HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Las Chancletas Beach Hostel

Hostel | AVENIDA 1A # 1 - 52. Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia N/A

78.4% Overall Rating

16 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2013)

"Decent place overall. It is nice that the dorms are 4 bed even though you could easily fit in another bunk bed or 2. Kitchen is small bit all you need. Good location. Lovely to have aircon."

Read all Las Chancletas Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hostal Arrecifes
23.28 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 10 reviews
Karmairi Hotel Spa
2.59 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Toledo
15.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.8% 43 reviews
BANTU HOTEL BOUTIQUE
189.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
58.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Tree House Hostel
25.87 USD

Hostel 55.2% 3 reviews
Hostal Casa Nativa
17.59 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hostel Green House Coffee
12.93 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

16 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Las Chancletas Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.1%
Location
91.1%
Facilities
71.1%
Cleanliness
68.9%
Staff
86.7%
Value
78.9%
Safety
81.1%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent place overall. It is nice that the dorms are 4 bed even though you could easily fit in another bunk bed or 2. Kitchen is small bit all you need. Good location. Lovely to have aircon.

Disliked: The dorms have no natural light. They could do with more shared bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is in a great location that is safe and easy to walk to many areas in the old part of Cartagena. The staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: Some of the utensils and things in the kitchen were broken or unusable.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013

Liked: location is ok

Disliked: Do not go if you value sleep! The reception crew partied with some guests in front of the dorms until 5 in the morning ... sleeping was therefore impossible! complaints were ignored. reservation through hostelbookers was unheard of, and the concept of a 10% downpayment was too much for the crew.... If you can avoid this place!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a short walk to Plaza de la Trinidad which is where locals and tourists alike hangout out every night and about a 15 minute walk to the Walled City. It's also located in a very safe neighborhood. This is not a party hostel at all and geared towards mature crowd, couples or folks who are light sleepers. AIRCONDITION 24/7 is definite deal breaker for us (it was humid and 35 degrees in July)! The lady receptionist was very knowledge and ready to extend a helping hand, so was the cleaning ladies. :)

Disliked: Basic, bare bones hostel with non-existent facilities: computer stations, bar or laundry service. Breakfast not included (didn't care for it). The kitchen needs to be tidied up. Room #6 which is on the farthest end of the hall has ZERO wifi signal - we had to switch rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the manager Marcella and reliable wifi. The rooms have AC too which is huge.

Disliked: Could be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laelia Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Laelia would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, right in the centre of the Getsemani district (beautiful area!!). Clean spacious rooms, super fast wifi, well stocked and clean kitchen and the owner is lovely, speaks great English and more than happy to help. Oh and the rooms have amazing air con.

Disliked: If you were alone it might be hard to meet people, it's chilled and quiet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all the things exept maybe the localisation

Disliked: maybe a little far of the center of the barrio

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air con and beds are great, we slept like logs! When we stayed there was free street parties in the closest square and the athmophere was good and felt really secure.

Disliked: The kitchen and common areas are a bit too hot and cramped!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Perez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: People

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a good stay in our spartan but satisfactory room. The air conditioning was a godsent in the hot climate. Beds were comfortable enough. Showers have only cold water but in Cartagena cold water is not really cold and just what you want after a hot day. The kitchen has a blender so you can make your own fruit smoothies! Staff were very helpful in giving advice and booking our diving and mud volcano trips. The neighborhood is absolutely brilliant.

Disliked: During the torrential downpours that we had (it was rainy season) the hallway got a bit wet. Our room had no working lock (and no place to use your own padlock) so we had to trust no one would come in and steal stuff; luckily nothing bad happened. Kitchen was a bit messy but that seems to be normal for hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the dorm rooms only had 4 people in them. The street and area that the hostel is located in was one of my favorite places in the city. The staff spoke excellent english and were extremely helpful. I liked that they let you turn on the air conditioning when you wanted, not just at 9 or 10pm like other hostels. This is nice for the afternoon siesta during the heat of the day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Derek Kockler

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 April 2013

Liked: Nice People

Disliked: Super boring and tiny kitchen that is a million degrees

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Justine Mehay

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: Aire acondicionado y Buenos consejos del staff

Disliked: Podria incluir el desayuno por el precio

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enrique Cabrera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: People friendly.Payment method clear and easy(credit cards,cashh).

Disliked: Everything was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liza Bianchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 February 2013 Liza would recommend this property

Liked: Este hostal es super chévere. Me quedé 4 noches y me lo pasé muy bien. Los dueños y los empleados son muy amables y me sentía muy bienvenida. Las habitaciones son muy buenas para dormir porque son oscuras y con aire acondicionado. Y hay un locker grande por cada cama en cada habitación. El hostal está en el barrio Getsemani. Getsemani parece ser muy tranquilo y como una viajera sola, me sentía muy segura. Además Getsemani, o por lo menos Calle Las Chancletas, no es demasiado turístico...y eso me gustó. _____________________________________________________ This hostel is super cool. I stayed here four nights and only left because I had to catch a plane. The owners and staff are super nice and I felt very welcome. The rooms are pretty awesome for sleeping because they get very dark at night. Also, the AC is put on at night so you can sleep without sweating ha. Each bed has a pretty large locker too, which is nice for you to store your stuff. The hostel is located on a quiet street in the Getsemani neighborhood. The neighborhood felt super laid-back and also quite safe...you see lots of police roaming around. And, it isn't overly touristy, which for me is a huge plus.

Disliked: Nada!

The property's response is...