We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Sayta Hostal

Guesthouse | CALLE 12B, #0-57 Barrio La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia -

92.9% Overall Rating

22 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2015)

Nicole Boyko thinks…

"The family running this hostel were great! The breakfast was very basic (2buns with butter/jam/silver de lecherous plus coffee/tea), but it was easy to dress it up by using the kitchen to cook eggs…"

Read all Sayta Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

LimaSuites
46.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colombia at home
23.47 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Pinta
10.17 USD

Hostel 89.6% 104 reviews
La Niña
8.99 USD

Hostel 85.2% 11 reviews
HOTEL CASA PAULINA
15.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 7 reviews
12:12 Hostels
11.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Sarita
13.69 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Kozii Hostel D.C
9.78 USD

Hostel 84.0% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sayta Hostal'

Atmosphere
90.0%
Location
94.6%
Facilities
85.5%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.4%
Value
95.5%
Safety
94.6%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joshua Thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cute hostel, with friendly staff

Disliked: During our stay there was a very loud group of friends who took over the hostel's small communal area and stayed up all night being very loud. This was unfortunate as due to language barriers we weren't able to join in; the hostel is basically a converted house so there is limited communal space.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Boyko

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2015 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The family running this hostel were great! The breakfast was very basic (2buns with butter/jam/silver de lecherous plus coffee/tea), but it was easy to dress it up by using the kitchen to cook eggs or cut up some fruit.

Disliked: The common bathroom was fairly musty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine radcliffe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family run hostel, which provides you with a more genuine Colombian experience, as they are happy to chat with you about their lives and help you with local knowledge and your Spanish! They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The hostel is in a great location and there is a free breakfast provided of bread with jam and coffee It is not a very big hostel though with only small commen areas so know that it is a quieter stay and not a party hostel.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Ngo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. John and Erica were super friendly and helpful! Would stay longer if we could.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benoit Richer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: I had a lovely time in Sayta Hostal ?!! Jon was very welcoming and even took some time to spend with me and other travellers, showed us around and gave us lots of tips and good plans. The house itself is very nice and the atmosfear warm and cosy. I felt like at home !

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Walking distance to main area.

Disliked: Small room, but it worked. Colombia is expensive for what you get, as compared to other countries, and what the average wages are for the locals.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Lledín Vitos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 January 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó mucho el hostel! El personal muy simpático y dispuesto a ayudar, es un hostal familiar y se notaba que resultaba muy acogedor; además estaba muy limpio y decorado. La localización es también buena; hay dos hostel de la misma gente y los dos están muy cerca. Yo estuve en Sayta 2, que no es el de las fotos de acá, pero la decoración y el cuidado era muy similar. Las camas eran cómodas y calentitas.

Disliked: Las zonas comunes eran pequeñas y cuando el hostel estuvo lleno no se cabía.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Sayta! John and Erica, a brother-sister team who run the hostel, were absolutely amazing. We sat and chatted with them on a few occassions and they gave us great advice about the city and the country in general. The hostel is very small, which we prefer, and it had lots of character. The view from our room was pretty incredible as well. Breakfast was quite small but for the price we paid for our room, we couldn't complain! There was free tea and coffee available at all times, as well as use of the little kitchen. Great location, too. Easy to get to and from the airport and Monserratte is right nearby, along with many great restaurants and cafes.

Disliked: If I had to be picky, the washroom area is kinda open. Obviously there are doors to the showers and toilet stalls, but the sink is more open to the main area. But really, everything else overshadowed this for us and it didn't even bother my husband. If you like your privacy while washing your face, you might not like this!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Werner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel in a good area. The staff we're extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victor Organero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2014 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Good locaction, friendly staff and an at home feel.

Disliked: At home feel comes at cost of space and privacy. Bathrooms were basically on the kithen and dorms aren't roomy at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott butz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2014 scott would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, good coffee.

Disliked: nothing wrong here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: have been traveling for 3 months and ive had my most favorite days here. youre staying at johns home, if youre open and willing he will show you a side of the city you would miss out on as a tourist. we extended our stay, the people the place attracts are also great value. welcoming, close to attractions, friendly and homey atmosphere, thank you sayta :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Crowley

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 July 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location. John was so sweet & helpful! The place had great character!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Eaton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are so friendly, hospitible, helpful, and kind. We had tons of fun singing and playing music together every night and they made us feel right at home =)

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Howson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, felt like home. The rooms were really comfortable. What really made our stay was the family running the place, as it was our first time in South America let alone colombia they have us a warm welcome and were so incredibly helpful. It's probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in out of the world. We got ill and had to extend a night and they were very caring and offered plenty of help. We wouldn't think to stay anywhere else in bogota and I highly recommend

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Owner John happily spends considerable time talking to and helping guests. Hostel looked after our bags for two days before we arrived and let us stay until 9pm the day we left for a midnight flight.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful owner

Disliked: Small dormitorios

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Freeston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff - the most helpful we've met in 8 months - the guy went out of his way to make sure we had the best information and offers to take guests up to Montserrate when he's going up too. Good kitchen facilities, simple but good breakfast (croissants, jam, coffee), great HOT showers, comfortable beds. Quiet from 11pm - 8am (when street noise starts - but everyone in the hostel is very considerate). Good wifi. Pleasant atmosphere. Great location at the 'right' end of La Candelaria - bars and restaurants 100m away.

Disliked: Only one small thing - there's a 1000COP charge for towels (but obviously you can just use your own).


See all Bogota hostels