We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cartagena, Colombia

91.0%
6 reviews Book Now 
1

Calamari Hostal Boutique

Hostel
Carrera 3 No. 31 - 38, Cartagena, Colombia N/A

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Calamari Hostal Boutique

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 70% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
John Heath
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
John would recommend this property 14 August 2014

Good location in the Historical Center. Interesting decor and collection of artifacts. Helpful staff

jerry burnaman
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
jerry would recommend this property 25 September 2013

This place is in a great location and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were great- it is a bargain for where it is at.

88.0%
34 reviews Book Now 
2

Hostel Mamallena

Hostel
10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia .

31 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Mamallena

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 94% Facilities - 83% Safety - 84%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 85%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 April 2015

Awesome hostel - clean, helpful staff, good location, really good for sorting out day trips or activities etc. Owner/manager was awesome, sorted our boat trip to panama easily without any hassle, really grateful to him. Also really liked how social it is but then they close down the courtyard at whatever time at night (10? 11? Can't remember) and from then were strict about people being quiet - all the rooms look on to the courtyard, so this was a big deal when you could hear everything going on outside Highly recommend this place

Rebecca Russell-Einhorn
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Rebecca would recommend this property 25 December 2014

They give you free pancakes and free coffee at breakfast. If you want more, the cook can make you eggs and toast and fresh juice/smoothies for just a few pesos. They have a TON of trips leaving the hostel, so it makes sense to book for a few days and then plan to spend a few days taking trips to the mud volcano or the playa blanca. They sell water and beer for cheap at the hostel. They rooms have air conditioning which is necessary in Cartagena. It books up, so book early!

87.8%
21 reviews Book Now 
3

Papaya Hostel Getsemani

Hostel
Calle del Pozo # 28-36, Barrio Getsemaní, Cartagena, Colombia N/A

19 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Papaya Hostel Getsemani

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 89% Facilities - 82% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 80%
Joshua Thorpe
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Joshua would recommend this property 29 March 2015

Great location right by a vibrant square in Getsemani. The hostel has a very nice courtyard area where breakfast is served and where you can relax and meet other travellers. The dorms all have individual lockers with lots of space to put bags in.

Sabrina De Simone
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sabrina would recommend this property 26 March 2015

Very nice hostel with good atmosphere and perfect location. The staff is very nice, the hostel is clean and safe. Beds are made every day and they prepare a different plate of columbian breakfast every morning. We even got it before breakfast hours one day, as we had to leave early to catch a bus to Playa Blanca (booked through the hostel). We can absolutely recommend to stay here!

86.8%
21 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostal Casa Nativa

Hostel
Tumbamuertos Street, Cartagena, Colombia =

18 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Casa Nativa

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 93% Facilities - 79% Safety - 92%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 81%
Paul Stephen Burns
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Paul Stephen would recommend this property 25 February 2015

Perfectly located in the heart of the centro historico. Friendly staff, clean rooms (cleaned & beds made daily). Guests have use of the kitchen. Rooms are air conditioned, with overhead fans.

henry dickson
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
08 January 2014

Location was great (near plaza San Diego). Young staff (Isrealian and Argentinian) girls at front desk were nice and helpful. Free wifi and towels.

83.4%
141 reviews Book Now 
5

Hotel Villa Colonial

Hotel
Calle de las Maravillas, no 30-60, Cartagena, Colombia 00000

125 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Villa Colonial

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 90% Facilities - 81% Safety - 83%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 12 April 2015

Very neat and clean. Air conditioning is a big plus. 5 min walk from old city center.

Paul Harris
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Paul would recommend this property 17 March 2015

Good location, very helpful and friendly staff who let us hang out and use the kitchen / wifi while we waited for a boat to the San Blas, reasonable price and very clean. Plus, all rooms have excellent aircon and nice bathrooms.

82.6%
258 reviews Book Now 
6

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel
Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

226 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 72% Facilities - 84% Safety - 84%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 75%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 16 December 2014

It was a large hostel with plenty of common areas to hang out in and an average breakfast. The air con in the room was great when it was on. Rooms and bathrooms were kept very clean.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 04 October 2014

good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved.

78.6%
10 reviews Book Now 
7

Hostal Arrecifes

Guesthouse
Calle de las Flores * 5218, La Boquilla, Cartagena, Colombia 13404

7 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Arrecifes

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 80% Facilities - 84% Safety - 76%
Location - 48% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 90%
Radek Cermák
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa
91.4%
Radek would recommend this property 07 April 2014

I like wsimming pool in the hostal. The property od the hostal was luxury with air condition and it was so near to beach.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 24 September 2010

Clean, helpful staff, free breakfast, a little far out of own, but they will arrange a free taxi to take you in and out of town, however, this means you have to plan your evening to a time.

78.4%
23 reviews Book Now 
8

Las Chancletas Beach Hostel

Hostel
AVENIDA 1A # 1 - 52. Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia N/A

19 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Las Chancletas Beach Hostel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 86% Facilities - 73% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 78%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 24 July 2014

Aircon in the rooms at night, you just have to ask to turn it on and it keeps the room cool which you need in this heat. Good kitchen facilities and nice thorough fair of air with a breeze to keep it cooler during the day. You're directly on the beach but in front of a rocky area, but you just walk down the road a little and you have beach, easy access (like 500m maybe). Internet was mostly really good. Occasionally it dropped out and the guy would try and get it working, but majority of the time it worked and worked really well. Shower was great.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 May 2014

I stayed for two days and everything was excellent, the staff, the hostel, the house is amazing, I recommend this hostel 100%. For sure I'm going back cause the environment there was amazing! Best hostel ever!

72.4%
3 reviews Book Now 
9

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena

3 star Hotel
Centro Calle de la moneda, # 7 - 54, Cartagena, Colombia 13001

2 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena

Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 93% Facilities - 53% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 66% Value - 73%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 05 February 2015

Location was amazing, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was included! Great Value for sure!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
51.4%
18 January 2015

The staff were very friendly. The location was great and the house is beautiful.

71.8%
16 reviews Book Now 
10

Media Luna Hostel

Hostel
Calle Media Luna No 10-46, Cartagena, Colombia 005

11 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Media Luna Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 61% Facilities - 71% Safety - 77%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 66% Value - 65%
Dion Rabouin
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
57.1%
30 September 2014

Pool was nice, very large kitchen and plenty of room to socialize with other guests. Also the Wednesday night party is so good that even Colombians get excited to visit Cartagena on Wednesday night.

Malin Clarenbeck
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Malin would recommend this property 08 September 2014

This hostel is really good. My luggage has been delayed and the reception let me use their phone several times to try to locate my luggage. They were all concerned about it and especially the receptionist Tatiana, even let me borrow some clothes to help me. The common are is good, kitchen is has good utilities and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. I would stay here again!

Cartagena

22 Hostels from 11.88 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cartagena hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cartagena. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.