Rating

13 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Jeremy Jones thinks…

"After a string of bad hostels in Colombia, this one was a real gem. Although not in central Guatape town, this hostel is located right in the shadow of the rock of Guatape (which is what you're…"

Read all Hostal Mi Casa Guatape reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guatape?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guatape

Tomate Café Hostel
9.61 USD

Hostel 88.9% 8 reviews
Hostel El Encuentro
12.14 USD

Hostel 88.6% 10 reviews
Lake View Hostel
10.68 USD

Hostel 90.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.3%

Overall Rating

13 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Mi Casa Guatape'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
96.9%
Facilities
100.0%
Cleanliness
98.5%
Staff
100.0%
Value
100.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: After a string of bad hostels in Colombia, this one was a real gem. Although not in central Guatape town, this hostel is located right in the shadow of the rock of Guatape (which is what you're probably coming to see anyway). We stayed in the private room with ensuite bathroom and really enjoyed it. A great mattress, good wifi, an electric shower head that actually heats the water (with pressure), and a gorgeous view of one of the fingers of the lake. Loved everything about this one, especially the resident dog who loves meeting new guests. The rest of the hostels in Colombia could take some tips from this one.

Disliked: This hostel is not in central Guatape. It is located right next to the rock of Guatape about 30 minutes walking (or a few minutes by collectivo/rickshaw) from town. We knew this when we booked and had no problems, but just pointing it out for others.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, Sean and Suzanne make you feel so welcome and will go out of their way to help you with anything. They also have a beautiful dog! Great place to chill out, definately felt at home in this hostel. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Guatape

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madeleine Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay at Mi Casa, Sean and Susy were very hospitable and we had an evening of great food and games! Highly recommended.

Disliked: Madeleine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Eustice

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really nice chilled out place, run by a lovely couple who are in their second year of hostelling in Guatape. Sean (a Brit) and Susannah (from Colombia) are both really nice and friendly, and you'll be at ease immediately. They're in a good location just up from the giant rock, and a very short tuk tuk or collectivo ride from town. The town itself is great and definitely worth more than the day trip that Medellin hostels will try to sell you, with colourful houses, nice restaurants and bars, as well as ziplining, treks and jetskiing. The hostel was clean, had a shop and cheap restaurant right below and definitely deserves a stay.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana rita ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 ana rita would recommend this property

Liked: I felt really confortable at this familiar hostel, i REALLY recommend.he They have all the facilities you need, I felt like HOME!

Disliked: Nothing, everything is perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Read

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! It's a bit out of town but on the main road so you can just jump on a colectivo jeep. Owners are absolutely amazing, and so is their friendly dog. Beds are comfortable, showers are hot, and the place has a lovely home feel. This is the place to stay!

Disliked: Jenna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chris price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Sean and Susanna were great hosts and make you stay very comfortable. There mate a local guy will take you rock climbing which is just brilliant for a good price also.

Disliked: Nothing. Thanks again guys

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jay rasmussen

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 jay would recommend this property

Liked: We can't recomend this property more highly. The location is perfect (close to the Rock and town), the host is amazingly helpful and friendly, the facilty is spotless, and the whole setting is very tranquil. Would we return? Without a doubt!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Recchi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 June 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hosts, extremely clean, friendly, peaceful and spectacular views.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel linfitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: First thought....who are these guys!!!? They just rock up after travelling the globe and create a gorgeous hostel based on what they enjoyed about different hostels around the world! Both Sean and Susannah were the perfect hosts, they create a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere that is hard to walk away from. We were treated to a mix of traditional english cuisine and fresh prime bbq'd steaks fresh from the famous butcher in guatape. The hostel is perfectly situated at the base of penol rock that offers some of the best scenery in Colombia, 2 minutes outside of Guatape village which offers a peaceful environment, perfect for a relaxing escape from hectic medillin. This is the first review I have ever written and I've been to over 40 countries..... I think that statement shows how much I recommend this hostel! Thank you so much for the fantastic few days I spent with you Mi Casa Guatape!! Perfect 10/10...Dan

Disliked: Nothing, and this isn't me being lazy and not writing anything apart from 'nothing'. I actually cannot pick fault with the experience!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eddie Brown

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2013 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very near the rock. 6 miles from the town. The host Sean and Sue are great host. There is access to fishing,planed sightseeing tours. Restaurant delivery. I hear the indian and mexican dishes are great. Saturday night barbeque. It is family orientated infants and children are allowed. They have a great view of the lake and mountain. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. International flavor.

Disliked: Everything was excellant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mi casa was probably my favourite hostel so far in colombia.The hostel owners Sean and Suzanna amazing hosts. During our stay they went out of there way to look after us more than any other hostel has so far (been in colombia for 2 months). Probaby the most impressive thing about Mi Casa was how clean it was, the place was spotless. The views from the hostel and our room were amazing. We extended our stay as we liked it so much, it was a home from home.

Disliked: It was hard to leave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

crtomir likar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2012 crtomir would recommend this property

Liked: cute super friendly GB colombian couple, spotless clean rooms, lake view,best bed in colombia so far ,perfec location very good value for money,travel info

Disliked: nothing


See all Guatape hostels