HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlin Hostel

Hostel | CALLE DE LA MEDIA LUNA , Calle 35 No 10 - 35, GETSEMANI Cartagena, Colombia 130008

68.9% Overall Rating

15 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2013)

James Orpin thinks…

"Fairly good location, although there are many better hostels for the same price or less in the same location."

Read all Marlin Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hostal la casona de getsemani
21.73 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
12.93 USD

Hostel 89.7% 23 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
38.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Media Luna Hostel
15.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 8 reviews
Papaya Hostel Getsemani
18.11 USD

Hostel 87.1% 8 reviews
Hotel Santa Cruz Cartagena
23.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
12.93 USD

Hostel 90.1% 231 reviews
Apartamento Santo Toribo
507.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

15 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlin Hostel'

Atmosphere
58.3%
Location
85.0%
Facilities
62.5%
Cleanliness
67.5%
Staff
70.0%
Value
64.2%
Safety
75.0%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cold air conditioning

Disliked: A bit overpriced for what it is.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central to all the tourist sites in Cartagena. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Although people are supposed to be quiet after 11.30pm, many guests returned in the early hoursof the morning and made little effort to keep the noise levels down and the sound echoed down the corridors. One couple even made out on the lounge under our window! The kitchen was very basic and the breakfast provided barely adequate.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

James Orpin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: Fairly good location, although there are many better hostels for the same price or less in the same location.

Disliked: Everything

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013

Liked: unfortunatly nothing...

Disliked: They miss to put photos of the rooms. For a good reason. They seem more prison cells than a hostle room. We booked a doble room with private bathroom. the bathroom didnt had a window , no door and no air circulation system. the room was tiny, with only windows to a dark corridor. no fresh air at all, just horrible. we asked to change the room, but they dont have a single room with a window to the outside. for someone that looks for a claustrophobic expirience - go ahead.ç After one night we left, and went to the neighbor hostel and had a really nice stay. I highly recomend it. To be fair to the Malin hostal, I will not wright the name...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Bruce hickey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013

Liked: When we arrived they had no reservation for me and kept my deposit from hostel bookers upon departure. Never again

Disliked: The service and attitude. And keeping my hostel bookers deposit. I had to pay full price including the 10% deposit I fave to hostel bookers

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily de Beus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013

Liked: The location. But something many other hostels have in this area.

Disliked: They didn't have out booking and didn't really tell us what was going on, it got sorted out in the end but we found them hard to approach, the shower was a drip at a time. Not enough water to wash my hair, we payed for breakfast but never got told about it so fidng have it, for what you pay I'd stay somewhere else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JESSICA MACGREGOR

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 JESSICA would recommend this property

Liked: It is quick and easy to get into the wall of old town. Right at several restaurants and bars. Secure and had friendly staff.

Disliked: The single room is quite small not much room to move.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josefa Mosqueira Ranon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Josefa would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the friendliness of all the staff. They were always ready to help us to make our stay in Cartagena most enjoyable. We found the location of the hostel could not be better for sightseeing, eating out, going to the beach, etc.

Disliked: We did not like so much having to go to their other place,Casa Mary, for breakfast. But due to the work being carried out, as we were told,, we supposed that could not be helped and it was just round the corner. However we thought that breakfast could have been a bit better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carlos Daniel Rincón Rodríguez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

13 November 2012 Carlos Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: we're so comfortable because the staff gave us what we're looking for. They answered our doubts about Cartagena, its street, restaurants. When we arrived at the hostel, there was a problem with a bulb in our room, but the staff fixed it inmediately

Disliked: everything was ok!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the center

Disliked: Very small room and double bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Grimes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The Marlin Hotel is good value in Cartagena. The staff are very helpful.

Disliked: The ensuite bathrooms have no doors. The rooms are a bit basic.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012

Liked: The location was great...it was next to two other hostels so we could swap easily when we saw our jail like rooms.

Disliked: Ther rooms were literally like a jail cell. Dim light narrow tiled corridor leading past lots of barred windows to get to your own room which was so old, tiny and jail like. The price was way too much for the experience and accommodation.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ania Freer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012

Liked: The location is all that's really going for this place. The breakfast looked nice (we ended up going out to eat). Fine for one night - but not much more!

Disliked: The room we had was hot and stuffy, with only an internal window. The room was really small. There seemed to be a lot of other places in the area that where the same price but much nicer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was good, worth getting an air con room

Disliked: price is too high but possible to reduce rate for multiple nights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Roncoroni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: nice place. good lacation. its a very hot city but air conditioners and fans work perfectly

Disliked: Santiago left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: this place is a dump. The rooms have no windows and feel like caves. the walls are grotty. And our bed had 2 gigantic dips in it and a spring poking through the mattress. The mattress was 20 years over due to be chucked. You can find a much, much nicer place for the same price - we did.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Ayling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

juan vargas

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

09 September 2010

Liked: not one thing

Disliked: It's in a very unsafe neighborhood. place was not clean, and they were not very friendly. This is NOT a Hostel, it's more like a cheap hotel