We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cali hostels

Reviews of The Pelican Larry Hostel

Hostel | Calle 20 Norte, N. 44, (Junto a la Avenida 6A), Barrio Granada Cali, Colombia .

91.4% Overall Rating

109 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

jonathan crosby thinks…

"I stayed in a private room so sorry, can't comment on the dorms, though none of the guests I spoke to had any complaints. There´s a decent, spacious kitchen, plenty of space to sit, very nice,…"

Read all The Pelican Larry Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.96

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cali

Local House Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Colours
12.69 USD

Hostel 79.7% 22 reviews
El Viajero Hostel Cali & Salsa School
10.25 USD

Hostel 87.4% 22 reviews
Cali Hostel
9.27 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
The Green House Cali
8.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Maison Violette Hostel
0.02 USD

Hostel 93.9% 8 reviews
Hostal Santa Rita
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
APARTASUITES SAN MARCOS
17.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

109 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Pelican Larry Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free salsa lessons

Disliked: Nothingl

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to everything, good overall. Great staff.

Disliked: No complaits

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jonathan crosby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room so sorry, can't comment on the dorms, though none of the guests I spoke to had any complaints. There´s a decent, spacious kitchen, plenty of space to sit, very nice, knowledgeable staff. secure - overall it's fine but needs a bit more effort and imagination to make it really nice - for instance there's a garden area but it's really tatty and underused. Location-wise, well there are no real tourist sites in Cali itself so it really depends why you're here, but it's an easy walk to the centre and a cheap ride to the bus station.

Disliked: Just somewhat tatty and definitely lacking in atmosphere. The staff are good but the owner does nothing but laze about and with a little more work could make this place really nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, great location

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Davey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard out the back. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FLORENCIA SAVY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 FLORENCIA would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: I didn´t like the rat that lives in the garden, as it can walk around the open kitchen at any times. This rat seems to be used to the tourists as it doesn´t hide in our presence or noice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rose Bollard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff (mainly only spanish speaking), nice property.

Disliked: Wifi did not work too well. Also it can be quite noisy which is fine but just be aware.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Giuggio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the people staying and also working there. It was very easy to meet people and jump into a group to explore the city. I really think this hostel is doing a lot of things right. The staff will talk to you at great length about everything you ask. It is not always so easy to find such a great place to land.

Disliked: Not much... It was pretty great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kindness of the staff and the french owner

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shantee Rosado

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Shantee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the hot showers were great, the atmosphere was conducive to meeting new people and socializing, the free coffee was good, the private rooms were reasonably priced, the salsa lesson was super fun, the location was the best in Cali, and they made sure my stay was enjoyable the whole time. I have nothing bad to say about the Pelican Larry! I'll definitely be staying there the next time I visit Colombia.

Disliked: Nothing! I loved everything about the place!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luciano Neves

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2012 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very near to restaurants and nightlife. The bathroom is always clean.

Disliked: The room I stayed is VERY hot, even wen the outside temperature is good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome kitchen and backyard, nice bathrooms and showers, quite neighbourhood

Disliked: staff doesnt speak much English, was very quiet when I was there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Bergljot Thorarensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Anna Bergljot would recommend this property

Liked: It is really nice to stay here. The beds are great, the place is clean and the showers are hot.

Disliked: It is not a party place. They sush you down at 9 p.m. but there are bars close by.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Don row

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Don would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly German owner, clean bathrooms, hot showers, comfortable beds and good location.

Disliked: Don left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nat Papworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Nat would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel gunter is a great host should be more hostel owners like him, The barbecue was fantastic, room was huge with t.v, showers were the best we have had in south america so far and the atmosphere was great, definitely be reccomending it to anyone who is heading to cali

Disliked: Nat left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfy beds, good wifi, big kitchen and outdoor seating area

Disliked: Not very secure - front door always left open

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent services for everything, I highly recommend this hostel! Delicious and huge BBQ, big and comfortable beds, no line for take a shower, easy to meet other travellers

Disliked: Actually nothing was bad on my stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jody Millerchip

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Jody would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place. Honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Gunther is The Man and Andreas is super cool. We only stayed 3 nights however we were devastated to be leaving (we'd already booked a bus to bogota before arriving). We hope to see you guys again soooon x

Disliked: Jody left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff. good location. clean dorm rooms. comfy beds. hot water. great cooking facilities. nice tv room where you can watch dvds or cable. free wifi in lobby. cheap price. ideal for any travelers and would recommend.

Disliked: only downer is you cant get wifi in the dorms but overall great stay and no negatives.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

friedrich kuhner

Alone

City break

29 November 2011 friedrich would recommend this property

Liked: it is in a safe location,hot showers and the staff was friendly too,havent had the BBQ but been told just good things about it,i would recommend this place

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011

Liked: outside space, tv room was ok although the sofas have seen beeter days

Disliked: Staff spoke no english, so could not provide travel information to us. Rooms were small. Shower had cold water. The kitchen was dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Bartlett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, cumfy beds, hot showers. there is a patio out the back that everyone sat at and had beers most nights before going out so it had s good vibe to it

Disliked: not to much, if i had to be nit picky it was a bit out of the action in regards to location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and homely

Disliked: internet was not free!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: none


See all Cali hostels