We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of North House Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 18 #80-66, Bogota, Colombia -

89.3% Overall Rating

64 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Royal Williams thinks…

"The location of this hostel is it's biggest perk. Being walking distance from the popular clubs and bars in Bogota was so convenient and saved me a lot of money on taxis. Also, easy access to every…"

Read all North House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Chapinorte Hostel
21.96 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
Chapinorte V.I.P.
17.08 USD

Hostel 89.8% 50 reviews
Los Andes Hostel
20.74 USD

Hostel 85.9% 40 reviews
Los Andes Boutique Guesthouse
44.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Quinta
36.59 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Falcon
19.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Kozii Hostel D.C
12.20 USD

Hostel 84.0% 5 reviews
12:12 Hostels
13.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

64 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'North House Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 66 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arthur Soroken

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the best staff ever. Andy is the man! This place is one of the best kept secrets in bogota. It's clean, friendly, cheap and centrally located to a lot of fun places.

Disliked: Nothing. I loved this place

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIOBHAN HEANUE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 SIOBHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Andy & Oscar are always friendly & helpful, excellent location, comfy TV room, decent computers, fantastic WiFi, well stocked kitchen, clean & tidy

Disliked: Needs more lockers & showers need some work. Can oscillate between hot & cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice common areas, clean room, and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012

Liked: The guys who run the hostel are lovely, however they are a bit misguided. I doubt their position of little competition in zona rosa will last long and they will need to pick up their game big time.

Disliked: There is no point in booking a double room in this hostel. They never keep the reservation. They gave ours away twice. The second time we went to a 3 star hotel and got a much nicer room for the same price. Also none of the rooms have working locks and there are only a few lockers in the whole place. When asked about it they said no problem because other travellers wouldn't steal, haha yeah right.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Cumming

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: During this, my first visit to Colombia, I stayed at the North House Hostel. It's been a great experience. The staff are most helpful and speak English which is great since my espanol is nada. Travelling to Argentina from Canada on a motorcycle the security of my bike is important to me. I was able to bring the bike through the hostel and leave it in the rear garden area. Met some great people and the location of the North House is ideal for exploring the city. I never felt unsafe on the streets around Zona Rosa even later at night. Met some great people and had a blast. Oh, and I've got 55 candles on my birthday cake.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: n

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: niet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excelent!

Disliked: It could be cleaner.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel to anyone. We had booked on Hostelbookers for 2 nights. When we had arrived we were put off right away because North House Hostel is run down and dirty. There was no professionalism at all in the hostel, they had put us in the wrong room and then after an hour of being there asked us to change. Once we were put into the right room we were then informed that we did not get a key to our private room which did not make me feel comfortable with all of my belongings because our room was unlocked the whole time. There was never anyone at the front desk because the owner and apparently the only person who knows anything about rooms and basic hostel situations was sleeping. Might I add that Diego the owner was sleeping the whole time. He was passed out in the TV area, so if you wanted to watch a movie then you had to sit next to the owner snoring on the coach. He had told us that if we needed anything he was there to help, I did not understand, was I suppose to wake him up. One girl actually had to wake him up to pay her bill and it was 7pm! We had also asked if we could stay an extra 2 nights on top of the ones we have already booked. Diego said NO PROBLEM, well after our 2 nights were over he knocked on our door and told us he had booked out our room and this sort of stuff happens all the time. We had told him 3 times that we wanted to stay longer. Annoyed with everything at North House Hostel we just packed up and left. If you want a place that may or may not take your reservation, be absolutly NO help and that is dirty then take a chance at North House Hostel.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sander Ruitenbeek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

24 July 2011 sander would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and welcoming and invited us to a pub crawl just 5 minutes after we walked in. Thanks Diego! :)

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is its main feature. It is just one or two blocks away from the many bars and restaurants of Zona Rosa. The staff and extremely helpful and like to involve you in the nights out around the local bars. Its also right near the Transmilenio bus station so you can get one bus to the La Candelaria area in 20 mins.

Disliked: The showers are the only thing I found a little dissapointing. They are hot and work fine but they are in a little out house that you need to access through the kitchen (so it means walking through the whole hostel in your towel)... other than that its great and we decided to stay 2 extra nights!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

maria belen de grandis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 maria belen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really nice. The staff (Andy & Camilo) are really fun and very helpfull. Is a good option if you want a quiet place in a good location.

Disliked: the kitchen. It is really poor. You can't try to cook or something similar because you don't have the thing to do it.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friendly, the beds are very good and sturdy which means they aren´t noisy if someone gets up in the night. The people who work in the hostel are really helpful. The showers are good and the location is in a safe area.

Disliked: The cafe closed for Semana Santa. There didnt seem to be any lockers in the room I was in however I think there were lockers in the other rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe location, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LAL BAHADUR K CHATRI

Alone

Shopping

27 March 2011 LAL BAHADUR would recommend this property

Liked: Still I am staying at this hostel and next 4 days more I wanto to continious again. everything is good.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price,normal location

Disliked: not too clean, have no any activitoes

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephan Poser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: close to zona rosa nice area nice atmosphere

Disliked: not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location! really friendly place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Cooke

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 November 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: The next door cafe is part of the family & for breakfast all you had to do was give your order through the connecting door & they would do deliver it to you in the hostel.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Yancy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: This place is the best budget option in the Zona Rosa. Good, clean rooms. Nice and quiet in the evening for sleeping, but easy enough to meet other travelers during the day. Staff is helpful and speaks english. View from upstairs and the patio is great;)

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Godsell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: One toilet for many patrons

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Benner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

09 October 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great value for the money.

Disliked: 2 toilets for all the guests. 1 shower that was sometimes warm. With only 1 shower and 2 toilets I was surprised that there was only occassional waiting line.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Holland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly.

Disliked: Cold showers, barely running water in sinks, taxi had difficulty finding it.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

13 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Next to the Zona Rosa, where a lot is going on and the nightlife is great (far better than in Calenderia). The garden is great and the kitchen/commenroom also. The place has a great hostel-atmosphere. Security is top and to central Bogota it is just 20 min by Metrobus.

Disliked: To be fair: The Hostel just started to run (for weeks), so one have to give some time, till everything running perfekt (but they are improving as the owner listens to advice). Still I have to mention, even if the hostel is a really good place to stay it is not the 100% Hostel as it was rated before. Especially the shower-situation is not ideal (just one hot water shower, where the water is just occasionally hot/ it depends on the time). It is also always a little bit of gambling, if the internet is working or not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay with North House Hostel. The hostel is new and has a very homey feel. Great bunks! My night out in the bars near the hostel was also tons of fun and should not be missed if you like to party. I´ll definitely be returning to Bogota and NHH!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels