We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

82.2% Overall Rating

223 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

"good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved."

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
22.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
48.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
16.64 USD

Hostel 85.7% 19 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
78.07 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.20 USD

Hostel 88.0% 31 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
15.13 USD

Hostel 73.3% 15 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
20.49 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

223 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Merner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Pros - Solid breakfast (toast, jam, coffee, fresh fruit, cereal), good beds, friendly staff, excellent location, air conditioner in the rooms, good shower pressure (cold showers but that was preferable in the heat)

Disliked: Cons - Wifi was not the best

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carol Kiecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Well organized, big dorm rooms with lockers under the beds so everything was tucked away. Plenty of showers and bathrooms.

Disliked: It's a very large hostel with very few 'sight-seers, mostly young partiers. I'm sure they liked it a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohammed Qasimali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, this is one of the best hostels ive sever stayed in. Clean good atmosphere, being in the old city it is gorgeous colonial property. AAA

Disliked: cold showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff (more often than not) were very helpful and friendly. There were lots of people here so the atmosphere was good.

Disliked: It was always dirty and insects have taken over. We had one member of staff who was a little bit useless when trying to resolve an issue with two coked up Australian idiots. The manager could not be more apologetic though and made him apologise to us. It was very very noisy at night as our dorm was right next to the dorm and they turn off the AC for most of the day so there is nowhere to retreat when it gets too hot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and pretty good value! Rooms are clean as was the bathroom, and they do litres of ice cold beer for a pretty good rate, which is nice, since it's stinking hot. Also the AC came on early and stayed on a little later than it should have, which was fantastic. The staff also asked us up front if we wanted to be close to the bar, or further away from it, which would be quieter.

Disliked: Internet is sketchy as, though they were having it repaired the last day we were there, so hopefully it's better now. Also, staff are hit and miss. You immediately identify the great ones because they try to help... the others will still be in the middle of their conversation with each other days after you leave without ever acknowledging your presence.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Ribeiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff muy amable, ubacación perfecta, cerca de las principales atracciones de la ciudad amurallada. estaba enferma y necesitaba cambiar a una habitacion privada, lo que me permitieron sin problemas. a quién prefiera un ambiente más tranquilo, recomendo el anexo del hostel, donde me quedé.

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place with a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, lounge,

Disliked: Noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice people and great location , security and great location , there is always something to do, I will stay there as much as I can, cheap, clean and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really, everything was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and communal areas.huge kitchen and areas to hang out. The staff had lots of good information and were really friendly. Rooms were bid and clean.

Disliked: Constructionfor their renovations starting at 6am every morning and going all day.it was extremely loud and woukd shake the bed, whichwas really painful after a big night. Dont stay here if you like your sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2013 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at the hostel, the courtyard on the back is a great hang out spot, to meet all the other travelers, and I like that they respect the rules of keeping everyone out after midnight so people can sleep early if they want. Internet was fast for Cartagena, and staff was helpful at all times.

Disliked: Alberto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Air conditioned rooms.

Disliked: Personally, nothing. But I have noted others complaining about the music being loud. This is the case everywhere. If you want quiet, best to not stay in a hostel. G

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. It is inside the Historic District and it feels very safe at any time of the day. Staff are friendly and breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest to improve, is to leave the control for the air conditioning in every room. I didn't like having ot go to reception every time we wnted to modify the temperature.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cheyenne Byng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Cheyenne would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, central to downtown Cartagena. Bathrooms clean.

Disliked: Although it was wicked that they had aircon, it was blasted so cold and with only a sheet I had problems sleeping. We did ask the staff to turn the air con to a less cold temp. but the system seemed to re adjust to the cold temp. I didnt ask for a blanket so really more of an peice of advice to make sure you do or bring warmer clothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good one, party hostel!! Nice people

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alena Ruprecht

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Alena would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a double in the annex building and it was wonderfully quiet there. The room was nice with TV, AC and fans.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit sparse.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alex Graham

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2013

Liked: Air conditioning in Cartagena is a must and the rooms here are very cool. There is a nice terrace outside the rooms.

Disliked: The staff were pretty useless and were more concerned with painting their nails. When they are attentive they are trying to hawk overpriced tours to you. Also for the cost (30k pesos) you would expect a towel to be offered (like most places in Colombia), but it is not, so you have to shell out 5k for a moth eaten hand towell... It just seemed like one of those juggernaut hostels that seem to pride themselves on the fact you can go through South America staying in their sterile, overpriced lodgings and never actually experience the real culture of the countries you are in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently situated

Disliked: sometimes noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location

Disliked: can be loud at night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Paniagua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is amazing. I came as a solo traveller and got friends and plans for every day of my stay. The location is also amazing in the heart of the walled city

Disliked: It's very noisy, so getting a good night sleep is hard, unless you nap when everyone is out...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vivek Battu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Vivek would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and location. There is a kitchen (albeit basic)

Disliked: Dorms all face into courtyard where loud music plays until late, so not ideal if you're looking for a good night's sleep. No bar/recreation area as such so difficult to meet people if travelling alone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at El Viajero are really helpful from helping with booking activities in Cartagena, arranging buses to other cities and general questions about facilities. The hostel is in a really good location much nicer part of the old town than Getsemani. The hostel is really clean and the facilities are basic but nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Bravo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 April 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Best place ever! I stayed there with my friend on our arrival in Cartagena and made a bunch of friends who we kept travelling with us. It's easy to make friends there and to join a group to go out. Staff is very friendly too. And they do respect silent hours (got kicked out of the patio for being too noisy 3am haha!) (again, in a friendly way!). At night there's a big chance you will be going out, the music and people around really set you in the mood!

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

agustin orso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff was just unhelpful and did not care about anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff!!!!!!!! Soooo friendly

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect!!!