HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 97%

Safety 86%

Staff 72%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 50,000.00USD

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking and we require 5 nights stay minimum*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 97%

Safety 86%

Staff 72%

Value 78%

Showing 11-20 of 53 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: good staff (thanks alex), overall no problems. great resident kitten. thanks to all involved.

Disliked: a little loud, but the place is really big, so that's to be expected. I'll be damned if i'll wear a wristband- find a better security measure.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There is a laid back atmosphere with plenty of communal spaces. It was a also great having the AIr-con in the rooms during the night and until 11am.

Disliked: The staff are not as helpful as in other places - probably because it´s quite big.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I cant recommend this place enough. Good consistent wifi. Air conditioning in all rooms. Amazing central location in a charming city. Complementary, light, breakfast in the morning...hotspot vibe at night. Great parties and socializing. Alex Z. and the staff took well care of me. Keep in mind this is a hostel, not hotel. Dont assume, or expect too much...eventhough this place does deliver. Every one I met had a great stay, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for hostel in Cartagena.

Disliked: The only thing this place needs is a pool....that would just be perfect...maybe too perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: El staff muy amigable y atento, la locación es lo mas céntrica posible.

Disliked: Desde cierta hora solo se enciende el aire :(

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, comfy matresses, excellent social areas and bar.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is in a nice area.

Disliked: Staff was impersonal and the ambiance was far too noisy, far too late. Overall gave off the feeling of me being just another asshole in town for a day, gone the next, let's try and see how much of our services we can jam down their throat. The layout of the place makes it way too noisy at night. It's too expensive for what it is. The overall high rating of the place is misleading,

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is good for area and walking distance to main attractions and activities. Staff is friendly and helpful with rooms having AC is a bonus.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Big hostel, chilled. When the AC works from 6pm in the rooms it's great.

Disliked: Always dirty showers, most staff are rude and lazy. Everything seems effort to do for them or answer. I'm not sure if It's their natural tone or if they don't mean to but often they come across as rude even if not indented. I think it's overpriced and there is not a vibe. I hoped for a party atmosphere staying at the weekend. It was pretty dry with no atmosphere. It's not a party hostel for sure. Also had to wait one day to get a pillow sheet and wasn't impressed at having to put our own sheets on the bed especially when this is one of the most costly hostels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Only stayed one night so didn't really get to know the place. Appreciate free breakfast, good wifi, good common areas, seemed to be a lot happening.

Disliked: Would have been nice with another cereal option, not just the sugar coated ones but not really a complaint since it's included.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Private rooms were in a separate quiet building across the street. Mine was the largest I think and with ahuge window ooverlooking the street. Very close to the sights and also one of the more quiet beaches.

Disliked: Everything was satisfactory

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability