We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Explora Hostels

Hostel | Calle 12c 3-19, Bogota, Colombia 11001

86.9% Overall Rating

47 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Raja Taunk thinks…

"Compared to other hostels in the Area like cranky crocs and Su candeleria, this one is much nicer. The rooms are minimal but immaculately clean. The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot and…"

Read all Explora Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.52
  • Breakfast USD 2.44
  • Towel USD 0.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Hotel Aragon
11.78 USD

Hotel 75.4% 5 reviews
Hostal Colonial la Quinta
8.78 USD

Hostel 83.5% 61 reviews
Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 69.6% 20 reviews
Hostal Buenavida
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 4 reviews
Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.73 USD

Hostel 91.1% 63 reviews
Chocolate Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
Colombian Dream Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 90.0% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

47 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Explora Hostels'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 50 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sjors de Kruijff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Sjors would recommend this property

Liked: It is a fairly new hostel ad so everything looks and feels brand new. What that also means is that the toilet and shower facilities are great and the hot water is even better. The rooms are congregated along a long corridor which is covered but still somewhat outdoors. This is very common for hostels in Peru and Colombia. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom on the ground floor and it was great. The rooms were quite tiny but for he price you really cant complain. Sheets were clean and warm. There is an option of hiring a heater if you think your going to get cold.To give you an idea of cleanliness everytime someone had showered in the morning the lady who prepares the breakfast went up and cleaned the shower floors for the next! This hostel is very reasonably priced compared to other hostels and will save you a mint on sleeping in a double. Breakfast was average but included scrambled eggs which is a bonus.

Disliked: Although it is not always the responsibiity of the hostel nightwatchman to police/manage the noise at night I gotta say that on our second night we had trouble sleeping. There was a large spanish group in the combined area drinking their own drinks till very early in the morning. Noise happens but just didnt add to the experience. Also a tip for the receptionist, please dont wear high heels, these can be heard throughout the hostel as you walk up and down the corridor 1st thing in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location. It is nice and clean. The beds are very comfortable. The hot showers really are hot (not luke warm like some other hostels). There is also free tea and coffee.

Disliked: The common area gets pretty cold in the evenings.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucia Bravo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Está muy bien ubicado, se puede ir caminando a los puntos turísticos. El staff es muy amable, siempre dispuesto si uno solicita algo, por ejemplo cuando les pedimos que limpiaran nuestra pieza y baño lo hicieron. El desayuno es muy rico y el hostel en sí es nuevo, las camas y baños son muy cómodos.

Disliked: No tuvimos ningún inconveniente.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really clean and new hostel, breakfast included and a great and helpful staff. Made a phone call to the airport to confirm information about a visa, very good service

Disliked: So cold at night at the common area, the whole-way is a bit noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms, hot water and as much as you like, comfy beds, decent breakfast and wifi!!! Also staff who speak a little English helped us out a lot.

Disliked: Cold eating area was really the only little thing that could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lise Marmillod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Lise would recommend this property

Liked: We were really well welcomed on arrival and the staff were particularly helpful and flexible (especially Laura :-)) Also, the place is almost brand new and everything is super clean, being the showers, toilets or the rooms. The breakfast is included and we can choose eggs as you want them. The common area is pleasant too!

Disliked: Nothing, exept that the did not think about deducting what we paid through hostelbookers but that's common!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles Epton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Easy walking distance to Transmilenio and numerous museums, sites and restaurants. WIfi was top notch! The staff was very helpful. Plenty of blankets for cold mornings. Hot water for the shower was excellent. Coffee was yummy. Wanted it con leche each time and the hot milk was much appreciated.

Disliked: I wished that breakfast offered a juice, coffee, fruit muesli and yogurt option. I got tired of eggs and toast w/ coffee each day. But my husband loved the eggs and toast each day. A better map of the area would help a lot. If the shower curtain was a bit wider, the bathroom floor wouldn't get so slippery. Also ... some non stick stuff would help with the slippery floors in the bath and shower areas when they are wet. Other hostels we've been in around the world have a large notebook/guestbook prominently displayed so that travelers can read and write about others' opinions and experiences. We think this would help. It's fun to read about others' experiences and write about our own... both good and bad regarding restaurants, sites, tours,etc.--- maybe one online would work as well.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (though I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around at night. Very clean and modern. Fantastically warm, powerful and spacious showers. Friendly staff who speak good English. I would stay again.

Disliked: They say breakfast is from 7 but we had to leave at 7:20 and there was still no sign of it. It is chilly at night so is a bit annoying that the communal ares and corridors are outside. It costs to hire a towel and they are tiny. The only electricity outlet is behind the bed so you can't have the bed against the wall if something is plugged in. All very minor grumbles, still definitely worth staying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good located in the center of Bogota; they had a good map of the sights in the near of the hostel;

Disliked: Taxi drivers don`t know it, we had to make a telephone conference.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leonardo Esteban Guala

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Leonardo Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: it is a new hostel, so they are making good effort to recieve feedback from their clients. Nice and simple, with good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms are still lacking wardrobes and hangers, which is really a need in the cold wet weather from Bogotá.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Location within easy walking distance of major museums, restaurants, supermarkets.

Disliked: Not a dislike but a comment. Hostelbookers refers to the hostel as Explora Bogata. The hostel's sign by the door says Explora Hostels.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trent N Collins

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 April 2012 Trent N would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. It's within 2 blocks of lots of the action yet still quiet enough to get some sleep. The place was also nice and clean and the shower in the private room had a showerhead the size of a small country with plenty of hot water.

Disliked: The comunal areas are outdoors (yet under cover) and so at this time of the year its pretty chilly for sitting around and meetinging crew. We found the atmosphere of the place really lacked because of that. Also there isn't much soundproofing on the rooms down stairs and so there's plenty of noise from the people walking passed the room in the mornings to mean that a little sleep in isn't easy to get.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice location with plenty of attractions and restaurants around. The place was well set up with good facilities and very clean. A good breakfast also.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful and made me feel welcome! It's also a great location, the beds are comfy and the breakfast is nice. Couldn't ask for more! Oh and the bathrooms are really nice and clean!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, rooms were clean and modern and the location was excellent.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Safi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, helped me in every activity I made in Bogota. Very Clean, confortable, safe and with very good vibe. Congratulations guys!

Disliked: A little cold...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is beautiful, super clean and comfy. I´ve never seen such a clean bathroom in my life. Amazing! bed is wonderful too. Love it, super reccomend it! Quiet with good breakfast, clean, perfect location, It´s the perfect hostel!

Disliked: Staff is quite helpful but when we asked for a taxi in a hurry for the airport, one of the girls didn´t care and the other took ages to call them and just gave up after a while. We had to go to the street and find the taxi ourselves although it was raining.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were the best I have had in all of SA, the staff are really helpful and enjoy a laugh, the location cannot be beaten. This place will become a true gem in Bogota. I will be back!!

Disliked: There was really nothing I disliked. At this stage there is no book exchange which was advertised, but no big deal. This place will get so much better too!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Sartirani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel Ive ever stayed at. Unfortunately it's not yet popular, as it's very new, but I'm sure it will be eventually with a bit of word of mouth and ratings! Comfy beds, super clean, fast wi-fi, good breakfast and staff are very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Simone left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsi Wooding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2012 Kelsi would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommend Explora Hostel! The hostel is brand new with great facilities and is located in La Candelaria which is the best area to base you travels in Bogota. The beds are super comfortable and the free breakfast is great. Probably the best thing about this hostel though is the staff. All the reception staff speak excellent english and went out of there way to help us and give suggestions for things to do in Bogota. Our flight wasn't until midnight, and they let us pay a little extra to keep our room until the evening instead of the usual checkout at 12noon.

Disliked: Nothing :-)


See all Bogota hostels