We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

85.9% Overall Rating

222 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

David Morton thinks…

"There is a laid back atmosphere with plenty of communal spaces. It was a also great having the AIr-con in the rooms during the night and until 11am."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 25.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
23.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
50.13 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
17.09 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
80.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.53 USD

Hostel 87.8% 28 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
37.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
15.54 USD

Hostel 74.5% 14 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
21.06 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

222 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 241 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Morton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: There is a laid back atmosphere with plenty of communal spaces. It was a also great having the AIr-con in the rooms during the night and until 11am.

Disliked: The staff are not as helpful as in other places - probably because it´s quite big.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cant recommend this place enough. Good consistent wifi. Air conditioning in all rooms. Amazing central location in a charming city. Complementary, light, breakfast in the morning...hotspot vibe at night. Great parties and socializing. Alex Z. and the staff took well care of me. Keep in mind this is a hostel, not hotel. Dont assume, or expect too much...eventhough this place does deliver. Every one I met had a great stay, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for hostel in Cartagena.

Disliked: The only thing this place needs is a pool....that would just be perfect...maybe too perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIEGO ANDRE GUTIERREZ SOTO

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

11 August 2014 DIEGO ANDRE would recommend this property

Liked: El staff muy amigable y atento, la locación es lo mas céntrica posible.

Disliked: Desde cierta hora solo se enciende el aire :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Borthwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfy matresses, excellent social areas and bar.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jordan Padnuk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 July 2014

Liked: The hostel is in a nice area.

Disliked: Staff was impersonal and the ambiance was far too noisy, far too late. Overall gave off the feeling of me being just another asshole in town for a day, gone the next, let's try and see how much of our services we can jam down their throat. The layout of the place makes it way too noisy at night. It's too expensive for what it is. The overall high rating of the place is misleading,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Awabdeh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nikhil Kotak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 July 2014

Liked: Big hostel, chilled. When the AC works from 6pm in the rooms it's great.

Disliked: Always dirty showers, most staff are rude and lazy. Everything seems effort to do for them or answer. I'm not sure if It's their natural tone or if they don't mean to but often they come across as rude even if not indented. I think it's overpriced and there is not a vibe. I hoped for a party atmosphere staying at the weekend. It was pretty dry with no atmosphere. It's not a party hostel for sure. Also had to wait one day to get a pillow sheet and wasn't impressed at having to put our own sheets on the bed especially when this is one of the most costly hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Prachniak

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were in a separate quiet building across the street. Mine was the largest I think and with ahuge window ooverlooking the street. Very close to the sights and also one of the more quiet beaches.

Disliked: Everything was satisfactory

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night so didn't really get to know the place. Appreciate free breakfast, good wifi, good common areas, seemed to be a lot happening.

Disliked: Would have been nice with another cereal option, not just the sugar coated ones but not really a complaint since it's included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Gutierrez Munoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The best place to stay in Cartagena

Disliked: They should have maps and tourist info.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, strong aircon in the rooms was appreciated! Safes in the rooms are a great idea. There was a good breakfast too and overall a nice chilled atmosphere!

Disliked: The staff could have been a lot more helpful. Its also cheaper to book the hostel Online than it is to book at the desk. Given that it's quite expensive you want to get the best deal that you can so this makes a bit of an unnecessary chore out of extending your stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place. Price is a bit higher than the rest of Colombian places but I guess that this is Cartagena.

Disliked: Would have been nice if the where electricity sockets near each bed and not just two for the whole dorm room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Cloete

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great set-up for socialising. Quiet in public areas after 12 but allow you to keep drinking in the reception area.

Disliked: Some of the shower doors dont have latches so they dont get used - a little bit of maintenance would effectively add another few showers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: Location is ideal

Disliked: The staff treated me and the other guests within my dorm like animals - within regards to the use of air conditioning !!! Very poor mannered indeed!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHELSEA RILLO

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 May 2014 CHELSEA would recommend this property

Liked: Smack in the middle of the walled city, breakkie, activities, bar in premises, hammocks, a lil kitty

Disliked: the paint was peeling and had a weird smell in my parents private room but the other rooms seem ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Iv'e not got a bad word to say about this place. Iv'e been in Cartagena for just over three weeks and have been living in a pre-arranged apartment for the best part of two of those weeks. The week preceding my moving into the apartment was spent happily in El Viajero meeting people and getting involved with the various tours that are on offer. Without doubt, the staff are what makes this place - nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere they create rubs off on everyone that passes through the doors. Iv'e popped my head in every couple of days and the guys there still treat me as a guest and allow me to use their WIFI and bar as if I were still staying there. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great small lock box in the room. Good outdoor gathering space. Internet good.

Disliked: 2 staff members were less than helpful. Fringing on rude. Breakfast is cheap and not filling. No adaquate sink/bucket for washing clothes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great courtyard, very easy to met people and party.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jeroen Blaauw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice patio with rooms and clean showers, great and relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: Jeroen left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and friends

Disliked: Hard to sleep

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All our crew had a great time. We partied with the staff on Saturday night. We met loads of other people from lots of countries. Not a ghost town by an means this place was buzzing. The location inside the old city was outstanding.

Disliked: Other guests did have some fumigation issues that caused there rooms to smell. This was not a problem in our room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. Great location, clean, safe, helpful staff. Computers were good and wi-fi coverage was throughout the hostel.

Disliked: Big hostel with spread out common areas made it a little hard to mingle. Though wi-fi coverage was good around the hostel, speed wasn't great. Some of the showers didn't lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Merner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Pros - Solid breakfast (toast, jam, coffee, fresh fruit, cereal), good beds, friendly staff, excellent location, air conditioner in the rooms, good shower pressure (cold showers but that was preferable in the heat)

Disliked: Cons - Wifi was not the best

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carol Kiecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Well organized, big dorm rooms with lockers under the beds so everything was tucked away. Plenty of showers and bathrooms.

Disliked: It's a very large hostel with very few 'sight-seers, mostly young partiers. I'm sure they liked it a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohammed Qasimali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, this is one of the best hostels ive sever stayed in. Clean good atmosphere, being in the old city it is gorgeous colonial property. AAA

Disliked: cold showers