We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Swiss Hostal Martinik

Hostel | Carrera 4 Numero 11-88, La Candelaria, Centro Bogota, Colombia 11001

85.9% Overall Rating

81 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2014)

"The hostel is well located for travelers to have easy access to some of the key attractions of Bogota. The staff are very helpful and friendly and for a first time experience in the city I think most people would find…"

Read all Swiss Hostal Martinik reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Summer C
12.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
14.15 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Colombian Dream Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 90.0% 8 reviews
Hostal Colonial la Quinta
7.32 USD

Hostel 83.5% 61 reviews
Hostal Buenavida
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 4 reviews
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.73 USD

Hostel 91.1% 63 reviews
DN Hostel
11.22 USD

Hostel 84.1% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

81 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Swiss Hostal Martinik'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 83 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Urs Zoller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Urs would recommend this property

Liked: WOW! The only word I can say about this hostel. Reto and Yolanda are so friendly and make the stay to a pleasure! They help you with tips about Bogota, organize trips and made a christmas program for people stayed at the 24. Dez. in the hostel. For me the only place to stay in Bogota.

Disliked: Really nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful in answering all our questions and the location makes walking to points of interest very easy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location relative to the interesting sites was good, but it was on a noisy road so it was hard to sleep in the 7-person dorm.

Disliked: It was noisy from around 5:30 in the morning from traffic on the road, and it was a bit dark inside. Also, the lockers were very small; not big enough for a traveler's backpack

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything allright

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfull staff and the cleanliness.

Disliked: The fact that you hear the doorbell and the noise from the road in the 9 bed dorm.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Grimes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I like what the owners are trying to achieve - e.g. nice kitchen, movie room, Nintendo Wii, etc. Unfortunately, it has a long way to go...

Disliked: Unfortunately, there are a few issues with this hostel: 1) Beds - the beds are appalling! Really uncomfortable and falling apart. 2) Mattresses - the mattresses are crap 3) Pillows - total shit 4) Doors - the doors to the rooms are shocking quality and not secure 5) Blinds - the rooms have windows looking out into the communal areas. These have blinds (not curtains) which are totally ineffective - i.e. you can see into the bedrooms with the blinds 'closed' 6) Rooms - The rooms are rickety and badly constructed. The ceilings are the roof (constructed from corrugated iron in places). Not charming - just tatty and cold. 7) Heating - Bogotá can get pretty cold at night (or during the day). The rooms are so badly made that they retain no heat. Blankets are required at night and the hostal charges extra for heating in the DVD room. I personally think that the hostel should heat the communal areas as part of the package. 8) Showers - only lukewarm on the lowest pressure setting. Rubbish. 9) WiFi doesn't really work in the rooms - surely the whole point of WiFi? This could be a very nice hostel. It markets itself as 'not a party hostel'. If that is the case, shouldn't it be a comfortable and warm place to sleep? In its current state, I wouldn't recommend that weary travellers stay here. Until they get the basics right, you're better off staying somewhere else.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

OFEREFRAIM GIGI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 OFEREFRAIM would recommend this property

Liked: Reto and the staff are very very helpfull and help you in anything you wish to know!!! The location and the facilities are excellent - excellent value for the money.

Disliked: OFEREFRAIM left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel and very friendly and helpful staff! Great place to discover Bogota as it is in a safe area!

Disliked: Our room was close to the street and so at night a bit noisy. But I did not mind as I am used to some kind of noise.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Vesely

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: The property owners are very friendly and helpful. It is not a party hostel, so dont expect much of action at night, actually, at midnight you are asked to keep it quiet. There is a kitchen with all the equipment you need to make your own meal. The showers are hot and clean, the rooms are clean and safe. Overall very good value for money. Would stay there again

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Locsmandi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen and breakfast every morning was good, granola and milk. Nice big rooms. Nice showers, clean hostel. Helpful people at the front desk. Good location, supermarket about a 5 minute walk.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, a great place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Locsmandi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very nice hostel. The owner was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The only complaint I have about this hostel is the location. The taxi driver spent 20 minutes looking for it and asked 3 different people where it was located, even with the written directions from the website. It was also a long walk to the main area of zona rosa.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very helpful and friendly and offer to halp you with your stay . the facilities are good and it is an ideal location.

Disliked: My private room without a bathroom was very small. It had jsut enough room for the bed and a little space near up front to swing the door. There is shelving but no space for your backpack if you have to leave the room. That was OK for a short stay and the staff helpfullness made up for it all. This is one of those hostels where there are no lights over the free internet . a minor irritant . just makes using it frustrating and longer than it need be.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Big comun areas, Clean and Good tourism information. Thanks Martinik :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Sorghi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: living room

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of few non-party hostels in Bogota but it maintains a good amount of space for socialising and having a chat to other guests. Location was excellent. The staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Low pillows.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Anna Hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012

Liked: Didnt see too much as I was here on an airport stop over but facilities looked ok.

Disliked: I was put in a dorm room which i initally thought was a great deal as there were only 2 beds. i later found out it was a thoroughfare to get to the main door. I can deal with loud music on a friday night (there is a bar next door) as it is expected. but i cannot deal with drunk people using my room as a hallway. the entrance to the room also went straight out to reception so all i could hear all night was the absurdly loud doorbell....would have slept better at the airport!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Dartnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic location, close to all major museums and other tourist sites. Nice, hot showers (just don´t use the upstairs shower, as this is cold!). Wifi and desktop computers were a good speed. Additionally, there was a Nintendo wii available to use, which I don´t think I´ve ever seen in a hostel before!

Disliked: Not much of a party-atmosphere, with a slightly more mature crowd, that keep to themselves a little. Although I didn´t find this to be much of a problem, perhaps it will be to some. I heard a few people complain that the pillows in use are quite uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and great facilities.

Disliked: Nothing came to mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joachim Doll

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Joachim would recommend this property

Liked: They helped me very much. Nice stay. Warm showers

Disliked: liked all

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011

Liked: The atmosphere was good to meet other people. The free salsa class was fun. The owners are really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Although in general it was ok, it was not as good as the former reviews said. Two of the most important things were not good: the beds and the showers. My bed was so hard, it felt like sleeping on the floor. I changed beds, but it was still so hard, it woke up every 10 minutes hurting my body. However, not every bed was that bad. My friend didn't have a bed like mine, although the mattress was still pretty hard. Also the cushion was like cement. The showers were not so bad if you were the only one in the shower; if you weren't, the pressure drops. If you take the middle one, it's ok. The tird practically has no pressure when another shower is on. So, besides from the beds and showers, it was ok, but good beds and showers are pretty important for a good stay, so I wouldn't recommend the place.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice communal area with a big good kitchen!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nihal Mohammed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Nihal would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good beds, clean rooms, GREAT coffee :-) Good place to meet people!

Disliked: Cant think of any!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Gutierrez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best place to stay in Bogota, the staff is great and the patio is a great place to meet new people.

Disliked: the breakfast is not that good but the free coffee it's fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. They had a lot of activities set up making it easy to meet people. The first night I was there we made our own pizzas and only had to pay for the split cost of ingredients which was cheap. Another night they did salsa lessons, and I hear the BBQ on Friday nights is amazing. There is a comfortable living room with a big TV and a big kitchen with free breakfast and coffee.

Disliked: The only problem was the lack of showers, but they are currently under construction adding three new showers, so once that is finished it will be great. Also, the water wasn't really hot, as promised, but more of a luke warm.


See all Bogota hostels