HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Hostal Casa Quevedo

Guesthouse | Carrera 1ra A Nº 13-30, Bogota, Colombia -

93.1% Overall Rating

65 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2014)

Meggan Green thinks…

"bfast is good, lockers are good, owner will go out of his way to help you, feels homey, good spot in candelaria, first hostel to understand "loft" in terms of blankets and keeping warm"

Read all Hostal Casa Quevedo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Hostel Casa 32 dc
12.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
A Mi Refugio
16.10 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
San Francisco de Asis
49.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Casa Club Delau
36.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Bogota Real
40.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 9 reviews
Hotel Casa Sabelle
14.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel El Virrey
29.27 USD

Hotel 82.7% 27 reviews
Fatima Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 61.6% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

65 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Quevedo'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meggan Green

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Meggan would recommend this property

Liked: bfast is good, lockers are good, owner will go out of his way to help you, feels homey, good spot in candelaria, first hostel to understand "loft" in terms of blankets and keeping warm

Disliked: not sealed -- all noise and weather comes in, being on the plaza in bogota that means artesenias before and after drinking and freezing cold. also some things are in disrepair (like locks on bathroom doors).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pedro N

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: This place was really nice. The staff was amazing.

Disliked: Just disliked there was no kitchen really available. But it's possible to have some nice and cheap meals in Bogota. The staff will point out some alternatives for you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Loov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto, the owner, is a great man. He's friendly and very helpful. As soon as we entered the house we felt good. Its a nice atmosphere and very relaxed feeling to it. It was our first week in Colombia at the time and Roberto helped us with our spanish and it was lovely. The location is great! Just outside the square where dance, music and performances are happening every day and night. Walking distance to everything you need!

Disliked: Like everywhere where they have a electric shower, it's the same story... But! Just take the one downstairs and u will be just fine :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Courtney Merner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Pros - great location, decent breakfast (scrambled eggs, bun, and coffee/tea), very friendly staff, the liveliness of the plaza outside (some may not like the noise but it doesn't last all night), pretty solid wifi

Disliked: Cons - Beds and pillows are a bit firm, showers are generally cold (good pressure though)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

feliks kostyuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 feliks would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in the heart of city, close to night life, museums, good shops, transmilenium station.

Disliked: kitchen is a bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

desiree ashwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 desiree would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. little plaza right in front. mat be loud on weekend nights but always quiet after11. we actually came back to this hostel when we returned to Bogotá. sraff very helpful with taxis, directions, etc. breakfast is crossant, eggs, and coffee. owners are great with lots of personality

Disliked: Nothing. a transformer blew in the neighborhood on our last night bit got candles and still had coffee and breakfast in the morning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well positioned property

Disliked: Very basic room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Solimar Colon Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2013 Solimar would recommend this property

Liked: Good owner, really friendly. Quiet place which I love

Disliked: Solimar left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in old town, free breakfast, lovely owners- always willing to help.

Disliked: Originally booked a double private, on arrival was moved to a twin room because other travelers extended their stay in the room. As far as I'm concerned that's a bit backwards, if somebody wants to extend their stay and the room is booked, they are the ones that need to move.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Without a doubt one of the best hostels we`ve stayed in during our South American travels. The owners are friendly, helpful, and the hostel has a lovely atmosphere. It`s location is excellent, with all the bars and restuarants of La Candelaria within walking distance. Nice breakfast included and the facilities at the hostel are amazing - comfortable beds, clean toilets and common area with sofas, flatscreen TV with digibox and DVDs! If you are visiting Bogota we would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto and Eduardo were a very helpful pair and made the stay there great, the room was comfy and the shower warm. They went out of their way to show us parts of Bogota including the El Día De Los Reyes festival. The square the hostel is on is also teaming with young people and performers in the evenings and it was a nice place to hang out.

Disliked: The Candelaria doesn't feel hugely safe, but taxis are plentiful, metered and cheap so if in doubt just take one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Boyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This is a charming, homely hostel located on a bustling little plaza in the old part of town. It's run by a really friendly father-son duo who were really accommodating to us, relaxed about check-in/check-out times etc.

Disliked: One small thing - we were not given a front door key so we had to wake up the hostel owners when returning late at night. Otherwise, no complaints!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lively, bohemian scene at the square, right outside the front door! Wasn't noisy though. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was really nice- the father working there was amazingly friendly and helpful, everything was clean and well looked after and free breakfast was really nice. Our private room was great value for money. The hostel is quiet- great for a chillout which is what we wanted but if you're looking for something else than it may not be so ideal :)

Disliked: As others have said the rooms downstairs can be very noisy as music is played until from 5/6ish until 9/10 at night. but it didn't affect our sleeping or anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are incredibly friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is incredibly nice and friendly. He and his son will show you around and cook breakfast in the morning, private rooms are real good value and there's plenty of computers for free internet! location is spot on as well

Disliked: not necessarily a bad thing but the hostel is pretty quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this Colombian owned hostel went far beyond any expectations with their help. On one occasion the owner's son spent two hours with me outside of the hostel acting as my translator. The location is great for a lively atmosphere throughout the evening and very central in La Candelaria. The internet connection was fast and they have many computers available. They printed, photocopied and let me do laundry for no extra charge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Belinda Stockman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value and great location. The owner was very friendly and made us feel welcome and safe. He even walked us down the street to show us a place to eat. After staying there for two nights, we managed to see a fair bit of the city because we were in such a central location. There are many cafes and bars near by too. The room was decent too.

Disliked: We arrived late at night and didn't feel that safe arriving at this hostel in the plaza at this time of night. If we had known it was unsafe at this time, we would have made more effort to notify the hostel we would be arriving late. We were unaware that the city was like this after 11, so some more info about this on the website could be helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is situated right on a bohemian square in La Candalaria, definitely the coolest and most hip part of Bogota in our opinion. Roberto the owner bent over backwards to assist us in any way he could. Even when I was sick in my room he wasn't angry about the mess, he just made me a special fresh peppermint tea to help settle my stomach. On the Friday night the atmosphere on the doorstep of our hostel was something we could have only dreamed of. Young and old sitting around with guitars and singing, juggling with fire, and basically just enjoying life and each other. Very cool vibe in this square, great little Parisian style eateries down every lane you can find, cheap too. Roberto also cooked us omelettes and croissants and made us fresher than you could imagine coffee each morning for free, no matter how early or late we arose. Thanks Roberto & thanks Bogota for a refreshing taste of people being kind to each other!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful hosts. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here much longer than expected and we had a great, peacefull time in Casa Quevedo. The owners are very friendly and helpful, gave us importent information about security, the city, the sights, restaurants...about every thing we asked. La Plazoleta Del Chorro is the best location to stay right in the heart of the beautiful historic center. It`s not noisy, it`s a city and there is life going on! We enjoyed to listen to the young crowd singing and making music, usually by 23:00 they are gone. Not to forget; the breakfast they made for us every morning was delicious!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadja Pietzsch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2012 Nadja would recommend this property

Liked: familiar atmosphere, very friendly people, beautiful house

Disliked: nada :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Washer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Located right on a sociable square in la candelabra, this place offered great location for a couple of backpackers. The owner speaks reasonable English and is only too happy to help. He makes sure you are sorted and even kept reminding us to keep our passports locked up! The hostel is small and cosy with a relaxed atmosphere. Free wifi, computers with Internet, washing facilities and tv common area.

Disliked: Not the flashest bathrooms nor spotlessly clean but perfectly manageable. Simple kitchen also not so clean but adequate. The square certainly gives you more of a taste of la candelabra, with youths siting outside smoking, drinking, juggling and practicing rope walking. Harmless but a bit noisy at night. But it just adds to the atmosphere


See all Bogota hostels