HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

85.1% Overall Rating

217 out of 247 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Michael Awabdeh thinks…

"Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 27.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
24.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
54.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Real
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Eden
86.48 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.51 USD

Hostel 89.5% 25 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
40.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 12 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
22.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

217 out of 247 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 236 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013

Liked: Great location in the old part of Cartegena, plus nice air conditioning at night for sleeping.

Disliked: VERY noisy, lot of partying right outside the rooms till gone midnight. Staff were rather surly and unfriendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bartnik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, one of the best we stayed in over a 4 month South America trip. Great location and layout, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Grundy

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff!

Disliked: was a bit pricy, and had a lot of problems with extending my stay due to it being the high season. its a popular place so its best to book in advance if your going at christmas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a nice property.

Disliked: One of the ladies at the counter had an attitude and wasn't very friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are lot of bathrooms & showers! I hung at the chill hostel a lot I really like the feel of that place better but not a lot of bathroom there.

Disliked: It's big people are spread out so not as easy to meet people for someone traveling alone. A lot of time when people are in the common area they are all on there phone or computer.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012

Liked: The location of the hostel is great! It's a walking distance to supermarket, restaurants, bars, all you need.

Disliked: This is the hostel with the rudest staff I have ever met. These people behave like they pay you to work there, not like it's their job. I rarely got a smile from anyone (except the cleaning ladies which were very nice). Once I asked for earlier breakfast (it was 7 people from the hostel going on an early tour), just coffee and cereal, 4 people promised me to have breakfast at 7am. In the morning, there was nothing, no even coffee prepared. When I asked if someone will help us, both staff members (while chatting on facebook and not even bothering to look me in the eyes while talking to me) said sure, and no one even moved in the next 15 minutes. We left with no coffee or breakfast. I've asked the staff to turn down the music because I am on skype or sleeping, and they wouldn't do it. The internet in the rooms doesn't work, even though there are 3 connections available (none of them working most of the time). The hostel is very, very overpriced! I met people who stayed in hostels 2/3 of the price of El Viajero with better facilities and much better attitude from the stuff. I have stayed in El Viajero in Paraguay, it was great! I am very disappointed by the El Viajero in Cartagena.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: professional hostel

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paul Steen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel offers a very basic breakfeast of bread and jam, and there is air con in the rooms. Most hostels in Cartagena don't have these features.

Disliked: There is a tabled area to eat, a tv room to sit in and a recieption there is no outside area or general communal area apart from the lane between each block of dorms, which must be quiet for the guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Smera Kazmi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Smera would recommend this property

Liked: Property is set in a great location. The showers didnt seem cold enough as in Cartagena it is very humid and hot.

Disliked: Smera left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TIAGO GUERRA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

02 December 2012 TIAGO would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lots of suggestions for travelers within the hostel, environment

Disliked: TIAGO left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. The atmosphere was great, and the female staff member at the desk was lovely (not so much the guys). Great location too. The aircon in the room was perfect, keeping it really cool inside.

Disliked: The wifi was down for 2 days while I was there, and so too were their computers. One of the guys at the front desk over charged me 8000 pesos for the shuttle, which I didnt have time to argue because the shuttle arrived as I paid. This same guy was impatient with non-spanish speakers and slightly unfriendly

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

charlini yogeswaran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 charlini would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms was located in a seperate building away from the hubub and noise of the main hostel. Staff were generally quite helpful. Free and good internet facilities.

Disliked: Breakfast only starts at 8am which is a little late. Also hostel could be a little cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the open floor plan, it made for a very socialable experience. The entire hostal was always very clean, even though the fridge could use a deep cleaning. The staff were very helpful and they offer lots of tours/services.

Disliked: I stayed during a very busy party weekend, so it was a little noisy. Definitely a place to meet and party with other travelers- not for the person who wants peace and quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, friendly

Disliked: too many travellers. this is a really big hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2012 mark would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, nice aircon, nice location

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Phil Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and comfortable. Plenty of toilets and showers. Kitchen is well-stocked and hostel is close to the supermarket. Air-con in the dorm rooms is a bonus.

Disliked: Alcohol on sale there was overpriced and they wouldn't let you bring your own in. Breakfast was very basic. Internet had its ups and downs. Their surcharge on bus tickets is ridiculous - get them at the bus station before you catch your bus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stefan Michaelis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012

Liked: the staff our nice (except for whichever one stole money from the locked secuirty box)

Disliked: This hostel provides hotel style safety boxes with a security code that you enter. The staff have a master key that can open these boxes. I had 100$ stolen from a money belt inside one of their safety boxes. Small denomination bills were left while the 100 dollar bill was stolen. DO NOT LEAVE VALUABLES IN THEIR SAFETY BOXES. Its more secure to place valuable in the lockers you can secure with your own lock.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thiago Monteiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Rothschild

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The energy of this hostel is contageous. The staff of the hostel is the most fun loving group I've ever met. The lobby is always teeming with people. This hostel is definitely on my Top 10 list. Bravo!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Elder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels were stayed in. Really nice friendly people, nice kitchen, decent breakfast, air conditioned rooms, and really helpful travel advice from the staff. It was also safe and clean.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gerardo Sierra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: Good security and location. The room and the bathroom were pretty clean.

Disliked: The showers weren´t so clean. They didnt have AC in the common areas (not sure if others have it though)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marco chaves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 marco would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good athmosfhere to make lot of friends

Disliked: marco left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lusia Peçak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Lusia would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioning is necessary in Cartagebna, so that was wonderful!

Disliked: They can be a bit slow filling up the breakfast stuff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and clean, comfortable dorms with air-con

Disliked: Could get noisy and the dorm rooms are a bit pricey