HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 73%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 73%

Value 79%

Showing 31-40 of 50 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice patio with rooms and clean showers, great and relaxing atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fun and friends

Disliked: Hard to sleep

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: All our crew had a great time. We partied with the staff on Saturday night. We met loads of other people from lots of countries. Not a ghost town by an means this place was buzzing. The location inside the old city was outstanding.

Disliked: Other guests did have some fumigation issues that caused there rooms to smell. This was not a problem in our room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good hostel. Great location, clean, safe, helpful staff. Computers were good and wi-fi coverage was throughout the hostel.

Disliked: Big hostel with spread out common areas made it a little hard to mingle. Though wi-fi coverage was good around the hostel, speed wasn't great. Some of the showers didn't lock.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pros - Solid breakfast (toast, jam, coffee, fresh fruit, cereal), good beds, friendly staff, excellent location, air conditioner in the rooms, good shower pressure (cold showers but that was preferable in the heat)

Disliked: Cons - Wifi was not the best

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well organized, big dorm rooms with lockers under the beds so everything was tucked away. Plenty of showers and bathrooms.

Disliked: It's a very large hostel with very few 'sight-seers, mostly young partiers. I'm sure they liked it a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything, this is one of the best hostels ive sever stayed in. Clean good atmosphere, being in the old city it is gorgeous colonial property. AAA

Disliked: cold showers

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff (more often than not) were very helpful and friendly. There were lots of people here so the atmosphere was good.

Disliked: It was always dirty and insects have taken over. We had one member of staff who was a little bit useless when trying to resolve an issue with two coked up Australian idiots. The manager could not be more apologetic though and made him apologise to us. It was very very noisy at night as our dorm was right next to the dorm and they turn off the AC for most of the day so there is nowhere to retreat when it gets too hot.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and pretty good value! Rooms are clean as was the bathroom, and they do litres of ice cold beer for a pretty good rate, which is nice, since it's stinking hot. Also the AC came on early and stayed on a little later than it should have, which was fantastic. The staff also asked us up front if we wanted to be close to the bar, or further away from it, which would be quieter.

Disliked: Internet is sketchy as, though they were having it repaired the last day we were there, so hopefully it's better now. Also, staff are hit and miss. You immediately identify the great ones because they try to help... the others will still be in the middle of their conversation with each other days after you leave without ever acknowledging your presence.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff muy amable, ubacación perfecta, cerca de las principales atracciones de la ciudad amurallada. estaba enferma y necesitaba cambiar a una habitacion privada, lo que me permitieron sin problemas. a quién prefiera un ambiente más tranquilo, recomendo el anexo del hostel, donde me quedé.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability