HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cali hostels

Reviews of The Iguana Hostel

Hostel | Av 9N # 22N - 22, Cali, Colombia 572

81.9% Overall Rating

13 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/05/2012)

"Owner and staff extremely lovely and helful. Location is close to bus terminal and in safe area with shops, supermarkets, clubs, bars (straight and gay bars), We had a double ensuite room which was huge. Hot…"

Read all The Iguana Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cali

Calidad House Hostel
10.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Pelican Larry Hostel
10.65 USD

Hostel 91.5% 112 reviews
El Viajero Hostel Cali & Salsa School
11.18 USD

Hostel 87.7% 19 reviews
Casa Blanca Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 86.2% 30 reviews
Cali Hostel
9.59 USD

Hostel 92.4% 3 reviews
Casa Miraflores
23.96 USD

Guesthouse 99.0% 3 reviews
The Green House Cali
10.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Maison Violette Hostel
10.65 USD

Hostel 93.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Iguana Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
77.3%
Cleanliness
81.3%
Staff
86.7%
Value
78.7%
Safety
82.7%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Ouwersloot

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: There is a good atmosphere and the staff is helpful

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, secure property and plenty of social areas

Disliked: A little far from the main areas but still within walking distance

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner and staff extremely lovely and helful. Location is close to bus terminal and in safe area with shops, supermarkets, clubs, bars (straight and gay bars), We had a double ensuite room which was huge. Hot water. Gardens. Free salsa classes. Ok kitchen. Free coffee.

Disliked: Our room got all the noise from the garden and from the reception area. We repeatedly had to ask the staff to ask other guests to be quieter and to turn music down as this is not a party hostel. We were unlucky as there were some particularly noisy and inconsiderate guests - talking loudly, monopolising kichen and fridge, music loud til late. Mattress in double bed was very old and soft. They changed it to another one which was better but still soft. Bunk bed matresses were good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAIME NUNEZ

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 JAIME would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderfull place, nice staff and good location

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Blacony

Disliked: Not too many people

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was very central to restaurants and bars so we could easily walk everywhere.

Disliked: Being housed in a second house of which I am sure one man was living permanently (he was washing his car), it had a lot less atmosphere than the main house and kitchen was not as good. Reception did not take hostel bookers deposit off our total amount.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filip Ziolkowski

11 June 2010 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing experience to stay in Iguana. It looks like it has everything what backpacker needs. Hostel was great, friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, and huge common space with the small balcony and tropical garden. We made decent BBQ with bunch of travellers from round the world. Apart from that I would recommend Cali in Colombia as a must-see destination for anyone interested in experiencing the real Latin culture. Cali is truly the Salsa capital of the world.

Disliked: Filip left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 May 2010

Liked: Good Staff, but not the cleanest Hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location but rooms are smelly and beds are very uncomfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cali hostels