We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

81.1% Overall Rating

225 out of 257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2014)

"It was a large hostel with plenty of common areas to hang out in and an average breakfast. The air con in the room was great when it was on. Rooms and bathrooms were kept very clean."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
22.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
48.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
16.64 USD

Hostel 86.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
97.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 32 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal la casona de getsemani
17.08 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews
Papaya Hostel Getsemani
17.08 USD

Hostel 84.8% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

225 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 197 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ben machell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

09 April 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect central location. Free internet and wi-fi. Great breakfast with cereals, bread and juices/coffee. Staff are very helpful and speak English well.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike. Private rooms are quite small, but are perfectly adequate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free breakfast

Disliked: The staff were a bit frosty on check in but after that they were all fine and very helpful. One guy helped me call at 6am and change my 7am bus

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011

Liked: In the center, nice personnel,

Disliked: The policy 'no noice after midnight' is not upheld, so every night there was (a lot) noice and given the lay-out of the rooms you hear the noice. Washing facilities for clothes could be better. Kitchen facilities to do your own cooking are minimal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Pineda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to everything

Disliked: the lockers underneth the beds are not secured... by lifting the mattress, the stuff inside the lockers can be stolen...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Eileen Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 March 2011 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was right in the middle of the old town.

Disliked: The noise! Although there was a curfew, people sat outside our room very late (about 3:00 am) drinking and talkig loudly. We had also booked a private double bedroom, but we had a room with 2 single beds and a bunk bed. The wall safe was locked open, so we could not use and the window shutters did not close. We also did not like the communal showers and the bathroom was a walk along the open courtyard. We had to move out after only one night as we could not cope with the noise and the room facilities. However, far from penalising us, the staff were very apologetic. We would recommend this hostel as it would be a great place if you are young (which we are not!) and want to meet people, but it was not for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Justin Mulhair

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal area and all services available i.e. internet, TV room, kitchen, free breakfast, etc.

Disliked: The lockers aren´t very secure as they are easily compromised by lifting the bottom bunk mattress up from the frame. There was a girl´s handbag stolen while we stayed there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011

Liked: The place looks ok,

Disliked: but it is always very crowded, and people stay just outside your door drinking all night and no one from the staff members tell them anything. The kitchen is very small, one person can hardly fit in there. The lockers are not lockers, you can take the matress out and you can serve yourself with watever you like from someones things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos I. Acero

Alone

City break

22 March 2011 Carlos I. would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niamh o Mara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, it's clean, has good facilities, great location and very nice staff. I arrived to this hostel late at night having hurt myself while travelling. Alex on reception went over and above his call of duty to help me out for which I was so grateful. Aside from that, this is a great hostel which I would recommend, I ended up staying here for 5 nights instead of 2!

Disliked: Showers are cold which is fine at this time of year because it's so hot but I wouldn't normally like this

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: airconditioning was cold

Disliked: there was no bar as advertised there were a lot of tours and excusions advertised but they were very overpriced

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, secure, good place to meet people

Disliked: having to make my own bed, wet plates/dishes for breakfast

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: air conditioner is hardly ever on and you dont have control. some staff are quite abrupt and unfriendly. kitchen has no can opener.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Claudia Sperling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, nice rooms and beds, but: big problem with cleanliness. Unfortunately the cleaning lady cleans too late so that in the morning at 8 I found hair of people which I saw the day before as well. I mentioned that to the staff more than once but they were not interested. Rooms were clean. Bathroom stuff was stolen in the dorm.

Disliked: cleaninless and partly unfriendly staff. i could not buy the hi card

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place

Disliked: hard to get help sometimes from the staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large dorm rooms. Good location. Great place to meet people.

Disliked: No hot water (it is hot outside so you don't need hot water, but the only option is cold). Staff aren't very friendly.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011

Liked: beautiful hostel. great location.

Disliked: Just cant understand why it got such good reviews. The staff is one the unfriendly Ive met in 4 months of traveling in south America. Arrogant and not informative at all, even in basic things like a restaurant recommendation or taxi prices in the city. they advertise that all rooms have air con, but they control it and since its shut during most hours of the day its impossible to stay in the room. the kitchen is tiny, especially for a hostel this big, and under equipped, even basic utilities are missing. there are only 2 computer, not nearly enough (again, big hostel...). our room wasn't clean and garbage wasn't emptied for days.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011

Liked: Good breakfast and airconditioning in rooms.

Disliked: Music blasting in the lobby all day and loud partying in the hallway between the rooms all night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the hostel.

Disliked: The staff were pretty useless. They were slow and not very helpful. I was asked to move rooms twice in a 3 night stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hernan Gutsztat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A little bit expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Radovski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. This is a real party hostel.

Disliked: A little hard to rest here since there are so many people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: Some of the staff were not very helpful when we checked in. I asked where a good place to eat was and they said to have a look around not giving us any indication where to go or direction to go. Also being a hostel and having kitchen facilities they did not mention about the massive supermarket around the corner and we were left to discover this for ourselves. In fact they did not give us any helpful information on arrival, It seems the staff were more interested in their facebook profiles.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to meet cool people, great environment, not expensive.

Disliked: Breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great set up, heaps of fun and easy to meet with fellow travellers, staff up for parties

Disliked: no laundry service

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Town in Cartagena is exceptionally beautiful, and Viajera is right in the middle of it all. Good place to meat other travellers. Nice airconditioned rooms.

Disliked: Drug dealers outside the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce and new, all the beds, rooms and facilities are spotless. Good layout, aircon is nice, good all round. Free breakfast as well is a bonus.

Disliked: Nothing, it was all good.