HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 74%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 74%

Value 79%

Showing 11-20 of 41 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Good location, breakfast includedgood bar in the house

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work very well inside the roomsRooms without key to lock the door, and anyone can get into the hoste. During the day the reception doesn't check the people coming in. Happily, I've not heard about robery in the hostel. the tours offered in the hostel are overpriced

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a large hostel with plenty of common areas to hang out in and an average breakfast. The air con in the room was great when it was on. Rooms and bathrooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: It was unbearably hot all over the hostel during the day. Staff were very average, most weren't friendly or helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location in the old town near to good restaurants.

Disliked: Lack of toilets and showers, and poor staff (especially during the day). The staff were rude, unhelpful and slothful. They hardly ever got off their lardy arses (it was day three that I realised there was a cinema area!) and spent most of the time gossiping and watching TV; I felt I was intruding on their private party whenever I asked them anything. There was no welcome, just an abrupt here you are, there you go, dorm is through there up the yard. Also, the dorm was dirty. I later looked into other hostels that were a) livelier, b) happier, and c) cheaper (albeit they were located in a more seedy part of town, Getsemani).

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved.

Disliked: a little loud, but the place is really big, so that's to be expected. I'll be damned if i'll wear a wristband- find a better security measure.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There is a laid back atmosphere with plenty of communal spaces. It was a also great having the AIr-con in the rooms during the night and until 11am.

Disliked: The staff are not as helpful as in other places - probably because it´s quite big.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I cant recommend this place enough. Good consistent wifi. Air conditioning in all rooms. Amazing central location in a charming city. Complementary, light, breakfast in the morning...hotspot vibe at night. Great parties and socializing. Alex Z. and the staff took well care of me. Keep in mind this is a hostel, not hotel. Dont assume, or expect too much...eventhough this place does deliver. Every one I met had a great stay, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for hostel in Cartagena.

Disliked: The only thing this place needs is a pool....that would just be perfect...maybe too perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: El staff muy amigable y atento, la locación es lo mas céntrica posible.

Disliked: Desde cierta hora solo se enciende el aire :(

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, comfy matresses, excellent social areas and bar.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is in a nice area.

Disliked: Staff was impersonal and the ambiance was far too noisy, far too late. Overall gave off the feeling of me being just another asshole in town for a day, gone the next, let's try and see how much of our services we can jam down their throat. The layout of the place makes it way too noisy at night. It's too expensive for what it is. The overall high rating of the place is misleading,

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability