HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cali hostels

Reviews of Colombian Hostel

Hostel | Calle 3bis # 35a - 70, San Fernando, Valle del Cauca Cali, Colombia 76001000

92.6% Overall Rating

60 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Ana Elena Sotropa thinks…

"This is the friendliest hostel I have ever been to. Mauricio, the owner, went out of his way to ensure that all of needs are met and he was a lovely person to chat with and dance salsa. You will…"

Read all Colombian Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.81
  • Towel USD 2.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cali

Sunflower Hostel
12.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
APARTAESTUDIO AMOBLADO
37.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Aguacanela
15.91 USD

Guesthouse 67.1% 4 reviews
La Pinta Boogaloo (old Green Saman)
9.01 USD

Hotel 83.0% 19 reviews
Maison Violette Hostel
10.60 USD

Hostel 93.9% 8 reviews
APARTASUITES SAN MARCOS
18.56 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Cali Hostel
9.01 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
El Viajero Hostel Cali & Salsa School
11.13 USD

Hostel 87.4% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

60 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Colombian Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Elena Sotropa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2014 Ana Elena would recommend this property

Liked: This is the friendliest hostel I have ever been to. Mauricio, the owner, went out of his way to ensure that all of needs are met and he was a lovely person to chat with and dance salsa. You will experience the real spirit of Cali by staying here. Very clean place, they clean the rooms every single day and change the sheets. Also, delicious breakfast and very good value for money.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family run incredibly nice hostel with a trusting staff who immediately become your friends when you get there. Mauricio and his sister are helpful in every way-suggestions on going out, free salsa classes, a nice breakfast, and nice tv downstairs. I even left my cell phone there and they helped me immediately. I got it the next day. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Duckenfield

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own and run the hostel are warm, friendly and beyond compare. It really is lie staying in someone's home.

Disliked: A bit far from the center but this was not a real problem given public transportation and taxis.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Salsa classes, free breakfast, and super friendly staff!

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013

Liked: Hostel was clean and staff was friendly.

Disliked: It's family run and at times it seemed like we were imposing on family time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a nice and safe area close to restaurants and the centre is easily reached by bus. I had booked the single room but because I'm pretty tall and the single bed is rather short I got a free upgrade and had a whole dorm to myself. Mauricio gave very good and detailed advice about things to see and do including a personalised map which was extremely helpful. He also gave me a free introduction to Colombian style salsa and took me out to a huge authentic salsa bar which is not frequented by travellers. Breakfast was included, plentiful and good, not your usual just bread and jam but scrambled eggs, toasted sandwich, juice and even hot chocolate. I also enjoyed a jacuzzi night with his Colombian friends. Mauricio generally went out of his way to make my stay as pleasant as possible. I will definitely return if I ever go back to Cali.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Deelen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It's like coming home, you don't have the feeling that you are in a hostel but they take you up in there 'family' and are really helpfull. The breakfast is really nice and the atmosphere was great!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Grady

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: This is more like staying with friends and family than at a hostel. From the start, we felt welcomed into this very clean, modern and attractive hostel. The family that runs it, and Mauricio in particular, are incredibly helpful and friendly. You will not only get recommendations on where to go out, you will get a map, ideas and perhaps even the company of Mauricio, when you go salsa dancing. You will also get the opportunity to learn salsa, for free (for a basic class) and if you want more in-depth classes, that can be arranged as well.

Disliked: There was little to dislike about this property. The only issue I had was basically a misunderstanding about the downstairs room, which has no door, only curtains. There are photos posted on this website, for each room, so be sure to look at them, to know what you are getting. Other than that, no problems at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Bougeard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Unfortunately I could only stay for one night but it felt like I'd been there a week (in a good way). It feels like a second home and the facilities are great. If I'm ever back in Cali there'll be only one place I'll stay! I hope one day I can go back again to see my friend, the excellent hostel owner, Mauricio - the most helpful and friendly worker I met in 7 months travelling!

Disliked: That my schedule wouldn't let me stay longer!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nichola Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is lovely and took my friend for a night out. There is a huge kitchen and big fridge for storing food. Good wifi. Small 'swimming pool' on the sun terrace with loungers, a stereo and a hammock.

Disliked: There are no lockers, although the website states there are. The 4 bed dorm, which is advertised as cheaper than the 6 bed dorm is so because it is next to the TV room and front door. There is no door to the room, just a curtain. The bin in the attached toilet was not emptied once during our stay, although this was a communal toilet (and not just for the people staying in said "curtained room").

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: The best part of this place is his owner - Mauricio. He lives by this place, it's his girlfriend, it's his beloved child, here he puts his whole heart and soul. That's why Colombian Hostel is so good! Clean spacious house with huge bathrooms, comfortable beds, large and well-equipped kitchen, delicious breakfast and friendly atmosphere. All the staff is helpful and kind. Oh, I'll be back here for sure :)

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arieta Nakaroti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Arieta would recommend this property

Liked: Great, wonderful, super friendly staff! Make you feel very welcome and go to great lengths to explain good sights and things to do around the city. Very clean, great place to relax. Nice, safe area in Cali, walking distance to great restaurants, the metro and supermarkets. One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael MacCormack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great relaxing place. Good breakfast. Short walk to the Salsa club. Good cheap supermarket nearby. Great kitchen. And Mauricio... who makes the place feel like home.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Angow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Favourite hostel so far! Excellent location, so clean, big beds, well equipped kitchen, FUN salsa lesson, great socializing areas with big TV and the most amazing host ever. Mauricio was kind, funny and welcoming, took us out for a crazy night of local salsa, really took care of us! Best guy! Was sad to leave!!!

Disliked: Nada!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anton Karatoun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place with big rooms and kitchen and great atmosphere

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Bond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. One of the best "hostels" I have ever stayed in. More like being let into a great Colombian friends home. I've heard of hostels being like a home before, but this is first time I've truely felt it. The owner Mauricio is incredible. Talks you through EVERYTHING about Cali, makes the best map for you I've had in 5+ years of traveling. So helpful and also takes you out, has a great laugh and is just one cool dude. The hostel itself is clean, has great staff, a mini pool in the back, you can put your own music on, watch football, big kitchen to cool in. Great location. traveling alone i was made to feel very welcome.I never usually bother writing reviews but staying at Colombian hostel made my time in Cali amazing. Jaime and Jorge were legends too! Thanks and see you again for more aguardiente one day my friend!

Disliked: The fact I didn't have time to stay longer!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mauricio is an excellent hostess, more than helpful with info about the city & great for teaching some salsa steps! the house is sparkling clean, and you have everything you need in it to make your stay just like being at home! The location of the hostel is very close to nice cafes & restaurants. Do not miss Cali as part of your Colombian experience, and I would strongly recommend you to stay in Colombian Hostel.

Disliked: Nada, todo genial!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Iocated in a quiet area with several restaurants and bars and msupermarket near by. Staff was great, very nice stay. They show you where you want to go in Cali and how to get there T31 bus gets you there. nice kitchen. Free breakfast and as I said good advice.

Disliked: Small confusion with room when I arrived I was shown a curtained off room by the tv, but for 2000 COP ($1) more per night I could stay in a quiet room. So I paid as this is not a vast sum of money.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mauricio was very hospitable and friendly. Provided meals that were delicious. Very cosy and comfortable hostel.

Disliked: Not much of atmosphere but the friendliness of Mauricio makes up for that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: What a great hostel!! Stayed for 2 nights with my boyfriend in the private room - the room is really big, really clean and has access to a balcony at the front. When we arrived the owner sat us down and explained everything about the local area and how to find things as well as all the sights of Cali. Staying at this hostel was like staying with friends - it was saturday night and we went out with the owner Mauricio and another guy we met. Within walking distance to the hostel is tin tin deo - one of the best salsa bars in Cali - Mau knows the people who work there and we were shown a table straight away and had one of the best nights! The hostel itself is really clean and welcoming with a great terrace and little plunge pool. It's in a really safe area of Cali with lots of restaurants, bars and a couple of supermarkets nearby. We also went with Mau to the river on Sunday to chill out - such a great place and not touristy at all. Would recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: Frances left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ville Itkonen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Ville would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and owners are super super friendly!! Mauricio also took us swimming to the river and showed us a famous salsa club and different places in the city. Hostel is clean and they have breakfast included. I can easily recommend this to everyone!

Disliked: Ville left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alia alhafny

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 alia would recommend this property

Liked: i have never been invited to the owner of a hostels family home until i stayed at colombian hostel. new years eve is a family affair in colombia and all of the guests where invited to mauricio and carolinas house for dinnner on the night of the 31st where his mum cooked for us. i stayed during the feria and they were always helpful in telling us what was on that day and taking us out etc. really friendly atmosphere. the spa and outdoor area is also nice for sunbaking and cooling off! hostel was really clean as well they would pick up all my clothes off the floor etc which i felt very guilty about! also breakfast is included which in my experience is a rarity in colombia and its not just bread and jam...i got eggs every day! they would also give us little snacks throughout the day which i have never experienced before in any other hostel

Disliked: i was in the dorm with the private bathroom and other people not staying in that room would constantly come in to use it. maybe it would be a good idea to inforce that this bathroom is not for everyone as i had all my stuff lying out and did not like the idea of everyone just coming in and out. also cold showers it is hot in cali but its still nice to have at least a little bit of warm water

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LE BOLLOCH MARIE LAURE

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 January 2013 LE BOLLOCH would recommend this property

Liked: we are like in a family !!! BACANO

Disliked: just ther is not enough bathroom. 1 more would be perfect !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danny michlewicz

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 January 2013 danny would recommend this property

Liked: Open, beautiful architecture. An amazing owner with lots of goodwill.

Disliked: danny left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Cali hostels