HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria

Guesthouse | carrera 3 # 12 C -82, candelaria centro, Bogota, Colombia 67160

70.7% Overall Rating

11 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/01/2013)

"Good location in La Candelaria. Secure entry: they buzz you in using a videocam. Delicious free coffee all day (it was hot for us). Good wifi."

Read all Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 0.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Hotel Aragon
12.51 USD

Hotel 75.4% 5 reviews
Explora Hostels
10.93 USD

Hostel 89.3% 47 reviews
Chocolate Hostel
10.36 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
Hostal Colonial la Quinta
9.32 USD

Hostel 83.8% 60 reviews
Hostal Buenavida
7.77 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 4 reviews
Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.06 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 3 reviews
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.36 USD

Hostel 90.6% 53 reviews
Colombian Dream Hostel
10.36 USD

Hostel 88.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

11 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria'

Atmosphere
64.2%
Location
86.3%
Facilities
59.0%
Cleanliness
64.2%
Staff
74.7%
Value
70.5%
Safety
75.8%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Edens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: n/a vvb

Disliked: n/a wb

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Chiaki Morishita

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013

Liked: Full of coffee.

Disliked: It was difficult to go out free.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Devon Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Loud family. Had to be let out the front door with a key and no one was ever around at night. Family/friends that were around were loud and obnoxious. 6 older drunk men ended up staying in my room that were friends of the family and were checked in at 3 am.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in La Candelaria. Secure entry: they buzz you in using a videocam. Delicious free coffee all day (it was hot for us). Good wifi.

Disliked: Very basic accomadation. There's a central courtyard but it feels cold so doesn't make for a great social hangout.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room wich was very nice, with a television,nice painted walls. The owner is VERY friendly. It's not a party hostel, but the loctaion is PERFECT! It's one of the oldest buildings in La Calanderia and in Bogota. Free coffe all day long. Free (simple, basis) breakfast.

Disliked: Well, it is one of the oldest buildings in the city so it has a great atmosphere. But nothing is new, bathroom is a little bit old and basic. If you look for a new, modern hostel this is not the place. We liked the caracter anyway!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL LOUIS MORRIS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 MICHAEL LOUIS would recommend this property

Liked: people are very friendly giving us the information necessary to tours in Bogota on security zones, is very economical compared to other similar sites have a kitchen where people share with other travel stories

Disliked: MICHAEL LOUIS left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 February 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I made a reservation here for a dorm, was traveling from medellin and due to police blockades and re-routing, arrived 3 hours later than planned. I was alone, arrived at 1.30am here, and had to hammer on the door and shout for 10 minutes before someone let me in. I was then told that as it's past midnight, my reservation was invalid...! Basically, they'd sold the bed to someone else and expected me to pay too. I don't carry a mobile phone so had no means of calling them, when you make a reservation and pay the deposit you don't expect this. The woman didnt even want to come outside with me (female, alone in bogota at 2am... Great.) She sent me next door to Candelos, which is an incredible hostel. Real hot showers, incredibly friendly staff and all the things you need to get set up. I wouldn't stay in adventureros if they paid me.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011

Liked: Unique character and quaintly decorated rooms. Very secure. Extra blankets readily available.

Disliked: Cold and damp. Showers hot but it seemed for only one at a time. Couldn't get the coffee hot. The microwave wouldn't reach a power point without sitting it in the sink and the rest of the kitchen was pretty unpleasant, including a fridge full of mouldy food. Bravely put the meat we bought in there but the owner stole it (mistakenly) before we could cook it. Book exchange was good but no one knew where the key was to unlock the cabinet. No towels during weekends and public holidays.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

isa kriens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011

Liked: Good location, hepfull staff. Cheap!

Disliked: Not a real communal area. So atmosphere not great. Also pretty noisy. Thin walls. Its just a place to sleep, not to socialise.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: I really liked the owners of the hostel. They were very nice. The husband woke up at 2:30 in the morning to get our cab to the airport with us and stayed up until it arrived, which was very kind of him. The wife seemed very nice as well and tried to be accommodating. The water was always hot and the tv and dvd system was great.

Disliked: When we arrived, we had to wait an hour for the wife owner to show up and show us our rooms. A guest had to let us in, which I felt was a bit unsafe. When she showed us our room (meant to be a female 6 bed), she said we would be sharing our room the first night with men, but next nights female. All nights there were males in our room (not a big deal, just not what we asked for). We expected breakfast as outlined on hostelbookers but was told we don't get any. 24 hour reception is a joke as I had to hunt the owners down just to replenish toilet paper several times. Computers don't work so you have to use the reception one, which is great cause no one is ever there anyway. Have to ask for everything you want and should get freely as advertised on hostelbookers and wait a long time to get it. You get what you pay for, which is not much here. It's a new hostel, so I think they really need to make more effort to make sure their customers have a good experience.


See all Bogota hostels