HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Nativa

Hostel | Tumbamuertos Street, Cartagena, Colombia =

Recent review (08/01/2014)

henry dickson thinks…

"Location was great (near plaza San Diego). Young staff (Isrealian and Argentinian) girls at front desk were nice and helpful. Free wifi and towels."

Read all Hostal Casa Nativa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Casa Eden
86.48 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
15.13 USD

Hostel 85.1% 247 reviews
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
135.13 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
54.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
24.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Real
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.51 USD

Hostel 89.5% 25 reviews
Media Luna Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

15 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Nativa'

Atmosphere
75.6%
Location
97.8%
Facilities
77.8%
Cleanliness
83.3%
Staff
93.3%
Value
78.9%
Safety
92.2%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

henry dickson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014

Liked: Location was great (near plaza San Diego). Young staff (Isrealian and Argentinian) girls at front desk were nice and helpful. Free wifi and towels.

Disliked: Atmosphere was subpar. Small gathering/central area. No TV in main central gathering area. PC did not work (Use of a working PC for guests would be helpful). Need locks on showers along with perhaps more hooks of shelfing. Wifi signal in rooms were a little weak (stronger signal). Change laundry to by kilo versus load.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nerissa Butt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Nerissa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owner are great people. Happy to help out with anything you need. Great location. Loved the curtains for the beds, great for privacy....

Disliked: Nada

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013

Liked: Airconditioning in the room and curtains around the bed. Relatively cheap for the location.

Disliked: The kitchen was pretty gross. Had to ask for toilet paper several times. The staff was really lazy, not honest and not helpfull at all. We stayed there for 3 nights and made a reservation for one night a week later again. When we got there, the hostel was full. They told us 'there just arrived a lot of people'; apparently they don't care about reservations and it is just the one who shows up first.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lindsay George

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, comfy beds (lockers and curtains a great idea!) Perfect location in the historic centre.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, but probably just because it was quiet when we were there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All staffs are friendly and It's easy to make friends with those who stay this hostel .

Disliked: I couldn't use Wi-Fi in the bed room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, love the curtains round the dorm beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot, great staff, nice atmosphere,

Disliked: shower facilities could be improved.... But overall defenitly a good place to stay!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012

Liked: Air conditioning in the rooms (ONLY 8pm-11am), wifi (ONLY in the lobby), lockers and bed privacy curtains, staff helped me book a tour

Disliked: I'm honestly shocked this hostel is ranked #1 on here...I thought it lacked character, only 1 of the staff members spoke English, there was no wifi in the rooms, and the rooms were boiling during the day. Maybe it was just when I was here, but there was a family and several people over the age of 50 staying in the hostel, making it very hard to meet people as a young female solo traveler. While the location was good, I wished I stayed at one of the endless other (cheaper) options in town.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I like the locker/cabinet at the headboard and the curtain for some privacy. They sheets are in nude color so is very clean, the staff refit the sheets after I messed it up.

Disliked: The wifi signal is not very strong, hardly any signal in the room which has the AC

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were very helpful and the location inside the walled city was great. It was really nice to have the lockers for storage and the curtains for the bed were a nice touch for a little privacy. There are plenty of good restaurants around. The staff arranged a trip to Islas Rosario & Playa Blanca and transportation to Santa Marta. The van to Santa Marta was great-much better than a stuffy bus.

Disliked: While it wasn't a big deal, the dorms were mixed (men and women) but I thought they were divided by sex. One of the staff advised me that a trip we booked through them would only be 18 people and it ended up being 32 and he stated the lunch provided would be something like lobster-I knew that wouldn't be the case but I prefer for people to be up-front with me. All in all it was a good experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms are a stroke of genius, with A/C, headboard lockers, and keychains with flashlights!

Disliked: It´s missing the usual hostel facilities. There´s a tiny kitchen, but nowhere to sit and eat! Literally no table or chairs. It´s really just for sleeping

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tess Heyerman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are awesome. You have your own personal locker in the headboard and curtains that close around each bed, so you have some privacy. The owner is so nice and helpful. She speaks great English! The whole place is very clean. Air conditioning in rooms at night is so nice.

Disliked: Its very small, only two rooms with 8 beds, but looks like there is more space to have more rooms. Would be nice if they had a few more rooms that offered less beds. Would be good to have breakfast included and maps of the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great. It is quiet, clean and the perfect place to rest after a night out. Mitzy and Marcela are the awesome owners and I had a great time with them. Stay here if you're over the dirty crowded and loud hostel scene.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfecto.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bunks have curtains which was a first for me! The staff were super helpful and arranged my onward travel for me. Good wifi, strong showers, powerful aircon. Fantastic location. Very quick laundry (turnaround time less than 2 hours).

Disliked: The hostel is quite small - only 2 dorms, each with 8 beds - and because it is new, it wasn't very busy when i was there. For solo travellers it wasn't that easy to meet people (no bar etc) but if you want a quiet hostel this is perfect for you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clinton Buck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Clinton would recommend this property

Liked: It is small and new. Good place for chilling out after exploring the town and night life.

Disliked: Aircon being turned off when you in bed hungover, but otherwise good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Melanie Steinbacher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice owners & stuff

Disliked: No opportunity to pay with credit card