We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of North House Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 18 #80-66, Bogota, Colombia -

89.3% Overall Rating

64 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Royal Williams thinks…

"The location of this hostel is it's biggest perk. Being walking distance from the popular clubs and bars in Bogota was so convenient and saved me a lot of money on taxis. Also, easy access to every…"

Read all North House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Chapinorte Hostel
21.96 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
Chapinorte V.I.P.
21.96 USD

Hostel 89.8% 50 reviews
Los Andes Hostel
21.10 USD

Hostel 85.9% 40 reviews
Los Andes Boutique Guesthouse
48.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Quinta
34.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Falcon
19.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Kozii Hostel D.C
12.20 USD

Hostel 84.0% 5 reviews
12:12 Hostels
12.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

64 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'North House Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Royal Williams

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Royal would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is it's biggest perk. Being walking distance from the popular clubs and bars in Bogota was so convenient and saved me a lot of money on taxis. Also, easy access to every transportation was another thing I liked. The vibe here is chill and the people you meet here are great as well. More than once I ended up going out in Zona Rosa with people I had met at the hostel. Overall I had a good experience, and it was a great place to stay as I was in between apartments.

Disliked: The wifi isn't that strong in some of the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Mendes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2014 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the best nocturnal life in Bogota.

Disliked: Doesnt have Touristic information nor trips.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly at the North House Hostel. The place was clean and maintained The hostel attracted a very awesome and diverse group of people. The stay here was a very pleasant experience.

Disliked: The WiFi wasn't always strong, especially in our room. There wasn't enough bathrooms. If you stay here, shower at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Fernando Venancio de Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Luiz Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It is an excellent small hostel in the safest area of Bogota. You can easily walk around in the neighborhood at night and go to the bars on zona T yourself. excellent location and excellent facilities. I stayed here 4 times and they are always getting better.

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice staff

Disliked: old facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and very helpful,quiet at night

Disliked: hard to get a warm shower, ie either hot or cold

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Zenteno

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

18 July 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The house is big and has a nice small backyard. The ambient is great, with a living room where people meet to chat, and where you can play video games or watch TV when you want to relax. There is a grill outside when people often BBQ or chill. There is even a fridge full of beer for thirsty travelers! What is a real advantage is the location of the hostel, in the Zona Rosa, close to lots of stores, nice restaurants and most important, a very secure area... My wife was delighted!

Disliked: Nothing, only good things to say about this place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, very close to a lot of bars and restaurants in Zona T. The price was also very good.

Disliked: It lacked character and a backpacker - type atmosphere. It was quite quiet with little interaction with other travellers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, close to zona t, close to bus station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larry Gordon

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

31 March 2013 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 5 minute walk from Transmilenio, walking distance to lots of cafes, supermarket, night life, very safe newighborhood. We stayed here eight nights with a group of 13 singers participating in the America Cantat international choral festival. dorm rooms are a bit crowded, but comfortable beds, linens and towels provided. Washer and dryer available. Good showers, once you learned how to control the hot water (which is unlimited since there are on-demand hot water heaters).

Disliked: Kitchen has only cold water in the sink and and is pretty cramped for cooking. There are only two toilets which often made for lines for the bathrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Considine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Compared to most hostels in Bogota, North House is in a great location - safe and secure, even at night. The staff are very friendly and helpful (and Oscar even speaks good English - a definite bonus if, like me, you speak very little Spanish). The communal areas are plentiful, with a good kitchen, fast internet and decent TV lounge. Highly recommended!

Disliked: The only thing lacking is a good book exchange.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tenny Grigorian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Tenny would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a comfortable mattress and the air was warmer than the hostels in Candelaria (I think because it is in a newer building / thicker walls), so I sometimes didn't even need a blanket. It was a calm and quite hostel. There are a lot of communal spaces available, for reading or going online, and a nice stocked kitchen to cook in. Even though all the showers didn't have hot water, I was happy that some did and it was always available when I needed it. Oh, and I like that they gave me a towel upon arrival.

Disliked: Not the hostel's fault, but there were a lot of 60+ aged men staying there, which is not typical in a hostel. And I didn't appreciate the 70-year-old French man fondling his balls every morning right in front of me, jaja! (But again, this is not the hostel's fault.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KOHLHEIM CHRISTIAN

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 March 2013 KOHLHEIM would recommend this property

Liked: reception is great, people very helpful, everything very clean and tidy, placed in very secured place in Bogota in the middle of a most moving neightbourhood, the hostel is very secured as well, Oscar at the reception is a most pleasant person, very nice to talk to, and always available to give any kind of advices I have been in many hostels in Bogota and North Hostel is from far the one I prefer acording to all the points above submited

Disliked: nothing entirely please

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Kruppa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 March 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great...close to Zona Rosa but far enough away so it wasn't noisy. Very safe area. Laundry on premises, which seems to be extremely difficult to find otherwise.

Disliked: I didn't like that you didn't have a key to the front door...had to ring the bell to get in. If you wanted to stay out late, you pretty much had to wake someone up to get back in. Two different times I needed a shower amd the water was ice cold. They have a tankless heater so it shouldn't ever be an issue. Also, I felt like the owner tried to scam me and my friends with the rent. One night was paid for online but he tried to charge us again for that night. Happened to more than one of us too. He wasn't there all the time but when he was, there was a different energy in the house. He just seems grumpy and unhappy and doesn't know how to be a good welcoming host. When his employee Oscar was in charge, it was a fun place to be. Oscar knows how to greet people and make sure they are enjoying their stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Della Gaspera

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 February 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location its great and secure. Theres a lot of bars and discos near the hostel. The staff are very cool whit the people.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The property is a bit noisy during the night, the bathroom is not that clean, and there are no towels included into the room price. The room was not clean, and despite we were not blond, the bed and the blankets were full of blond hair.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Plunkett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in Zona Rosa for all bars, restaurants, etc. Oscar at the desk was very helpful. Would def recommend

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Judit Ungvari Martin

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2012 Judit would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. Close to both Transmilenio and the fun bars and restaurants in the Zona Rosa.

Disliked: There were no towels in the room. The bathroom was somewhat messy, and only cold water in the sinks. It is also loud, although that may have been due to the particular group of people in the dorms!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Seal

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: North House has been a very special place for me. It has a very special atmosphere that can't be described in a paragraph. The location is great, nice and safe and plenty to do in terms of night life. The value is great. I highly recommend North House!!

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Willox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice to be in the modern part of town and close to good restaurants and bars at night. Although is about 20 mins from La Candelaria where the sites are but the bus ride is easy. Private room was nice and big, hostel was fairly quiet so easy to sleep.

Disliked: Showers were awful! Inside ones cold water only and outside ones were scalding hot one minute, ok the next and then ice cold for a few minutes while the boiler heated and the cycle repeated. We didn't shower for the next two days! Laundry service costs 15,000. Double bed was extremely narrow so not too much room to move. Had to prove that we'd paid the 10% deposit by showing reservation email.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgios Chrysanthidis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Georgios would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and safe area, friendly stuff that try to help and locate people all the time, good atmosfere

Disliked: Georgios left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anthony Filhol

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: fast internet, a place to relax under a tree in the garden

Disliked: sewage system needs reparing. An awfull smell goes occasionally through the house.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Sherman

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff/ Andy is the best. Extremely helpfull and friendly. The Hostel is in a great location, safe and close to late night food ;). I highly recommend the area if you're looking to get some sleep and enjoy meeting people.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels