HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of La Pinta Boogaloo (old Green Saman) Cali Hostel

Carrera 3 Oeste 11 49 Bellavista, Cali, Colombia

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 80%

Location 74%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Sauna
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 18.06USD
  • Breakfast 3.47USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cali?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 80%

Location 74%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff helps you with every question you have.

Disliked: Wifi didnt go sometimes.Cold showers.One t- shirt was not white after the laundry.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I ended up staying longer than I intended! Its a great place to sit back and relax... And some of the tours are pretty great. The staff is super friendly and will go the extra mile to help.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel has a great pool, which I enjoyed a lot, since the weather at Cali was really hot. The customer service and the bedroom was perfect. I had my doubts because of the last reviews, but everything was fine. I really recommend it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I really like the atmosphere and the staff

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The place is huge, never have to wait for a bathroom, lots of garden area to hang out in, breakfast included and all for the cheapest price in cali...increible!Staff are very, very cool ;)

Disliked: My dorm bed mattress has definitely had it's day.The internet is a little bit unstable.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Lot of space. Nice swimming pool. Nice garden. Big kitchen and common rooms. Everything absolutely clean. OK location with cheap restaurants, local fast food and friendly locals just one block away, connected quite well with public transportation system (absolutely no need to take taxi during the day).

Disliked: Noise - loud music playing all the time all around.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Jan,

Thank you for giving us your review!
Only one doubt: You seem happy with your experience here but the comments are very different from the rating you gave us.
Was there anything wrong?
What would you recommend improving?

Regards

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel was quiet. Because it is located away from the centre you can buy reasonably priced snacks and drinks from the bar. There is a 'restaurant' but no cook so whatever you order will be prepared by whoever is on reception. Although the hostel is rundown and shabby, it is still quite 'ok'. A bit of TLC would go a long way. The area feels quite safe, there are a few small shops up the road, but we were advised to leave ALL of our valuables at home. I felt this was unnecessary, the locals are extremely friendly.

Disliked: At the bus station none of the taxis knew where the place was located - make sure they take you to Bellavista and not to the centre. The pool is dirty. They include breakfast, but it's actually a bit of a mission to get it, even for a coffee. There is no hot water and they charge extra for towels, which, given the room price is a bit much. We got our clothes washed, only to discover at our following destination that they had done a very poor job - several tshirts ruined and others with new stains.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: This hostel, set in a large traditional finca is one of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed in. The Swimming pool and gardens were lovely, and were great to go back to having spent a day wandering the busy centre of Cali. The free breakfast and all day coffee were a bonus, as were the free salsa lessons and movie nights. The hostel had a very sociable feel - the staff took us to salsa nights and other club nights and arranged bbq and cocktail nights at the hostel. I felt very safe here, and each person is allocated their own (large) locker to store valuables securely. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. This is an all-round great hostel and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We had a private room which was really big with loads of character, a very comfy bed and a big bathroom including a huge bath. Best thing about this hostel though is the staff - super friendly and helpful and with good English. Outside area was lovely - pool great for relaxing

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The owner is very helpful, he even acted as an interpreter on a tour of the city for me and joined in with a salsa class with me. It has a great swimming pool, giant screen with live soccer. The food is great and there is always free coffee. The beds are very comfortable and any noise ceases at 11pm, so you can always get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Its a little out of the way but taxis are cheap and the owner evens provides transport on occassions. It is within walking distance of the Zoo, which is well worth a visit.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability