HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Hostel | Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia -

86.4% Overall Rating

220 out of 250 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"I cant recommend this place enough. Good consistent wifi. Air conditioning in all rooms. Amazing central location in a charming city. Complementary, light, breakfast in the morning...hotspot vibe at night. Great parties…"

Read all El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 26.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. Because the highest season in town is new year´s eve in Cartagena, we need to make sure that all the booking made for this period will show up and won´t limit others backpackers to visit and enjoy this special occasion with us while others make reservations and make no show with us. Due to this big event our policy for this period is. *Please note: between the 28th December and 1st of January 2015 all no-shows will be charged for the entire booking*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
24.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
53.02 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
18.08 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
84.84 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.26 USD

Hostel 87.8% 28 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
39.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
14.32 USD

Hostel 71.0% 12 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
22.27 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

220 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Cartagena Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 239 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and pretty good value! Rooms are clean as was the bathroom, and they do litres of ice cold beer for a pretty good rate, which is nice, since it's stinking hot. Also the AC came on early and stayed on a little later than it should have, which was fantastic. The staff also asked us up front if we wanted to be close to the bar, or further away from it, which would be quieter.

Disliked: Internet is sketchy as, though they were having it repaired the last day we were there, so hopefully it's better now. Also, staff are hit and miss. You immediately identify the great ones because they try to help... the others will still be in the middle of their conversation with each other days after you leave without ever acknowledging your presence.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Ribeiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff muy amable, ubacación perfecta, cerca de las principales atracciones de la ciudad amurallada. estaba enferma y necesitaba cambiar a una habitacion privada, lo que me permitieron sin problemas. a quién prefiera un ambiente más tranquilo, recomendo el anexo del hostel, donde me quedé.

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place with a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, lounge,

Disliked: Noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice people and great location , security and great location , there is always something to do, I will stay there as much as I can, cheap, clean and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really, everything was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and communal areas.huge kitchen and areas to hang out. The staff had lots of good information and were really friendly. Rooms were bid and clean.

Disliked: Constructionfor their renovations starting at 6am every morning and going all day.it was extremely loud and woukd shake the bed, whichwas really painful after a big night. Dont stay here if you like your sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2013 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at the hostel, the courtyard on the back is a great hang out spot, to meet all the other travelers, and I like that they respect the rules of keeping everyone out after midnight so people can sleep early if they want. Internet was fast for Cartagena, and staff was helpful at all times.

Disliked: Alberto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Air conditioned rooms.

Disliked: Personally, nothing. But I have noted others complaining about the music being loud. This is the case everywhere. If you want quiet, best to not stay in a hostel. G

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. It is inside the Historic District and it feels very safe at any time of the day. Staff are friendly and breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest to improve, is to leave the control for the air conditioning in every room. I didn't like having ot go to reception every time we wnted to modify the temperature.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cheyenne Byng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Cheyenne would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, central to downtown Cartagena. Bathrooms clean.

Disliked: Although it was wicked that they had aircon, it was blasted so cold and with only a sheet I had problems sleeping. We did ask the staff to turn the air con to a less cold temp. but the system seemed to re adjust to the cold temp. I didnt ask for a blanket so really more of an peice of advice to make sure you do or bring warmer clothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good one, party hostel!! Nice people

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alena Ruprecht

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Alena would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a double in the annex building and it was wonderfully quiet there. The room was nice with TV, AC and fans.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit sparse.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alex Graham

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2013

Liked: Air conditioning in Cartagena is a must and the rooms here are very cool. There is a nice terrace outside the rooms.

Disliked: The staff were pretty useless and were more concerned with painting their nails. When they are attentive they are trying to hawk overpriced tours to you. Also for the cost (30k pesos) you would expect a towel to be offered (like most places in Colombia), but it is not, so you have to shell out 5k for a moth eaten hand towell... It just seemed like one of those juggernaut hostels that seem to pride themselves on the fact you can go through South America staying in their sterile, overpriced lodgings and never actually experience the real culture of the countries you are in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently situated

Disliked: sometimes noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location

Disliked: can be loud at night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Paniagua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is amazing. I came as a solo traveller and got friends and plans for every day of my stay. The location is also amazing in the heart of the walled city

Disliked: It's very noisy, so getting a good night sleep is hard, unless you nap when everyone is out...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vivek Battu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Vivek would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and location. There is a kitchen (albeit basic)

Disliked: Dorms all face into courtyard where loud music plays until late, so not ideal if you're looking for a good night's sleep. No bar/recreation area as such so difficult to meet people if travelling alone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at El Viajero are really helpful from helping with booking activities in Cartagena, arranging buses to other cities and general questions about facilities. The hostel is in a really good location much nicer part of the old town than Getsemani. The hostel is really clean and the facilities are basic but nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Bravo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 April 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Best place ever! I stayed there with my friend on our arrival in Cartagena and made a bunch of friends who we kept travelling with us. It's easy to make friends there and to join a group to go out. Staff is very friendly too. And they do respect silent hours (got kicked out of the patio for being too noisy 3am haha!) (again, in a friendly way!). At night there's a big chance you will be going out, the music and people around really set you in the mood!

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

agustin orso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff was just unhelpful and did not care about anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff!!!!!!!! Soooo friendly

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shigehiko Haruna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Shigehiko would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are very helpful and friendly. I liked bar at hostel.

Disliked: Sometimes, they don't respond or help because they are doing something. Especially, they don't sell beer in hostel because they are cleaning linens.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were upbeat and helpful.

Disliked: The 12 bed dorm was very crowded. Moved to a 6 bed dorm the next night and liked that a lot better. Also when I first arrived there were dirty sheets on my bed. A bit of a turn off.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and pretty good vibe. Daily clean in the rooms.

Disliked: The wifi was really unreliable and the staff didn't really seem to care or know how to fix it. There was no wifi in the rooms even though there were signs saying there was. At check in the staff didn't tell me where to get sheets or a towel, explain about breakfast or the bar, just pointed the direction to the room and that was it.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2013

Liked: Location not too bad

Disliked: Very unfriendly staff and impossible to sleep before 3-4 am because the noise in the patio