HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

82.2% Overall Rating

223 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

"good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
22.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
48.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
16.64 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
78.07 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.20 USD

Hostel 87.8% 30 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
13.17 USD

Hostel 73.3% 15 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
20.49 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

223 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air con every evening in the rooms; helpful staff that all spoke English and excellent location! The continental breakfast was decent too!

Disliked: it was very dirty, I don't think they clean the rooms. My bed had a colony of ants on it when I arrived. Also, it's pretty much a party hostel, so if you're not into that, stay somewhere else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to stay, clean and new facilities, friendly staff and aircon in every room

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andreas wittwer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly and helpful staff, good kitchen, good showers, air conditioned rooms, super comfortable beds, big lockers in the rooms

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giorgia Perpellini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Giorgia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing!

Disliked: Breakfast start at 8 am...too late in my opinion...usually in othes hostels is from 7-7.30 am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, secure, good location, good parties on the weekend with some cocktails. Manager is a lovely and friendly chica. The problem with the under bed lockers not having a top (others on this site have said that you can just lift the mattress to access the locker) has been fixed, at least in the room I was in. The lockers were secure. Air con is on in the bedrooms from 6pm to 11am, and staff were also perfectly happy to turn it on for you during the day upon request. I also left my laptop in a common area (tired much?) and the staff rescued it for me. Everyone was really nice.

Disliked: Couldn't get internet connection in the room, and the common areas were too loud with music etc, so was unable to Skype home. Internet also went down a lot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Columbia:)

Disliked: lockers very small, so no possibility to lock up laptop

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AIRCON!!

Disliked: You can't cook in the kitchen and they don't serve food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glover

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and good location in the old town

Disliked: With all rooms facing onto the central courtyard it can get pretty noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

hugo fuentes

Alone

Business / conference

20 June 2011 hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Its located in the downtown of the old city of Cartagena "Ciudad Amurallada"

Disliked: The Bathroom wasn´t clean sometimes!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place to stay but the staff can be rude and very unhelpful. Its almost like they do not want to be there. The aircon rooms are great and are a must for the heat in Cartagena. The breakfast is hit and miss, sometimes a good selection, other times nothing. Plus warm milk with cereals is never good!!

Disliked: The staff and warm milk with breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Lotero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice and helpful, and you can book any excursions (Manglares, Volcan del Lodo, Tayrona, etc.) at the reception. My dormmates were always considerate about not making too much noise when I was asleep. Internet and breakfast are free, as is fridge and kitchen use! Great hostel. and AC is great!

Disliked: One day, I was put in a private room that had an ant infestation! But they switched my room when I asked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Monique Jarny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and the premises were immaculate. Great communal area outside.

Disliked: My biggest problem was that the rooms were too ccold at night, with the air conditioning going all night. Sounds pretty good (and to me too) but not when its so cold you cant sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air condition, clean, cornflakes for breakfast

Disliked: noise at night (until midnight)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011

Liked: Conveniant location.

Disliked: Impossible to sleep. Bar with loud music in the corridor / courtyard on Thurs Fri and Sat night until midnight with people talking loud until 2am. Children making loud noise early in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, air-con and personal safes in rooms and very helpful staff

Disliked: Breakfast could have been more substantial, and wi-fi kept dropping out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Foesenek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: They organized a fun party and pub crawl. Staff was really nice and helpful. I was almost afraid of going there because of the bad comments about the staff, but I don't agree with them.

Disliked: Nothing, well the breakfast could have been a little better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Rooms are clean. Air conditioning! Great in hot climates like Cartagena. Lots of activities on offer. Porch hang out space.

Disliked: Breakfast. They need to have more than bread and cereal. Quite a disappointment and not worth waking up for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maria belen de grandis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 maria belen would recommend this property

Liked: El viajero Cartagena is now one of my favourite hostels. The rooms are big, the people is great, good location and everything is clean all the time. A great place to spend your time at cartagena

Disliked: everything was great!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good locations

Disliked: hotel and hostelbookers do not seem to have a good communication, we had 2 bookings and both times they tried to charge a different price and move us to a bigger room size.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, very helpfull

Disliked: Security boxes under the beds are easy to get stuff out off and the doors to the rooms are not locked but only people from the hostel are in the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Pinto

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing and the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: Wifi, breakfast.

Disliked: Very noisy. Partyhostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure really comfy beds

Disliked: Staff were incredibly grumpy in general although there was one lovely guy. Had a ridiculous system with a magnetic strip you put on your bed which they didn't have enough of so we couldn't get one when we checked in and then had problems because we didn't have one when we checked out. Expensive for a dorm bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ben machell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

09 April 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect central location. Free internet and wi-fi. Great breakfast with cereals, bread and juices/coffee. Staff are very helpful and speak English well.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike. Private rooms are quite small, but are perfectly adequate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free breakfast

Disliked: The staff were a bit frosty on check in but after that they were all fine and very helpful. One guy helped me call at 6am and change my 7am bus