HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Hostal Casa Quevedo

Guesthouse | Carrera 1ra A Nº 13-30, Bogota, Colombia -

93.9% Overall Rating

63 out of 65 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Hanna Loov thinks…

"Roberto, the owner, is a great man. He's friendly and very helpful. As soon as we entered the house we felt good. Its a nice atmosphere and very relaxed feeling to it. It was our first week in…"

Read all Hostal Casa Quevedo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Hostel Casa 32 dc
12.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
A Mi Refugio
17.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
San Francisco de Asis
49.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Casa Club Delau
38.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Bogota Real
40.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 9 reviews
Hotel Casa Sabelle
15.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel El Virrey
31.08 USD

Hotel 82.7% 27 reviews
Fatima Hostel
9.32 USD

Hostel 59.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

63 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Quevedo'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 64 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central. Owner Roberto is very helpful.

Disliked: As a result of it's very central location, it can be a bit noisy at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice enough. The owner is a really nice guy. Good location

Disliked: Not many people staying here. Reception often unattended so you had to wait ages to be let into the hostel. The square outside can get a bit loud at night. Wi-fi didn't work. Shower not very hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is lovely and very helpful. Nice clean rooms and good location in the La Calenderia area close to tourist attractions.

Disliked: No hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Bonnes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, right in the heart of the old town. Massive tv in the communal area but the star was Roberto who is probably the most helpful hostel owner I've come across, he really cared that everything was ok for us and was kind enough to let us keep our room all the following day without extra charge because we were catching a nightbus.

Disliked: I was a little cold - although this has more to do with Bogota than the hostel.... there were nice blankets on the beds!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: Good internet

Disliked: Not that clean and really noisy in the room because teenagers gather to party in the square in front of the hostel. Not really an easy place to meet people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto is one of the most helpful hostel owners we've meet. Mucho Gracias Roberto

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay and a lot computers available

Disliked: No 24 hours reception. The kitchen was a bit small and not really clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel, maybe the best one in Colombia. Good location, staff is very friendly and helpful. Very flexible too as for checkin/out times, that's why I like these independent hostels so much. Rooms are not that spacious but the quality of beds is superb and that's more important after all. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at this wonderful place many times in my travels through the region- Roberto and Edwardo (father and son) are very helpful, friendly guys. Very clean, the architecture is very classic and charming, the Wi-Fi works great, the place is very, very safe, and there is a HUGE variety of things to do....all within a 5 minute walk. They'll even take care of your laundry for you! The prices are great as well. I've stayed at many places, and these guys really care about what they do- the best of the best.

Disliked: Nada- This place is great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amardeep D'Amaro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Amardeep would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had great character, we really felt at home here. It was in a great location, and the owner was extremely helpful and friendly. He gave us useful information about the area, and did our laundry for us at a great price!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful. Helped us out with bus tickets. Got us cheap taxis and just was very nice!!! The location as well is perfect, in the centre of la candelaria, one of the hip and arty barrios of town with a lot of bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from. Definitely worth a stay.

Disliked: no lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nickolas Tripodis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Nickolas would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel had a nice atmosphere and nice layout. The staff couldnt of been any nicer. We initialy only booked in for 2 nights but ended up staying over a week. Roberto and his son Eduardo did every thing they could to make our stay perfect. Eduardo advised on places to go and we even went out a few times with him. Once for a meal and then out to a night club. The location is really good to, its in a square where every night there is something happening. From jugglers, to people playing music. Next time I'm in Bogota I'l look forward to visiting again. Nick & Su

Disliked: Nothing. There was a guy complaining of the shower when I was there, but i was using the same shower every day and it was red hot. I dont think he was using it properly, you dont need to turn it on fully as it will try and compensate and pumping extra cold water.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely guys Eduardo and Roberto, also the location was excellent

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is a great man. helps with everything.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were there in the low season, so not many others around but we still enjoyed our stay. The owner went out of his way to be helpful to us (he speaks English well) with detailed directions to help us with sightseeing. He also made us delicious coffee each morning and brought us lovely rolls (rositas? rojitas?) for breakfast (I don't think this is usually part of the deal but if you're there in the low season perhaps you'll get spoiled a bit too!). On our final day we didn't have to be at the airport until 7pm and the owner kindly allowed us to leave our bags in the room until we needed to leave so we could spend the day travelling to the Catedral de Sal at Zipaquira (worth a visit!). Another good point was that the rooms have shutters which allow them to be very dark during daylight hours (you can also have them open), so if you like to sleep in this is very helpful! Overall we would certainly recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: No hot water in the showers was a bit tough! The hostel is located in a very noisy spot. The plaza outside is an area where people congregate and busk and there are many bars close by (we were there on a Saturday and Sunday night, so that may have impacted how noisy it was). The noise does reduce significantly by about 10 or 11pm though. If you're planning on going out clubbing be aware that there is a 3am curfew here - places in Zona Rosa close around 4am though, so not that big a deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is safe clean and has great internet connection as well as TV. What makes this property so much better than others is the owner and his son, who are both super friendly and go out of their way to help you with anything you ask for. Plus the location is very interesting, not only because it is in the historical part of the city but also because of the god offer of bars and restaurants near by (altough not exactly best value for money) and the artist who meet on the square in front of the hostal. Can only recomend it!

Disliked: Nothing, I loved it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAUL CARRINGTON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly staff who are extremely helpful... Top Marks

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, father&son duo is very helpful and friendly. Whatever you need help wiht, they will do their best to answer your questions, make arrnagements for buses, etc.

Disliked: The room and kitchen could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris henry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great hostel and its located in a cool square, close to restaurants, cafe and bars, also the guy who own its roberto he is very helpful and friendly, i would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: the showers are cold

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel fisher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the owner. He made our stay very enjoyable because he is extremely helpful. He provides free coffee, offers laundry service for really cheap and will assist in anything you ask. They also have a computer room with about 6 computers and wifi if you brought your own. One night we couldn't get a taxi, so he waited with us outside for nearly 30 mins until we finally got one he could confirm we were off safely. Very enjoyable!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful and couldnt do enough for us. Location is great, right by lots of little bars.

Disliked: Quiet and lacked atmosphere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Diener

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The owner (Roberto) and his son (Eduardo) were very hospitable. For example, we got in late on a Sunday night and the restaurants were closed they made us food. Would definitely stay there again... The rooftop terrace was nice for chilling out. The free internet was great. Overall very good in terms on proximity to bars and cool things to see/do.

Disliked: Cold showers (like most other places in the country). At times the area is somewhat seedy (in comparison to the Zona Rosa) but not too bad overall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

cynthia dawson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: The owner culd not have been more helpful, nothing was to much trouble. I thought the location was perfect, although the fact that it is not on a road made it difficult for the taxi driver to find. I would recommend Casa Queveda to other people.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, lots of computers (7 or 8), good beds, clean, lots of space. Can easily recommend this hostel to other travelers!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Burns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of the staff, excellent location

Disliked: nothing


See all Bogota hostels