HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena

Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 97%

Safety 86%

Staff 71%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 97%

Safety 86%

Staff 71%

Value 78%

Showing 61-62 of 62 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and pretty good vibe. Daily clean in the rooms.

Disliked: The wifi was really unreliable and the staff didn't really seem to care or know how to fix it. There was no wifi in the rooms even though there were signs saying there was. At check in the staff didn't tell me where to get sheets or a towel, explain about breakfast or the bar, just pointed the direction to the room and that was it.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location not too bad

Disliked: Very unfriendly staff and impossible to sleep before 3-4 am because the noise in the patio

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Its a perfect place to enojy cartagena, the staff is awsome, the rooms are nice. Its recommenden for young people.

Disliked: You cant realy rest because its always party until 12 PM, but who cares :D

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Muy buen Hostel!!!!! toda la onda!!

Disliked: Mucho ruido a la noche si queres dormir pero a las 12 corta

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location in the old part of Cartegena, plus nice air conditioning at night for sleeping.

Disliked: VERY noisy, lot of partying right outside the rooms till gone midnight. Staff were rather surly and unfriendly.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Uno de los mejores hostels de Colombia, excelente ubicación, dentro de la ciudad vieja, muy amplio y cómodo y un gran desayuno. Muy recomendable.

Disliked: Pocos baños para la cantidad de gente que alberga. La cocina y sus utensilios también quedan un poco chicos.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly staff!

Disliked: was a bit pricy, and had a lot of problems with extending my stay due to it being the high season. its a popular place so its best to book in advance if your going at christmas.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Overall a nice property.

Disliked: One of the ladies at the counter had an attitude and wasn't very friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There are lot of bathrooms & showers! I hung at the chill hostel a lot I really like the feel of that place better but not a lot of bathroom there.

Disliked: It's big people are spread out so not as easy to meet people for someone traveling alone. A lot of time when people are in the common area they are all on there phone or computer.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location of the hostel is great! It's a walking distance to supermarket, restaurants, bars, all you need.

Disliked: This is the hostel with the rudest staff I have ever met. These people behave like they pay you to work there, not like it's their job. I rarely got a smile from anyone (except the cleaning ladies which were very nice). Once I asked for earlier breakfast (it was 7 people from the hostel going on an early tour), just coffee and cereal, 4 people promised me to have breakfast at 7am. In the morning, there was nothing, no even coffee prepared. When I asked if someone will help us, both staff members (while chatting on facebook and not even bothering to look me in the eyes while talking to me) said sure, and no one even moved in the next 15 minutes. We left with no coffee or breakfast. I've asked the staff to turn down the music because I am on skype or sleeping, and they wouldn't do it. The internet in the rooms doesn't work, even though there are 3 connections available (none of them working most of the time). The hostel is very, very overpriced! I met people who stayed in hostels 2/3 of the price of El Viajero with better facilities and much better attitude from the stuff. I have stayed in El Viajero in Paraguay, it was great! I am very disappointed by the El Viajero in Cartagena.

Check Availability