We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guatape hostels

Reviews of Hostel El Encuentro

Hostel | Vereda Quebrada Arriba, Guatape, Colombia -

88.3% Overall Rating

10 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2013)

Odette Lawler thinks…

"Beautiful location with a lovely view of the lake. Far enough from town that it felt peaceful, but a easy 5 minute walk to a tienda or 10 minute walk to the main plaza. Had two lovely young dogs and…"

Read all Hostel El Encuentro reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guatape?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guatape

Tomate Café Hostel
8.89 USD

Hostel 88.9% 8 reviews
Hostal Mi Casa Guatape
9.88 USD

Hostel 99.5% 16 reviews
Lake View Hostel
9.88 USD

Hostel 90.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

10 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel El Encuentro'

Atmosphere
89.1%
Location
94.6%
Facilities
83.6%
Cleanliness
89.1%
Staff
87.3%
Value
81.8%
Safety
92.7%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and great view. very quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: a Little far from the town but thats why its a great view.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Odette Lawler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Odette would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location with a lovely view of the lake. Far enough from town that it felt peaceful, but a easy 5 minute walk to a tienda or 10 minute walk to the main plaza. Had two lovely young dogs and two very cute cats! Staff were friendly, and the place felt homely. Nice clean kitchen and bathrooms.

Disliked: My bed in the dorm was one of the top bunks and it was terribly uncomfortable. Very thin mattress; I felt I was sleeping on the wooden slats. The girl beneath me said hers was also very bad, but the other two were supposedly fine. The hostel told us they were booked out and were couldn't stay a second night, but when we asked to store our bags the next day so we could explore the town we learned that they were actually closing that day, leaving by 2pm, do we had to collect our bags before then. Not very professional for a hostel to just close, and not nice to be lied to about it at first!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: view

Disliked: internet not free, alcohol consumtion requiers permission fromthe management

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013

Liked: The sight

Disliked: The dormrooms were way too tiny and the bathrooms and dorms were not that clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location and property are beautiful, as is the view. The staff was constantly cleaning to keep the area clean.

Disliked: The 4 person dormitories were way too small for 4 people, and the beds were very uncomfortable. Spend the extra money for a private room if you can. Also soap in the dorm bathrooms and free coffee in the AM would really improve the stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After Cartagena I was in for a few days in a more relaxed environment, so I sped a few days in Guatape. El Encuerto was the perfect hostal for me: very relaxed, very helpfull and friendly staff, great views from balcony. Excellent location just outside the village.

Disliked: I stayed in dormroom, which was a bit cramped ( but still ok ), regular twin-rooms looked really nice and on next visit I would pay extra for the regular room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really cool little place to stay. Its not to big and has a really relaxed atmosphere with views over the lake.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting, friendly staff (except owner who tends to be a little grumpy), better view than LakeView-Hostel. Excellent activities (swimming in the lake, mountainbiking, hiking, climbing, ...), stars spangled sky at night - it's a little paradise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view of the lake and El Penol is amazing and there is such tranquility. Perfect if your after somewhere to chill, you simply could not feel anything but relaxed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic, beautiful place to stay in Guatape.

Disliked: A little expensive for the type of accommodation on offer. Nothing wrong with the rooms but very simple, old beds etc and no breakfast included for the cost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on the lake;

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Guatape hostels