We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

81.1% Overall Rating

225 out of 257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2014)

"It was a large hostel with plenty of common areas to hang out in and an average breakfast. The air con in the room was great when it was on. Rooms and bathrooms were kept very clean."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
21.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
48.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
24.40 USD

Hostel 86.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
97.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 32 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal la casona de getsemani
29.46 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews
Papaya Hostel Getsemani
17.08 USD

Hostel 84.8% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

225 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 197 of 246 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a large hostel with plenty of common areas to hang out in and an average breakfast. The air con in the room was great when it was on. Rooms and bathrooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: It was unbearably hot all over the hostel during the day. Staff were very average, most weren't friendly or helpful.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

14 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, breakfast included good bar in the house

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work very well inside the rooms Rooms without key to lock the door, and anyone can get into the hoste. During the day the reception doesn't check the people coming in. Happily, I've not heard about robery in the hostel. the tours offered in the hostel are overpriced

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

tim bromilow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2014

Liked: Location in the old town near to good restaurants.

Disliked: Lack of toilets and showers, and poor staff (especially during the day). The staff were rude, unhelpful and slothful. They hardly ever got off their lardy arses (it was day three that I realised there was a cinema area!) and spent most of the time gossiping and watching TV; I felt I was intruding on their private party whenever I asked them anything. There was no welcome, just an abrupt here you are, there you go, dorm is through there up the yard. Also, the dorm was dirty. I later looked into other hostels that were a) livelier, b) happier, and c) cheaper (albeit they were located in a more seedy part of town, Getsemani).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved.

Disliked: a little loud, but the place is really big, so that's to be expected. I'll be damned if i'll wear a wristband- find a better security measure.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nicolas Psara Lassalle

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2014

Liked: The big patio area.

Disliked: Some of the employees were not nice at all. One of them stole a phone from us, we saw it in the security camera and the manager did nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Morton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: There is a laid back atmosphere with plenty of communal spaces. It was a also great having the AIr-con in the rooms during the night and until 11am.

Disliked: The staff are not as helpful as in other places - probably because it´s quite big.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cant recommend this place enough. Good consistent wifi. Air conditioning in all rooms. Amazing central location in a charming city. Complementary, light, breakfast in the morning...hotspot vibe at night. Great parties and socializing. Alex Z. and the staff took well care of me. Keep in mind this is a hostel, not hotel. Dont assume, or expect too much...eventhough this place does deliver. Every one I met had a great stay, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for hostel in Cartagena.

Disliked: The only thing this place needs is a pool....that would just be perfect...maybe too perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIEGO ANDRE GUTIERREZ SOTO

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

11 August 2014 DIEGO ANDRE would recommend this property

Liked: El staff muy amigable y atento, la locación es lo mas céntrica posible.

Disliked: Desde cierta hora solo se enciende el aire :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Borthwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfy matresses, excellent social areas and bar.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jordan Padnuk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 July 2014

Liked: The hostel is in a nice area.

Disliked: Staff was impersonal and the ambiance was far too noisy, far too late. Overall gave off the feeling of me being just another asshole in town for a day, gone the next, let's try and see how much of our services we can jam down their throat. The layout of the place makes it way too noisy at night. It's too expensive for what it is. The overall high rating of the place is misleading,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Awabdeh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nikhil Kotak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 July 2014

Liked: Big hostel, chilled. When the AC works from 6pm in the rooms it's great.

Disliked: Always dirty showers, most staff are rude and lazy. Everything seems effort to do for them or answer. I'm not sure if It's their natural tone or if they don't mean to but often they come across as rude even if not indented. I think it's overpriced and there is not a vibe. I hoped for a party atmosphere staying at the weekend. It was pretty dry with no atmosphere. It's not a party hostel for sure. Also had to wait one day to get a pillow sheet and wasn't impressed at having to put our own sheets on the bed especially when this is one of the most costly hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Prachniak

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were in a separate quiet building across the street. Mine was the largest I think and with ahuge window ooverlooking the street. Very close to the sights and also one of the more quiet beaches.

Disliked: Everything was satisfactory

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night so didn't really get to know the place. Appreciate free breakfast, good wifi, good common areas, seemed to be a lot happening.

Disliked: Would have been nice with another cereal option, not just the sugar coated ones but not really a complaint since it's included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Gutierrez Munoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The best place to stay in Cartagena

Disliked: They should have maps and tourist info.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, strong aircon in the rooms was appreciated! Safes in the rooms are a great idea. There was a good breakfast too and overall a nice chilled atmosphere!

Disliked: The staff could have been a lot more helpful. Its also cheaper to book the hostel Online than it is to book at the desk. Given that it's quite expensive you want to get the best deal that you can so this makes a bit of an unnecessary chore out of extending your stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place. Price is a bit higher than the rest of Colombian places but I guess that this is Cartagena.

Disliked: Would have been nice if the where electricity sockets near each bed and not just two for the whole dorm room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Cloete

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great set-up for socialising. Quiet in public areas after 12 but allow you to keep drinking in the reception area.

Disliked: Some of the shower doors dont have latches so they dont get used - a little bit of maintenance would effectively add another few showers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: Location is ideal

Disliked: The staff treated me and the other guests within my dorm like animals - within regards to the use of air conditioning !!! Very poor mannered indeed!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHELSEA RILLO

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 May 2014 CHELSEA would recommend this property

Liked: Smack in the middle of the walled city, breakkie, activities, bar in premises, hammocks, a lil kitty

Disliked: the paint was peeling and had a weird smell in my parents private room but the other rooms seem ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Iv'e not got a bad word to say about this place. Iv'e been in Cartagena for just over three weeks and have been living in a pre-arranged apartment for the best part of two of those weeks. The week preceding my moving into the apartment was spent happily in El Viajero meeting people and getting involved with the various tours that are on offer. Without doubt, the staff are what makes this place - nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere they create rubs off on everyone that passes through the doors. Iv'e popped my head in every couple of days and the guys there still treat me as a guest and allow me to use their WIFI and bar as if I were still staying there. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great small lock box in the room. Good outdoor gathering space. Internet good.

Disliked: 2 staff members were less than helpful. Fringing on rude. Breakfast is cheap and not filling. No adaquate sink/bucket for washing clothes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great courtyard, very easy to met people and party.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jeroen Blaauw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice patio with rooms and clean showers, great and relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: Jeroen left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and friends

Disliked: Hard to sleep