HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

90.1% Overall Rating

204 out of 231 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

"All our crew had a great time. We partied with the staff on Saturday night. We met loads of other people from lots of countries. Not a ghost town by an means this place was buzzing. The location inside the old city was…"

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 25.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you losing your reservation Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is 50% web deposit and 4 minimum nights from 29th of dec 2013 until Jan 1rt 2014.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
23.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
51.85 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Real
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
17.63 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
103.70 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.96 USD

Hostel 89.7% 23 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
38.37 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

204 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 175 of 221 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great set up, heaps of fun and easy to meet with fellow travellers, staff up for parties

Disliked: no laundry service

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Town in Cartagena is exceptionally beautiful, and Viajera is right in the middle of it all. Good place to meat other travellers. Nice airconditioned rooms.

Disliked: Drug dealers outside the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce and new, all the beds, rooms and facilities are spotless. Good layout, aircon is nice, good all round. Free breakfast as well is a bonus.

Disliked: Nothing, it was all good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and very helpful and are all fluent in English. I had a fantastic time in the hostel and met so many great people. The location is very central and easy to find. The air-con was a big help at night!!

Disliked: There was a little bit of construction work going on which wasa little annoying early in the morning, but generally it wasn't a terrible inconvenience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Onysko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 December 2010 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very new property, less than 3 months old. Rooms were very clean, beds were new, and most importantly there was AIR CONDITIONING in every room! Nothing like a good sweat-less night of sleep! The open air style to the hostel was great for hanging out and sharing a few beers with new friends. The location is great, right inside the walls and seemed to be a very safe area. For non-Spanish speakers, all the staff had very good English skills.

Disliked: The staff can arrange a lot of activities and tours but did not seem that knowledgeable when it came to the specifics. Almost like they didn’t know much more than whom to call and make a reservation with. I would have appreciated an honest opinion from a real traveler when I was considering booking the Chivas Tour (trip full of wealthy couples from resort hotels trying to find their youth on the poorest excuse for a party bus that I have ever seen) or Playa Blanca day trip. Other than this no problems at all. A great place to stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, Air conditioning, colourful

Disliked: Not enough computer terminals, lobby/commundal area was very ht

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, security, location and staff!

Disliked: needs more comfy outside seating

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Giessmann

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: Top notch hostel in great location, very clean, fun place to meet people, very friendly staff. Stayed here for 3 weeks during the last 5 weeks, and lovin' it.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hickman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Air con.

Disliked: Cold water only.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Weir

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: brand new comfy beds! Location is amazing, right where you want to be, Air-con too is a bonus. So cheap.

Disliked: They had somehow got me booking for the wrong month in their system so it was pretty annoying since i had to prove i'd made the right booking and had paid a deposit. Luckily i had my documents otherwise i would have had to pay a lot more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philip hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 philip would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: philip left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven barrett

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010 steven would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel definatley one of the best if not the best in anywhere ive been in south america.seriously.very helpful staff,ac in clean rooms and breakfast included.great place to meet another people.if i return to cartagena i wont be staying anywhere but here for sure!

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Erin Chew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the aircon, kitchen facility, outdoor showers and the people there.

Disliked: No pool, no bar and there was one girl on reception who seemed adverse to being of any help whatsoever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic time here!The staff are the best I have encountered after ten months of hostel living.I'll definitely return!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and promoted a fun and safe enviorment.Staying at this hostel totally changed my mind about the way I view hostels and the people who stay in them.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel was brilliant. Right in the old town of Cartagena. It also organised loads of tours around the area and the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: It is a very new hostel so lacks a bit of character.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Iain Curtin

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

04 November 2010 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Very new and clean place. Great location an friendly staff. Only minor problem is wifi doesn't work in Rooms very often (always works in lobby though).

Disliked: Wifi in rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Javier Kracht

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2010 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great. They are always ready yo help you. The location is perfect. You are just in the Historic Centre, near everything but not yet in a crowded spot. So, there's no problem if you want to have a good night sleep. And the price! It's just too good to be real. Hope they keep like that.

Disliked: I would have liked more showers and bathrooms. And on my last two days there was a group of people that were hanging all their clothes in the patio (is it correct the word?), leaving their things in the bathroom and it didn't look nice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helpful, one of them even accompanied me to a clinic when I needed a doctor. Room was nice and clean.

Disliked: There are only 6 showers for the whole property so prepare for a wait. Naturally the showers aren't clean anymore after a while. Breakfast is only from 8-10, should be from 7 because if you book a tour you have to leave early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Giessmann

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: New facility that has it all. Good area of town, close to everything, clean, good place to meet people, and includes breakfast.

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Paul Barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Really good new hostel in a great location in Cartagena, good breakfast, clean comfortable rooms with a/c (a must!!) and an ok communal area which could do with being made a bit more comfortable but it was still a great place to meet people and have fun in Cartagena.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AT first I was a bit skeptical to stay at this place because it was new, however it was really nice and clean (as a new place should be). The staff cleaned the rooms and the bathrooms etc everyday (sometimes more than once). Staff were very nice and friendly and very helpful. Great kitchen and fridges and dining area.A plus was, because I booked online, I got a cheaper rate than If I just rocked up. Definitely book yu stay ahead of time.

Disliked: As it is new there were still some facilities being developed such as the 14 bed dorms and locker facilities and other small things like that. But Definitely stay here because its really nice and great atmosphere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rebecca Le Pine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Clean dorms and bathrooms

Disliked: Cold water showers only

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn McKay

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean hostel. The staff are really friendly and the location is excellent - you feel very safe in the area in comparisson to the area where most of the hostels are located.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small and the extractor fan isn't great but we were still able to cook easily.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new, bedrooms and bathroom s were excellent. Staff were so helpful and in an excellent location. Lovely set up around a small courtyard.

Disliked: No lockers but staff said they were getting them.