HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 74%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 74%

Value 79%

Showing 21-30 of 42 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Big hostel, chilled. When the AC works from 6pm in the rooms it's great.

Disliked: Always dirty showers, most staff are rude and lazy. Everything seems effort to do for them or answer. I'm not sure if It's their natural tone or if they don't mean to but often they come across as rude even if not indented. I think it's overpriced and there is not a vibe. I hoped for a party atmosphere staying at the weekend. It was pretty dry with no atmosphere. It's not a party hostel for sure. Also had to wait one day to get a pillow sheet and wasn't impressed at having to put our own sheets on the bed especially when this is one of the most costly hostels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Only stayed one night so didn't really get to know the place. Appreciate free breakfast, good wifi, good common areas, seemed to be a lot happening.

Disliked: Would have been nice with another cereal option, not just the sugar coated ones but not really a complaint since it's included.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Private rooms were in a separate quiet building across the street. Mine was the largest I think and with ahuge window ooverlooking the street. Very close to the sights and also one of the more quiet beaches.

Disliked: Everything was satisfactory

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The best place to stay in Cartagena

Disliked: They should have maps and tourist info.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, strong aircon in the rooms was appreciated! Safes in the rooms are a great idea. There was a good breakfast too and overall a nice chilled atmosphere!

Disliked: The staff could have been a lot more helpful. Its also cheaper to book the hostelOnline than it is to book at the desk. Given that it's quite expensive you want to get the best deal that you can so this makes a bit of an unnecessary chore out of extending your stay!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cool place. Price is a bit higher than the rest of Colombian places but I guess that this is Cartagena.

Disliked: Would have been nice if the where electricity sockets near each bed and not just two for the whole dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is ideal

Disliked: The staff treated me and the other guests within my dorm like animals - within regards to the use of air conditioning !!! Very poor mannered indeed!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, great set-up for socialising. Quiet in public areas after 12 but allow you to keep drinking in the reception area.

Disliked: Some of the shower doors dont have latches so they dont get used - a little bit of maintenance would effectively add another few showers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Smack in the middle of the walled city, breakkie, activities, bar in premises, hammocks, a lil kitty

Disliked: the paint was peeling and had a weird smell in my parents private room but the other rooms seem ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Iv'e not got a bad word to say about this place. Iv'e been in Cartagena for just over three weeks and have been living in a pre-arranged apartment for the best part of two of those weeks. The week preceding my moving into the apartment was spent happily in El Viajero meeting people and getting involved with the various tours that are on offer. Without doubt, the staff are what makes this place - nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere they create rubs off on everyone that passes through the doors. Iv'e popped my head in every couple of days and the guys there still treat me as a guest and allow me to use their WIFI and bar as if I were still staying there.Would definitely recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability