HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 78%

Value 76%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 78%

Value 76%

Showing 31-40 of 151 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is ideal

Disliked: The staff treated me and the other guests within my dorm like animals - within regards to the use of air conditioning !!! Very poor mannered indeed!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, great set-up for socialising. Quiet in public areas after 12 but allow you to keep drinking in the reception area.

Disliked: Some of the shower doors dont have latches so they dont get used - a little bit of maintenance would effectively add another few showers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Smack in the middle of the walled city, breakkie, activities, bar in premises, hammocks, a lil kitty

Disliked: the paint was peeling and had a weird smell in my parents private room but the other rooms seem ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Iv'e not got a bad word to say about this place. Iv'e been in Cartagena for just over three weeks and have been living in a pre-arranged apartment for the best part of two of those weeks. The week preceding my moving into the apartment was spent happily in El Viajero meeting people and getting involved with the various tours that are on offer. Without doubt, the staff are what makes this place - nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere they create rubs off on everyone that passes through the doors. Iv'e popped my head in every couple of days and the guys there still treat me as a guest and allow me to use their WIFI and bar as if I were still staying there.Would definitely recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great small lock box in the room. Good outdoor gathering space. Internet good.

Disliked: 2 staff members were less than helpful. Fringing on rude. Breakfast is cheap and not filling. No adaquate sink/bucket for washing clothes.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great courtyard, very easy to met people and party.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice patio with rooms and clean showers, great and relaxing atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fun and friends

Disliked: Hard to sleep

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: All our crew had a great time. We partied with the staff on Saturday night. We met loads of other people from lots of countries. Not a ghost town by an means this place was buzzing. The location inside the old city was outstanding.

Disliked: Other guests did have some fumigation issues that caused there rooms to smell. This was not a problem in our room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good hostel. Great location, clean, safe, helpful staff. Computers were good and wi-fi coverage was throughout the hostel.

Disliked: Big hostel with spread out common areas made it a little hard to mingle. Though wi-fi coverage was good around the hostel, speed wasn't great. Some of the showers didn't lock.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability