We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

82.2% Overall Rating

223 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

"good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
22.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
48.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
16.64 USD

Hostel 85.7% 19 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
78.07 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.20 USD

Hostel 88.0% 31 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
15.13 USD

Hostel 73.3% 15 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
20.49 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

223 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thiago Monteiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Rothschild

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The energy of this hostel is contageous. The staff of the hostel is the most fun loving group I've ever met. The lobby is always teeming with people. This hostel is definitely on my Top 10 list. Bravo!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Elder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels were stayed in. Really nice friendly people, nice kitchen, decent breakfast, air conditioned rooms, and really helpful travel advice from the staff. It was also safe and clean.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gerardo Sierra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: Good security and location. The room and the bathroom were pretty clean.

Disliked: The showers weren´t so clean. They didnt have AC in the common areas (not sure if others have it though)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marco chaves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 marco would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good athmosfhere to make lot of friends

Disliked: marco left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lusia Peçak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Lusia would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioning is necessary in Cartagebna, so that was wonderful!

Disliked: They can be a bit slow filling up the breakfast stuff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and clean, comfortable dorms with air-con

Disliked: Could get noisy and the dorm rooms are a bit pricey

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kerry McRae

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: Older facility better reflects culture of neighborhood but well kept and very clean.

Disliked: Crowded common areas, limited electrical sockets.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: very besic private rooms, now window to open, dark. Much to expensive.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: dorm rooms were very comfortable, plenty of space to store bags, air conditioned and comfortable beds. breakfast is a bonus - but very basic

Disliked: toilets need cleaning more regularly not much atmosphere staff do the bare minimum.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Lise Marmillod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012

Liked: Nice hostel, many advices (on paper) and we particularly liked to be in the separate part of the hostel (another building that they also use for private rooms), was very relaxed

Disliked: It is extremely expensive for what they propose, especially for the private rooms. You should look for a hostel which is right outside the ancient city (5 minutes walking no more) Also, we had an HI card and the price was higher then if you booked on hostelbookers which is completely nonsense

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lourdes Almada

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Lourdes would recommend this property

Liked: el lugar esta muy bien ubicado y sobretodo es un lindo ambiente y limpio!

Disliked: Lourdes left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice and clean. AC in every room!

Disliked: a little bit pricey, but that seems to be the norm in Cartagena

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice little "party hostel" in a more quiet part of Cartagena but only a short walk to good pubs and clubs. Awesome staff members, really helpful! lockers in the room, clean and safe!

Disliked: only 2 computers, beers and water are a bit expensive

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms were clean, the staff helpful, the showers were good (although standard Colombian luke warm at best), good security with big lockers under the bed and small safes with combinations for things like passports, the kitchen was big and had the basics

Disliked: Its was a bit pricey compared to the competition which we did move to after going to Playa Blanca (a must do by the way - stunning), and the place was pretty big and therefore a bit soulless with not much of an atmosphere although this can be due to the people there at the time, we left our bags in the luggage store and they had all been opened when we got back, luckily we had paid for 1 bed while we were away so we could use the lockers and we were glad we did

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean big hostel. AC in the dorm rooms.FREE BREAKFAST. Good WIFI. Cheap drinks. Nice building.

Disliked: It has more a hotel athmosphere than a hostel, it is very big! If you search something with a lot of character there are better options in the old center like Makako for example. The Staff is trange. Some guys very good and friendly, other very lazy. One girl from the reception is rude. If you ask something, she is to lazy to give you a good answer or help you anyway.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jorge Martires

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 June 2012 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and clean.

Disliked: Some people in the reception where not specially friendly, e.g. I was immediately accused to have booked only one bed, even though I had booked 2. I even wrote them an e-mail after reading the negative comments, just to make sure we had beds. Their booking system is very poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, lockers and safes to secure valuables, fun nightlife with friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast. And best of all, AC! No bathrooms in dorm room but never had a problem with shared bathrooms. Good hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cocktail girl

Disliked: crappy booking system, the cocktail girl

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioned dorms (though sometimes even a bit too cold...), great location, good internet, friendly staff...and nice having a private safe. Freaking hot bar lady...couldnt stop stearing at her... :)

Disliked: Their booking system is a big odd...took them forever to find my hostelbookers reservation. Also its much more expensive if you want to extend your stay at their reception - its about 3000 COP cheaper for the same bed if you book online. Freaking too hot bar lady...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VANIA GAQUIERE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 VANIA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - travelled the world and it definitely is in my top 3 of best hostels. Great atmosphere, set up, lots of socializing going on, nice staff and the list goes on and on!

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was good and in a really good central location, a really good vibe and nice people. Bfast ok if you like starting the day with marble cake. Bfast includes coffee, juice, sweet cereal, a random array of assorted bread and marble cake that goes alright!

Disliked: As per previous reviews we arrived to find that they didnt have our booking in their system, so we stayed in a 12 bed dorm and had a restless night of sleep with people in and out. The next morning they redeemed themselves and offered us a really nice private room for the rate of the 6 bed dorm. they were very apologetic too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a good location inside the lovely walled city, really nice bars and restaurants nearby. good showers, secure lockers.

Disliked: The reception staff were a shambles, and it takes an age to get anything sorted. Got woken up in the middle of the night to an argument because a bed was double booked. its expensive for a 12 bed dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: The staff were unfriendly, the internet was poor and the courtyard and bathrooms are stifling hot with no air circulating.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

aran pope

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012

Liked: On the plus side, this hostel is in a good location, is a good size and at first glance seems generally clean.

Disliked: The service and treatment from the staff was terrible. Me and my partner were thrown out on to the street after only 1 night of a booked 3 night stay, even though we had proof of our booking through hostelbookers! They initially offered us a replacement room, then 5 minutes later, retracted the offer saying they'd just given it to someone else, a double kick in the teeth, especially as we were there first and in light of our 3 night stay mail confirmation. They didn't even initially apologise either, they only apologised after they'd given our replacement room away which wasn't really much consolation. Even before then, we had to ask twice for someone to open our safe for us and turn on our air conditioning. We'll be there in ten minutes turned in to a complete no show. They didn't really seemed to care. The atmosphere was pretty flat too. Its a shame, as i had high hopes for this place. .