HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

82.2% Overall Rating

223 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

"good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
22.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
48.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
16.64 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
78.07 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.20 USD

Hostel 87.8% 30 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
13.17 USD

Hostel 73.3% 15 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
20.49 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

223 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shigehiko Haruna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Shigehiko would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are very helpful and friendly. I liked bar at hostel.

Disliked: Sometimes, they don't respond or help because they are doing something. Especially, they don't sell beer in hostel because they are cleaning linens.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were upbeat and helpful.

Disliked: The 12 bed dorm was very crowded. Moved to a 6 bed dorm the next night and liked that a lot better. Also when I first arrived there were dirty sheets on my bed. A bit of a turn off.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and pretty good vibe. Daily clean in the rooms.

Disliked: The wifi was really unreliable and the staff didn't really seem to care or know how to fix it. There was no wifi in the rooms even though there were signs saying there was. At check in the staff didn't tell me where to get sheets or a towel, explain about breakfast or the bar, just pointed the direction to the room and that was it.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2013

Liked: Location not too bad

Disliked: Very unfriendly staff and impossible to sleep before 3-4 am because the noise in the patio

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Martin Levi

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen Hostel!!!!! toda la onda!!

Disliked: Mucho ruido a la noche si queres dormir pero a las 12 corta

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

MARTIN ANDRES LEVI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2013 MARTIN ANDRES would recommend this property

Liked: Its a perfect place to enojy cartagena, the staff is awsome, the rooms are nice. Its recommenden for young people.

Disliked: You cant realy rest because its always party until 12 PM, but who cares :D

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Sotelo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Uno de los mejores hostels de Colombia, excelente ubicación, dentro de la ciudad vieja, muy amplio y cómodo y un gran desayuno. Muy recomendable.

Disliked: Pocos baños para la cantidad de gente que alberga. La cocina y sus utensilios también quedan un poco chicos.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013

Liked: Great location in the old part of Cartegena, plus nice air conditioning at night for sleeping.

Disliked: VERY noisy, lot of partying right outside the rooms till gone midnight. Staff were rather surly and unfriendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bartnik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, one of the best we stayed in over a 4 month South America trip. Great location and layout, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Grundy

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff!

Disliked: was a bit pricy, and had a lot of problems with extending my stay due to it being the high season. its a popular place so its best to book in advance if your going at christmas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a nice property.

Disliked: One of the ladies at the counter had an attitude and wasn't very friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are lot of bathrooms & showers! I hung at the chill hostel a lot I really like the feel of that place better but not a lot of bathroom there.

Disliked: It's big people are spread out so not as easy to meet people for someone traveling alone. A lot of time when people are in the common area they are all on there phone or computer.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012

Liked: The location of the hostel is great! It's a walking distance to supermarket, restaurants, bars, all you need.

Disliked: This is the hostel with the rudest staff I have ever met. These people behave like they pay you to work there, not like it's their job. I rarely got a smile from anyone (except the cleaning ladies which were very nice). Once I asked for earlier breakfast (it was 7 people from the hostel going on an early tour), just coffee and cereal, 4 people promised me to have breakfast at 7am. In the morning, there was nothing, no even coffee prepared. When I asked if someone will help us, both staff members (while chatting on facebook and not even bothering to look me in the eyes while talking to me) said sure, and no one even moved in the next 15 minutes. We left with no coffee or breakfast. I've asked the staff to turn down the music because I am on skype or sleeping, and they wouldn't do it. The internet in the rooms doesn't work, even though there are 3 connections available (none of them working most of the time). The hostel is very, very overpriced! I met people who stayed in hostels 2/3 of the price of El Viajero with better facilities and much better attitude from the stuff. I have stayed in El Viajero in Paraguay, it was great! I am very disappointed by the El Viajero in Cartagena.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: professional hostel

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paul Steen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel offers a very basic breakfeast of bread and jam, and there is air con in the rooms. Most hostels in Cartagena don't have these features.

Disliked: There is a tabled area to eat, a tv room to sit in and a recieption there is no outside area or general communal area apart from the lane between each block of dorms, which must be quiet for the guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Smera Kazmi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Smera would recommend this property

Liked: Property is set in a great location. The showers didnt seem cold enough as in Cartagena it is very humid and hot.

Disliked: Smera left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TIAGO GUERRA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

02 December 2012 TIAGO would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lots of suggestions for travelers within the hostel, environment

Disliked: TIAGO left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. The atmosphere was great, and the female staff member at the desk was lovely (not so much the guys). Great location too. The aircon in the room was perfect, keeping it really cool inside.

Disliked: The wifi was down for 2 days while I was there, and so too were their computers. One of the guys at the front desk over charged me 8000 pesos for the shuttle, which I didnt have time to argue because the shuttle arrived as I paid. This same guy was impatient with non-spanish speakers and slightly unfriendly

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

charlini yogeswaran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 charlini would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms was located in a seperate building away from the hubub and noise of the main hostel. Staff were generally quite helpful. Free and good internet facilities.

Disliked: Breakfast only starts at 8am which is a little late. Also hostel could be a little cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the open floor plan, it made for a very socialable experience. The entire hostal was always very clean, even though the fridge could use a deep cleaning. The staff were very helpful and they offer lots of tours/services.

Disliked: I stayed during a very busy party weekend, so it was a little noisy. Definitely a place to meet and party with other travelers- not for the person who wants peace and quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, friendly

Disliked: too many travellers. this is a really big hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2012 mark would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, nice aircon, nice location

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Phil Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and comfortable. Plenty of toilets and showers. Kitchen is well-stocked and hostel is close to the supermarket. Air-con in the dorm rooms is a bonus.

Disliked: Alcohol on sale there was overpriced and they wouldn't let you bring your own in. Breakfast was very basic. Internet had its ups and downs. Their surcharge on bus tickets is ridiculous - get them at the bus station before you catch your bus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stefan Michaelis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012

Liked: the staff our nice (except for whichever one stole money from the locked secuirty box)

Disliked: This hostel provides hotel style safety boxes with a security code that you enter. The staff have a master key that can open these boxes. I had 100$ stolen from a money belt inside one of their safety boxes. Small denomination bills were left while the 100 dollar bill was stolen. DO NOT LEAVE VALUABLES IN THEIR SAFETY BOXES. Its more secure to place valuable in the lockers you can secure with your own lock.