HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 81%

Location 95%

Safety 85%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 81%

Location 95%

Safety 85%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

Showing 41-50 of 148 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff (more often than not) were very helpful and friendly. There were lots of people here so the atmosphere was good.

Disliked: It was always dirty and insects have taken over. We had one member of staff who was a little bit useless when trying to resolve an issue with two coked up Australian idiots. The manager could not be more apologetic though and made him apologise to us. It was very very noisy at night as our dorm was right next to the dorm and they turn off the AC for most of the day so there is nowhere to retreat when it gets too hot.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and pretty good value! Rooms are clean as was the bathroom, and they do litres of ice cold beer for a pretty good rate, which is nice, since it's stinking hot. Also the AC came on early and stayed on a little later than it should have, which was fantastic. The staff also asked us up front if we wanted to be close to the bar, or further away from it, which would be quieter.

Disliked: Internet is sketchy as, though they were having it repaired the last day we were there, so hopefully it's better now. Also, staff are hit and miss. You immediately identify the great ones because they try to help... the others will still be in the middle of their conversation with each other days after you leave without ever acknowledging your presence.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff muy amable, ubacación perfecta, cerca de las principales atracciones de la ciudad amurallada. estaba enferma y necesitaba cambiar a una habitacion privada, lo que me permitieron sin problemas. a quién prefiera un ambiente más tranquilo, recomendo el anexo del hostel, donde me quedé.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: nice place with a great location.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Wifi, lounge,

Disliked: Noisy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really nice people and great location , security and great location , there is always something to do, I will stay there as much as I can, cheap, clean and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really, everything was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere and communal areas.huge kitchen and areas to hang out. The staff had lots of good information and were really friendly. Rooms were bid and clean.

Disliked: Constructionfor their renovations starting at 6am every morning and going all day.it was extremely loud and woukd shake the bed, whichwas really painful after a big night. Dont stay here if you like your sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Had a great stay at the hostel, the courtyard on the back is a great hang out spot, to meet all the other travelers, and I like that they respect the rules of keeping everyone out after midnight so people can sleep early if they want. Internet was fast for Cartagena, and staff was helpful at all times.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Air conditioned rooms.

Disliked: Personally, nothing. But I have noted others complaining about the music being loud. This is the case everywhere. If you want quiet, best to not stay in a hostel. G

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location is great. It is inside the Historic District and it feels very safe at any time of the day. Staff are friendly and breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest to improve, is to leave the control for the air conditioning in every room. I didn't like having ot go to reception every time we wnted to modify the temperature.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability