HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 92%

Safety 83%

Staff 75%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 92%

Safety 83%

Staff 75%

Value 75%

Showing 51-60 of 149 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location is great. It is inside the Historic District and it feels very safe at any time of the day. Staff are friendly and breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest to improve, is to leave the control for the air conditioning in every room. I didn't like having ot go to reception every time we wnted to modify the temperature.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy to find, central to downtown Cartagena. Bathrooms clean.

Disliked: Although it was wicked that they had aircon, it was blasted so cold and with only a sheet I had problems sleeping. We did ask the staff to turn the air con to a less cold temp. but the system seemed to re adjust to the cold temp. I didnt ask for a blanket so really more of an peice of advice to make sure you do or bring warmer clothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We were in a double in the annex building and it was wonderfully quiet there. The room was nice with TV, AC and fans.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit sparse.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good one, party hostel!! Nice people

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Air conditioning in Cartagena is a must and the rooms here are very cool. There is a nice terrace outside the rooms.

Disliked: The staff were pretty useless and were more concerned with painting their nails. When they are attentive they are trying to hawk overpriced tours to you. Also for the cost (30k pesos) you would expect a towel to be offered (like most places in Colombia), but it is not, so you have to shell out 5k for a moth eaten hand towell...It just seemed like one of those juggernaut hostels that seem to pride themselves on the fact you can go through South America staying in their sterile, overpriced lodgings and never actually experience the real culture of the countries you are in

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Conveniently situated

Disliked: sometimes noisy

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: central location

Disliked: can be loud at night

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is amazing. I came as a solo traveller and got friends and plans for every day of my stay. The location is also amazing in the heart of the walled city

Disliked: It's very noisy, so getting a good night sleep is hard, unless you nap when everyone is out...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff at El Viajero are really helpful from helping with booking activities in Cartagena, arranging buses to other cities and general questions about facilities. The hostel is in a really good location much nicer part of the old town than Getsemani. The hostel is really clean and the facilities are basic but nice.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Best place ever! I stayed there with my friend on our arrival in Cartagena and made a bunch of friends who we kept travelling with us. It's easy to make friends there and to join a group to go out. Staff is very friendly too. And they do respect silent hours (got kicked out of the patio for being too noisy 3am haha!) (again, in a friendly way!). At night there's a big chance you will be going out, the music and people around really set you in the mood!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability