We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Los Andes Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 13A No. 79-07, Bogota, Colombia 11001000

85.9% Overall Rating

35 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/01/2013)

Ana Necrici thinks…

"Los Andes was a real cosy and clean hostel with helpful staff and an incredibly cute cat. It's located near a large, modern mall and 6 blocks away from the TransMilenio (Bogota rapid bus system with…"

Read all Los Andes Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Chapinorte Hostel
21.96 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
Chapinorte V.I.P.
17.08 USD

Hostel 89.8% 50 reviews
North House Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 70 reviews
Los Andes Boutique Guesthouse
49.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Quinta
34.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Falcon
19.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Kozii Hostel D.C
12.20 USD

Hostel 84.0% 5 reviews
12:12 Hostels
13.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

35 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Los Andes Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ana Necrici

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Los Andes was a real cosy and clean hostel with helpful staff and an incredibly cute cat. It's located near a large, modern mall and 6 blocks away from the TransMilenio (Bogota rapid bus system with designated bus lanes). The night life in the streets around it is very good.

Disliked: The hot showers were only luke warm.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Charalambous

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jim Kruppa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 February 2012 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Like the other reviews, I concur with their statements: this hostel is very clean, safe, friendly and located in a great area. The staff is very friendly and helpful, although they don't speak English very well. But I came to their country...I should have learned some Spanish before I came. It's in a great location right near the malls and nightlife, yet far enough away to not be too noisy. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Free breakfast in the hostel. It's very safe and secure....even to walk the streets at night. After staying here I feel Colombia gets a bad rap in the American media. It was my first time to Colombia and I was concerned about crime and poverty. I'm sure there are some problem areas but I didn't see it here. It is very modern, safe and easy to get around. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Bathrooms are kinda small but adequate. My biggest problem with the place was there was no where to do laundry. And since I stayed 12 days it was a big problem. They have a washing machine but no dryer. No laundromats in the area except one commercial place that wanted $40 to do one load of laundry. I just ended up washing a few things in the sink and buying some new stuff.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great secure location with very friendly staff.

Disliked: There was lot of MOLD on room's roof due to moisture damage. And whole hostel was freezing cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security.

Disliked: After 11 PM you cannot watch the TV in the common room. Also, the toilet was on the fritz.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location to british embassy, clean and friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say it was perfect and we could not have asked for anything more. Very quiet, clean, friendly, helpful and good food. Close to the main commercial area and also to the main area of bars and clubs in the area. I will definately be back to Bogota in the future and I hope that I will be able to stay here again.

Disliked: it was a perfect place,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: Double bed was far too small for two (normal sized) people, breakfast wasn't great, people not very helpful - they didn't know what bus went to La Candelaria, and couldn't call a cab to take us to the airport.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt safe and secure at all times, albeit the first day when we arrived, we had to go throught the spanish inquisition to get entry. Location is great just off the Zona Rosa

Disliked: One of the staff members was so helpful (Geraldo), but the other guy just wanted to scam us for money all the time. On our first night he put us in what he told us was a double delux room, but the ´double´bed was only 8 cm wider than the beds in the twin room that Geraldo moved us to for the following night. The trips they sell are 2-3 times the price of the tour companies on the street and you pay a massive premium if you book as a single person eve though you may end up with other people. Breakfast was pretty poor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Afonso Morales

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 July 2011 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included Maps and books in many languages are available

Disliked: Nothing that I disliked

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in zona rosa. Lovely modern hot and clean showers. Very quiet but great if you want to get away from party hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very quiet and very clean. The staff were fantastic, they were very helpful with all our needs. Really relaxing place to stay on Bogota, whilst still being in the centre of the action!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Los Andes Hostel is probably the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in Latin America. Excellent LOCATION, beautiful garden, great hangout areas, Large kitchen, entertainment facilities, super helpful staff and delicious FREE BREAKFAST. Thanks for your service.

Disliked: All was excellent

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2011

Liked: near to a lot of clubs

Disliked: you get woken up by a hammer or a driller every day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anny Fajardo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Anny would recommend this property

Liked: It´s clean, safe and the people was so nice with me!. I was very happy with the information for turits in the city and outside the city, they were so helpfull for me

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, excellent location.

Disliked: Not much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the staff and the fact it felt so homely as it´s family run. They are very sweet people. It´s clean and the area is really safe and it´s a great location.

Disliked: Our room (off the kitchen) was a little noisy at times because the hostel was full. The downstairs shower is outside and Bogota is cold! There is another inside which is fine but it was often occupied....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Flynn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated near the Zona Rosa on a safe and relatively quiet street. WiFi access is good, breakfast is made personally for each guest. Rooms with windows to the outside are very pleasant. It is more like a guesthouse than a hostel with limited social space, which is great if, like me, you are looking for a quiet place to retire to at night. Good mattresses!

Disliked: Be aware that there is a big difference between rooms at this hostel. Interior rooms have small, high windows that do not face outside making them rather cell-like.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A smaller hostel. Seems to attract more of an older traveler. Good atmosphere though. Has a decent breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Wasn't much of a huge social atmosphere. The beds weren't super comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Kyriakopoulos

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2011 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and the hostel was extremely clean

Disliked: I liked everything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for the zona rosa, you get your own key so this makes you independent in the nights. Friendly staff that fluently speaks both spanish and english (guy studies in USA).

Disliked: Due to the time of year, there were only 2 others travellers in this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: HOLA AMIGOS!!! I stayed one week in Los Andes Hostel and had it was a great time. The people who work there were very friendly , the place was very clean, they have a big kitchen, great breakfast included and It´s very good located in the north, safe area (THE BEST HOSTEL SEEM DURING MY TRIP IN SOUTH AMERICA) I would recommend it, great location (near of the best night life of the city) and the good attitude of the guys who run the place, they helped me a lot with touristic information and other activities. Gracias,

Disliked: HOLA AMIGOS!!! I stayed one week in Los Andes Hostel and had it was a great time. The people who work there were very friendly , the place was very clean, they have a big kitchen, great breakfast included and It´s very good located in the north, safe area (THE BEST HOSTEL SEEM DURING MY TRIP IN SOUTH AMERICA) I would recommend it, great location (near of the best night life of the city) and the good attitude of the guys who run the place, they helped me a lot with touristic information and other activities. Gracias,

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jeff Faught

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 November 2010

Liked: The property was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. The location was great if you have a lot of money to spend. It was also very safe. The neighborhood is full of wealthy people and police. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: The host could barely speak english. They did not ask my name or greet me. They merely stared. I had to drag information out of them. The showers are located in a common area. The water was luke warm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great Experience!!! definitely stay again. Los Andes Hostel is the best option in Zone T (Zone Rosa) just one step to restaurants, bars, Shopping mall, the main embassy and easy to get to by public transport from main bus station (Trasmilenio)! The owners are super nice and made us Colombian breakfast and had lots of tips for stuff do in Bogota....highly recommend it. I love it here especially because there are people from all over the world. It's a great place to learn a lot in just a few day, very clean and safe place... I would recommend to others.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2010

Liked: nice staff, good location, good security

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels