HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

85.1% Overall Rating

217 out of 247 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Michael Awabdeh thinks…

"Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 27.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
24.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
54.02 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Real
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Eden
86.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.51 USD

Hostel 89.5% 25 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
39.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 12 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
22.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

217 out of 247 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 236 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: airconditioning was cold

Disliked: there was no bar as advertised there were a lot of tours and excusions advertised but they were very overpriced

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, secure, good place to meet people

Disliked: having to make my own bed, wet plates/dishes for breakfast

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: air conditioner is hardly ever on and you dont have control. some staff are quite abrupt and unfriendly. kitchen has no can opener.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Claudia Sperling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, nice rooms and beds, but: big problem with cleanliness. Unfortunately the cleaning lady cleans too late so that in the morning at 8 I found hair of people which I saw the day before as well. I mentioned that to the staff more than once but they were not interested. Rooms were clean. Bathroom stuff was stolen in the dorm.

Disliked: cleaninless and partly unfriendly staff. i could not buy the hi card

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place

Disliked: hard to get help sometimes from the staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large dorm rooms. Good location. Great place to meet people.

Disliked: No hot water (it is hot outside so you don't need hot water, but the only option is cold). Staff aren't very friendly.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011

Liked: beautiful hostel. great location.

Disliked: Just cant understand why it got such good reviews. The staff is one the unfriendly Ive met in 4 months of traveling in south America. Arrogant and not informative at all, even in basic things like a restaurant recommendation or taxi prices in the city. they advertise that all rooms have air con, but they control it and since its shut during most hours of the day its impossible to stay in the room. the kitchen is tiny, especially for a hostel this big, and under equipped, even basic utilities are missing. there are only 2 computer, not nearly enough (again, big hostel...). our room wasn't clean and garbage wasn't emptied for days.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011

Liked: Good breakfast and airconditioning in rooms.

Disliked: Music blasting in the lobby all day and loud partying in the hallway between the rooms all night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the hostel.

Disliked: The staff were pretty useless. They were slow and not very helpful. I was asked to move rooms twice in a 3 night stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hernan Gutsztat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A little bit expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Radovski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. This is a real party hostel.

Disliked: A little hard to rest here since there are so many people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: Some of the staff were not very helpful when we checked in. I asked where a good place to eat was and they said to have a look around not giving us any indication where to go or direction to go. Also being a hostel and having kitchen facilities they did not mention about the massive supermarket around the corner and we were left to discover this for ourselves. In fact they did not give us any helpful information on arrival, It seems the staff were more interested in their facebook profiles.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to meet cool people, great environment, not expensive.

Disliked: Breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great set up, heaps of fun and easy to meet with fellow travellers, staff up for parties

Disliked: no laundry service

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Town in Cartagena is exceptionally beautiful, and Viajera is right in the middle of it all. Good place to meat other travellers. Nice airconditioned rooms.

Disliked: Drug dealers outside the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce and new, all the beds, rooms and facilities are spotless. Good layout, aircon is nice, good all round. Free breakfast as well is a bonus.

Disliked: Nothing, it was all good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and very helpful and are all fluent in English. I had a fantastic time in the hostel and met so many great people. The location is very central and easy to find. The air-con was a big help at night!!

Disliked: There was a little bit of construction work going on which wasa little annoying early in the morning, but generally it wasn't a terrible inconvenience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Onysko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 December 2010 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very new property, less than 3 months old. Rooms were very clean, beds were new, and most importantly there was AIR CONDITIONING in every room! Nothing like a good sweat-less night of sleep! The open air style to the hostel was great for hanging out and sharing a few beers with new friends. The location is great, right inside the walls and seemed to be a very safe area. For non-Spanish speakers, all the staff had very good English skills.

Disliked: The staff can arrange a lot of activities and tours but did not seem that knowledgeable when it came to the specifics. Almost like they didn’t know much more than whom to call and make a reservation with. I would have appreciated an honest opinion from a real traveler when I was considering booking the Chivas Tour (trip full of wealthy couples from resort hotels trying to find their youth on the poorest excuse for a party bus that I have ever seen) or Playa Blanca day trip. Other than this no problems at all. A great place to stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, Air conditioning, colourful

Disliked: Not enough computer terminals, lobby/commundal area was very ht

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, security, location and staff!

Disliked: needs more comfy outside seating

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Giessmann

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: Top notch hostel in great location, very clean, fun place to meet people, very friendly staff. Stayed here for 3 weeks during the last 5 weeks, and lovin' it.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hickman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Air con.

Disliked: Cold water only.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Weir

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: brand new comfy beds! Location is amazing, right where you want to be, Air-con too is a bonus. So cheap.

Disliked: They had somehow got me booking for the wrong month in their system so it was pretty annoying since i had to prove i'd made the right booking and had paid a deposit. Luckily i had my documents otherwise i would have had to pay a lot more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philip hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 philip would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: philip left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven barrett

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010 steven would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel definatley one of the best if not the best in anywhere ive been in south america.seriously.very helpful staff,ac in clean rooms and breakfast included.great place to meet another people.if i return to cartagena i wont be staying anywhere but here for sure!

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.