HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Musicology hostel

Hostel | Cll. 9 # 3 -15, La candelaria/Historic Center, Bogota, Colombia 00

83.7% Overall Rating

35 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2013)

Suzanne Lamoureux thinks…

"Fantastic staff, good vibes and great location. They also have a range of beers at their bar. Not a crazy party hostel but good to hang out, have some beers and see where the night takes you."

Read all Musicology hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel
15.54 USD

Hostel 92.7% 110 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
11.91 USD

Hostel 87.8% 68 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
15.54 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Alegria's Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 87.4% 90 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.80 USD

Hostel 89.8% 80 reviews
Hostal Mr Warrot
9.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.36 USD

Hostel 90.6% 53 reviews
Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.06 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

35 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Musicology hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Lamoureux

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, good vibes and great location. They also have a range of beers at their bar. Not a crazy party hostel but good to hang out, have some beers and see where the night takes you.

Disliked: Suzanne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a lot of big open spaces, as well as a big bar and chill out area. The rooms are big, clean and the bunk beds are larger than normal. The staff go out of their way to help you, and are very informative of the local area. The breakfast has fresh fruit everyday and as an added bonus, complimentary dinner every night.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rigel Humbert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Rigel would recommend this property

Liked: No es el mas barato pero el desayuno y la cena incluidos, cerca de los lugares turisticos en la candelaria , cafe todo el dia disponible.

Disliked: A una cuadra due un barrio poco seguro, si caminas en grupo esta bien pero de noche solo mejor taxi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the music and the staff is super helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Dirty bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

annabel church

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 March 2012 annabel would recommend this property

Liked: though it is not the party hostal it was advertized to be, with an almost empty bar and a policy to keep the noisedown after 10pm, it has a nice layout and atmosphere. good location, included meals, which do vary a bit in standard, but on the whole are good and help those of us on the skinnier budget. Added bonus of the gorgeous dog lola, and plenty of comunal space to socialize.

Disliked: my main complaint is one of theft, though i am aware that a hostal bears no responsibility for your posessions, i am under the very strong impression that it was a member of staff who stole from me. My hiking boots, a big yet understated investment got stolen whilst i slept, along with another guys shoes too (mine are not obviously feminine in style or size). The hostal were good and went though security cameras, but seemed more interested in diciplining badly behaved staff from the night before, and claimed that nobody unauthorized entered our room, and the only candidate for taking them is a memer of staff who stays in that room (only 2 guys, only one of which was there that night). i asked, before anyone checked out, can we please conduct a supervised search of lockers, but on this matter i was left hanging, they said they would contact me, that was nearly 2 weeks ago. it is a shame as i liked the hostal, but in the end was left with a bad taste in my mouth as i am almost certain they are covering for an alcoholic member of staff, who reportidly, never has any money. Though there are always risks in a hosatl, i am surprised they in no way seemed keen to locate and eject a thief in their hostal

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

shai ishshalom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 shai would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed 4 nights in Musicology, two people from the staff were very helful and friendly, the owner also very friendly. the cleaning lady kept our rooms clean and was friendly too. good atosphere.

Disliked: it's a bit far a walk from the center, the dinner included for free is nice but is defiently not enough only one dish,that is quite small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simone Cannizzo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and "ready to party" staff, good facilities.

Disliked: Nothing really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frienly staff, nice gardens with hammocks, bathroom en suite in all the rooms. It's not the party hostel people describe it to be though...

Disliked: Sheets that were too small for the mattresses (can be solved easily).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The included breakfast and dinner!

Disliked: Too many drinks were put on our bill. However they removed them without a lot of hassle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Kok

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is lovely, very helpful and always in for a talk or a joke. As the photos shown, the hostel is beautifull old, colourful, safe, very clean and it's always nice to start the day with a smile from Pauline, who also prepares the free breakfast. After, if you're lucky, you'll get free aerobics from Fred or you chill out in one of the hamacs. Yden, who's laugh you can hear everywhere in the hostel, will tell you everything you want to hear about the area. At night, upstairs and after the free dinner you can have a great time at the bar and listen to the silly jokes of night guard Pierre. At this place you can make friends for life. Thanks a lot guys!

Disliked: I read the overview this hostel gave itself but there is really nothing that I can disagree with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathilde Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff is really friendly, warm showers and you get a free dinner!

Disliked: Nothing except that its a bit cold but so is Bogota...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: Free brekfast and free dinner ( steak, not cheap pasta!) was brilliant. area is cold at night, but rooms are ok, blankets provided make the beds nice at night. showers are the best ive had in latin america yet, nice and hot! location is great, only 5 blocks from plaza bolivar. free wifi, good security, lockers with power socket under bed. comfortable beds, spacious rooms

Disliked: operate a bill service, so any drinks ect are paid for when you check out. check your bill, i was originally charged for many items i didnt have. no problems when i questioned it and it was removed straight away but remember to keep a list of what you have incase of any mistakes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place. Good chillout spots. Lots of helpful and fun staff. Free dinners!!

Disliked: Not much. Maybe the wifi signal could be stronger in the rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: Booked and confirmed an airport pickup and no one was there to get me. It's more of a party hostel and that's obvious when you're trying to check-in and the staff is more interested in where the group is going to party or trying to calculate the number of beers a guest had so they can pay. It was good for one night, but doubt I would stay there for an extended period of time.

Disliked: Disorganized, cleanliness, location was not that great from what I could tell.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

NIHAL MOHAMMED

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 NIHAL would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: Cant think of any

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jacob Fjors

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner was a nice touch and was good for meeting people, but it was a bit pot-luck as to how good either were. Underbed lockers with power were a welcome change from sleeping with my laptop. After a few quiet weeks thought it would be good to go to a party hostel (so despite previous review stating issues with noise - we thought this was positive), was surprised to be met with a very quiet hostel on both fri and sat nights.

Disliked: Shared bathroom needs a touch up.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011

Liked: It was in the nicer area of Bogota, La Candelaria, close to some restaurants and the Plaza Bolivar.

Disliked: Some of the staff were loud all night, shouting, playing guitar and singing until the early hours of the morning. There was not always anyone on reception, the bar or the kitchen to answer the door to guests, serve food and drinks or answer questions. Many of the staff do not appear to know what they are doing and there appears to be no management in place. The TV room is above the bar so you cannot relax without loud music playing. If you want to party in the bar there is little atmosphere, few tables and not enough glasses or ice to serve customers. Some of the free dinners are OK, others are bad and there is not enough cutlery to go around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Rosin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the hostel. Has potential to be a really fun party hostel bc the people there are great. Free breakfast and dinner is a great dinner no matter what it tastes like.

Disliked: The bar closed at 1! to get a beer afterwards we had to wait until 7 in the morning. A bar that stayed open later would attract more people to the party hostel that they promote they are.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the garden and outdoor area is nice. the staff are very friendly and helpful in awkward situations. they offer both breakfast and dinner. they have a tv area which is nice. they toiletries available to buy at reception. good value for money

Disliked: noisy, no hot water, mattresses are too hard. not very clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo Cavalcante Mendes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Staff, nice parties

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool bar, large hostel would be good when filled with a fun group of people. sturdy bunks that dont move when people on them

Disliked: not the cleanest, the american girl on the desk was rude and unfriendly. dont get your washing done here its over priced and everyone had things missing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Maddicott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Really sociable place to meet people. everyone is really friendly and staff very knowledable and eager to help! TV room is great for relaxing if its raining! Power points in lockers were a good thing!!

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty poor (bread butter and coffee), and the dinner, while free was of varying quality from a great chicken curry to not so good spaghetti,

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Samuel Webster Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2011

Liked: people

Disliked: cleanliness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eric Koob

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 March 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people I met at Musicology and the staff was great! The party bus was amazing!

Disliked: The showers were tough to get to stay warm... It would stay at a good temp for 15 seconds and then get either way too hot or way too cold!! One day the cook left before she was supposed to leave and the hostel couldn't serve food, which sucked because it was Sunday and nothing was open around the hostel so we didn't eat that night...


See all Bogota hostels