HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Swiss Hostal Martinik Bogota Hostel

Carrera 4 # 11-88, Barrio La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 84%

Location 85%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.36USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 84%

Location 85%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Extremely friendly. Great location near attractions and good restaurants. Safe and secure, there is always someone at front counter. Very helpful, ask about local museums. You will not find better value for money. My single room was small but very clean with a big window.. Note that not all rooms have windows. The shared toilet was clean and the shower was nice and hot. I never had to wait to get into shared washroom. The wifi was fast. Overall I could not imagine a better place to stay in Bogota.

Disliked: The dog wouldn't let me pet him. Nice dog though.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Anna was helpful in providing an orientation and an overview of the services.

Disliked: Once inside the property, there was NO security. The property also lists that it has a luggage room. That "room" is a pile of bags just placed between the fireplace and the receptionist. The bags are not tagged, or marked in anyway as to who they belong to. We felt like we were stuck between a rock and a hard place: don't bring valuables out onto the streets, but there's nothing to prevent any of the guests or staff from stealing valuables if they are left in the room. Seriously, the "lock" could be removed with a screwdriver, and no evidence of trespass would've been left.


The property's response is

Hello there, thanks for your comment. I just wanted to clear up a little misunderstanding about our luggage room. We do, in fact, have a luggage room. This is for people who wish to leave their luggage with us for a few days, sometimes months. The cost of 1,000 COP a day for a maximum of 20,000 COP per month. For our guests who are leaving the same day, yes, they leave their luggage at the reception, which is never and issue. Also, please know my staff are trustworthy people. Thanks :)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is well located for travelers to have easy access to some of the key attractions of Bogota. The staff are very helpful and friendly and for a first time experience in the city I think most people would find the hostel satisfactory. As long as you're not expecting absolute luxury but still want to be in a place that is clean, secure and conveniently situated, where also you can intereact with lively, interesting people then Swiss Martinik is definitely a good pick.

Disliked: The internet connection is not always reliable and during my stay the entire block lost power on 2 occasions (one of which was for 12 hours) however the blame cannot be shouldered by the hostel management as it is somewhat common in most of Bogota and Colombia.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review. I just wanted you to know we had just updated all of our internet equipment as well as wiring. I know how important internet is to our guests and we are doing all we can to ensure the best wifi we can. Of course, as you mentioned, the situation we were caught in during your stay was unfortunate and out of our control. At least we still had hot showers even without electicity :) Happy travels.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was basically just a place to sleep.

Disliked: Bad vibe, new hostel owner who began half a year ago is rude and uncaring. She's a neurotic control freak and when I didn't receive a locker, she basically just told me "too bad".


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for your comment. I am sorry you felt this way about the hostel and it's vibe. We are also in the process of purchasing more lockers. In the meantime, we are accomodating as best we can. Also, you may be right about me being a control freak :) but you kinda have to be when you own a business, I am sure you understant. The qualtiy of service we provide is of utmost importance to me and I have a caring and competent staff. Thanks and have a great trip.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its was very cleannice and lovely pepoleclous and neer to canter :)Thank You :)Keren

Disliked: :) im was happy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Well, all I can say is if you are happy, I am super happy. Hugs and have a great trip.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff: very friendly, english speakers, which helped me a lot with information and also with carring my suitcase and calling for a taxi.Location: exelent, at the center of la calendria, which enable walking to the musiums, Bolivar squire and la monserrate.The place and the room: very clean and comfortable.Price: very cheap.

Disliked: I took a private room, which was very small, but very cheap!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there. I am glad you liked the hostel, you're rating is awesome, thanks!! And yes, some room are very small and basic, but as you mentioned, at that price, it is a very good deal. Have a great trip and we hope to see you again soon. Hugs!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Staff were kind. Lockers were big enough.

Disliked: close to the street, so polluted air came in

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had a good stay in this hostel. Clean rooms, friendly staff and good situated.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff, location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Under new management, this hostel is extremely clean and has great local and 'traveller' staff. Lots of good information about the local area of Candelaria and a chill, fun, non-party environment.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability