HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

85.1% Overall Rating

217 out of 247 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Michael Awabdeh thinks…

"Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 27.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
24.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
54.08 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Real
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Eden
86.54 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.52 USD

Hostel 89.5% 25 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
40.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 71.0% 12 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
22.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

217 out of 247 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 236 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glover

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and good location in the old town

Disliked: With all rooms facing onto the central courtyard it can get pretty noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

hugo fuentes

Alone

Business / conference

20 June 2011 hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Its located in the downtown of the old city of Cartagena "Ciudad Amurallada"

Disliked: The Bathroom wasn´t clean sometimes!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place to stay but the staff can be rude and very unhelpful. Its almost like they do not want to be there. The aircon rooms are great and are a must for the heat in Cartagena. The breakfast is hit and miss, sometimes a good selection, other times nothing. Plus warm milk with cereals is never good!!

Disliked: The staff and warm milk with breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Lotero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice and helpful, and you can book any excursions (Manglares, Volcan del Lodo, Tayrona, etc.) at the reception. My dormmates were always considerate about not making too much noise when I was asleep. Internet and breakfast are free, as is fridge and kitchen use! Great hostel. and AC is great!

Disliked: One day, I was put in a private room that had an ant infestation! But they switched my room when I asked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Monique Jarny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and the premises were immaculate. Great communal area outside.

Disliked: My biggest problem was that the rooms were too ccold at night, with the air conditioning going all night. Sounds pretty good (and to me too) but not when its so cold you cant sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air condition, clean, cornflakes for breakfast

Disliked: noise at night (until midnight)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011

Liked: Conveniant location.

Disliked: Impossible to sleep. Bar with loud music in the corridor / courtyard on Thurs Fri and Sat night until midnight with people talking loud until 2am. Children making loud noise early in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, air-con and personal safes in rooms and very helpful staff

Disliked: Breakfast could have been more substantial, and wi-fi kept dropping out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Foesenek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: They organized a fun party and pub crawl. Staff was really nice and helpful. I was almost afraid of going there because of the bad comments about the staff, but I don't agree with them.

Disliked: Nothing, well the breakfast could have been a little better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Rooms are clean. Air conditioning! Great in hot climates like Cartagena. Lots of activities on offer. Porch hang out space.

Disliked: Breakfast. They need to have more than bread and cereal. Quite a disappointment and not worth waking up for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maria belen de grandis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 maria belen would recommend this property

Liked: El viajero Cartagena is now one of my favourite hostels. The rooms are big, the people is great, good location and everything is clean all the time. A great place to spend your time at cartagena

Disliked: everything was great!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good locations

Disliked: hotel and hostelbookers do not seem to have a good communication, we had 2 bookings and both times they tried to charge a different price and move us to a bigger room size.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, very helpfull

Disliked: Security boxes under the beds are easy to get stuff out off and the doors to the rooms are not locked but only people from the hostel are in the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Pinto

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing and the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: Wifi, breakfast.

Disliked: Very noisy. Partyhostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure really comfy beds

Disliked: Staff were incredibly grumpy in general although there was one lovely guy. Had a ridiculous system with a magnetic strip you put on your bed which they didn't have enough of so we couldn't get one when we checked in and then had problems because we didn't have one when we checked out. Expensive for a dorm bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ben machell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

09 April 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect central location. Free internet and wi-fi. Great breakfast with cereals, bread and juices/coffee. Staff are very helpful and speak English well.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike. Private rooms are quite small, but are perfectly adequate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free breakfast

Disliked: The staff were a bit frosty on check in but after that they were all fine and very helpful. One guy helped me call at 6am and change my 7am bus

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011

Liked: In the center, nice personnel,

Disliked: The policy 'no noice after midnight' is not upheld, so every night there was (a lot) noice and given the lay-out of the rooms you hear the noice. Washing facilities for clothes could be better. Kitchen facilities to do your own cooking are minimal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Pineda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to everything

Disliked: the lockers underneth the beds are not secured... by lifting the mattress, the stuff inside the lockers can be stolen...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Eileen Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 March 2011 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was right in the middle of the old town.

Disliked: The noise! Although there was a curfew, people sat outside our room very late (about 3:00 am) drinking and talkig loudly. We had also booked a private double bedroom, but we had a room with 2 single beds and a bunk bed. The wall safe was locked open, so we could not use and the window shutters did not close. We also did not like the communal showers and the bathroom was a walk along the open courtyard. We had to move out after only one night as we could not cope with the noise and the room facilities. However, far from penalising us, the staff were very apologetic. We would recommend this hostel as it would be a great place if you are young (which we are not!) and want to meet people, but it was not for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Justin Mulhair

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal area and all services available i.e. internet, TV room, kitchen, free breakfast, etc.

Disliked: The lockers aren´t very secure as they are easily compromised by lifting the bottom bunk mattress up from the frame. There was a girl´s handbag stolen while we stayed there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011

Liked: The place looks ok,

Disliked: but it is always very crowded, and people stay just outside your door drinking all night and no one from the staff members tell them anything. The kitchen is very small, one person can hardly fit in there. The lockers are not lockers, you can take the matress out and you can serve yourself with watever you like from someones things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos I. Acero

Alone

City break

22 March 2011 Carlos I. would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niamh o Mara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, it's clean, has good facilities, great location and very nice staff. I arrived to this hostel late at night having hurt myself while travelling. Alex on reception went over and above his call of duty to help me out for which I was so grateful. Aside from that, this is a great hostel which I would recommend, I ended up staying here for 5 nights instead of 2!

Disliked: Showers are cold which is fine at this time of year because it's so hot but I wouldn't normally like this