We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

80.6% Overall Rating

233 out of 266 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2015)

"The rooms are clean and they have many employees to keep the hostel clean. People who are lodging there are all travellers so everyone is nice to each other."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 50,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
14.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.4% 3 reviews
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
32.03 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
9.61 USD

Hostel 87.3% 24 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
18.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Eden
64.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
11.21 USD

Hostel 88.1% 41 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
23.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
14.09 USD

Hostel 71.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

233 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
68.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 202 of 255 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cocktail girl

Disliked: crappy booking system, the cocktail girl

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioned dorms (though sometimes even a bit too cold...), great location, good internet, friendly staff...and nice having a private safe. Freaking hot bar lady...couldnt stop stearing at her... :)

Disliked: Their booking system is a big odd...took them forever to find my hostelbookers reservation. Also its much more expensive if you want to extend your stay at their reception - its about 3000 COP cheaper for the same bed if you book online. Freaking too hot bar lady...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VANIA GAQUIERE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 VANIA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - travelled the world and it definitely is in my top 3 of best hostels. Great atmosphere, set up, lots of socializing going on, nice staff and the list goes on and on!

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was good and in a really good central location, a really good vibe and nice people. Bfast ok if you like starting the day with marble cake. Bfast includes coffee, juice, sweet cereal, a random array of assorted bread and marble cake that goes alright!

Disliked: As per previous reviews we arrived to find that they didnt have our booking in their system, so we stayed in a 12 bed dorm and had a restless night of sleep with people in and out. The next morning they redeemed themselves and offered us a really nice private room for the rate of the 6 bed dorm. they were very apologetic too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a good location inside the lovely walled city, really nice bars and restaurants nearby. good showers, secure lockers.

Disliked: The reception staff were a shambles, and it takes an age to get anything sorted. Got woken up in the middle of the night to an argument because a bed was double booked. its expensive for a 12 bed dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: The staff were unfriendly, the internet was poor and the courtyard and bathrooms are stifling hot with no air circulating.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

aran pope

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012

Liked: On the plus side, this hostel is in a good location, is a good size and at first glance seems generally clean.

Disliked: The service and treatment from the staff was terrible. Me and my partner were thrown out on to the street after only 1 night of a booked 3 night stay, even though we had proof of our booking through hostelbookers! They initially offered us a replacement room, then 5 minutes later, retracted the offer saying they'd just given it to someone else, a double kick in the teeth, especially as we were there first and in light of our 3 night stay mail confirmation. They didn't even initially apologise either, they only apologised after they'd given our replacement room away which wasn't really much consolation. Even before then, we had to ask twice for someone to open our safe for us and turn on our air conditioning. We'll be there in ten minutes turned in to a complete no show. They didn't really seemed to care. The atmosphere was pretty flat too. Its a shame, as i had high hopes for this place. .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

andrew hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great atmosphere, great location, good beds

Disliked: Horrible, Horrible WIFI.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

amalia berastegui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 amalia would recommend this property

Liked: air con, the first hostel with breakfast includied in a while, security boxes in dorms.. cool showers... deff recomended

Disliked: it doesnt have a pool and its hot during the day, a little expensive

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: booked a 10 bed dorm, upon arrival they only had 8 bed dorm available and let me pay the extra amount which I found unfair.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Eder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: Internet connection is poor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Monteiro Sorghi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel.

Disliked: computer does not always works

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Griffith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012

Liked: The staff really were as friendly and as helpful as all of the other reviews say. Also, they keep the place clean, which is particularly impressive given the amount of partying going on.

Disliked: Staying at El Viajero was a mild form of torture for me. IF YOU WANT TO GO TO SLEEP BEFORE 1AM DO NOT STAY HERE! The courtyard which all of the rooms surround basically turns into a bar every night, with blasting live music and a drinks station set up. Great if you are looking to socialize with other backpackers, but if you aren't there is no way to escape it and/or go to bed at a reasonable hour. Its not just a party hostel - its a party hostel where the party happens literally 10 feet from every single bed in the place. If you've ever wondered what it would be like to live at a bar then this your chance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible and were eager to help answer questions and set up trips.

Disliked: A bit pricey for the basic accommodations (small room, shared shower)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and atmosphere. Great location.

Disliked: The rooms all opened on to an outdoor social area where people sit chatting early into the morning. Not great if you need sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmospfere. realy liked the patio where you can easily meet other people.

Disliked: the internet wasn´t working on the regular computers..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: party, good value

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was fantastic. It has all the facilities you need to have an enjoyable stay. The firm beds were a plus as well. The breakfast is good.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin May

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right near the old town, restaurants and cafes close by, two supermarkets within 5 minutes. The airconditioning at night is a godsend, and the evening activities were great!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean, very nice facilities, friendly & very helpful staff, a fun hostel

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alistair Carlson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Location was second to none!

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Zimmermann

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 November 2011 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Location within the old part of town is really nice and everything is in walking distance. Neighborhood is save (even at night due to many police officers stationed there).

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katherine Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the double rooms rather than the dorms and they were in a separate annex with separate door, key, living area, kitchen and free internet on computer. It was clean, tidy and cool.

Disliked: The cleaners didn't come all that often.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioner was great and definitely required in the heat. Location was good. Kitchen facilities were good with the supermarket very close by.

Disliked: The bar was just a wheel out desk that was brought outside in the evening, we were expecting an actual bar at the hostel. But really no dislikes