HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Hostal Colonial la Quinta

Hostel | CALLE 12B BIS N ° 1-23, localidad de la Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia 11001

83.5% Overall Rating

54 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"The beds are good and the sheets are warm. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. It is a quiet hostel so you can sleep well. The facilities are good and colorful. That made it to a nice place."

Read all Hostal Colonial la Quinta reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please see the accomodation section for detailed room descriptions

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Explora Hostels
10.30 USD

Hostel 86.9% 50 reviews
Hotel Aragon
11.78 USD

Hotel 75.4% 5 reviews
Colombian Dream Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 90.0% 8 reviews
Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria
6.83 USD

Guesthouse 69.6% 20 reviews
Hostal Buenavida
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 4 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.29 USD

Hostel 85.9% 88 reviews
Fatima Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 61.6% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

54 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Colonial la Quinta'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 59 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014

Liked: The beds are good and the sheets are warm. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. It is a quiet hostel so you can sleep well. The facilities are good and colorful. That made it to a nice place.

Disliked: There was a small cute dog but she peed an shit in the common areas. We didn't have the impression that the owner cared a lot about it...the kitchen is small and although there weren't a lot people most of the time dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alllllllll good ! For sure a bit of noise like in all hostal of the district, but that's also why we staid in this area, no ?! People very kind, breakfast small but made with love, Reception very helpfull, bathroom shower super clean and hot water (very hot and all time !) .... For sure some people expect a five star hotel when they come in a hostel, sorry for them for living their life in an endless picky way !!! I recomand, and i'll be back !!!

Disliked: The review too picky from "travelers" on the net !!! They should maybe experience a bit more arsh places like India or Africa to understand how blessed we are to find hostel cheap and so nice, in The area where you have to be to meet Bogota !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, cozy room and quiet place. excactly what i was looking for.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice little hostel in a quiet part of La Candelaria but close to all the interesting parts. Our room was nice and clean, the bed big and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and provided good tips on the area. While not outstanding, the breakfast is ok (coffee or a tea, eggs and bread) and enough to get you started for the day.

Disliked: It's rather small and doesn't have much of a common area, so it may not be the best place to meet other travelers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the location and the friendly staff.

Disliked: It is a bit older and our room had a musty smell. It also smells of cinnamon, but not quite strong enough to get rid of the mustiness.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013

Liked: Decent location, although hostels closer to the bus station are much better.

Disliked: I turned up they didn't have my reservation, so they put me in a dorm (I'd booked a private) the dorm wasn't too bad so if that is what I'd wanted it would've been ok although they had the rock pillows that I'm about to mention. The next day I switched to a private, the bed was like a rock with a plastic cover and the pillows were also like rocks with plastic covers, fine if you're in a nursing home but as I rarely wet the bed this is not what I wanted. Not really any atmosphere in the hostel because it is quite small and there is only one small common area.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff were extremely rude during correspondence before arrival! They cancelled my booking after I questioned them about false information provided on HostelBookers.com. I tried to organize airport pickup, which was listed as an additional cost of $USD 13.88 on HostelBookers.com. I phoned the hostel before arrival to organize the pickup service and was informed that the cost would in fact be roughly $USD 22. This was annoying but I agreed to the inflated price as we were to arrive late at night and felt safer with transport already arranged. Later that same day, I received an email from the hostel stating the airport pickup price was now $USD 28 - double that listed on HostelBookers! So I responded and said that I would report that they had provided false information. At this point, the hostel advised me that they had cancelled my booking and that I should seek alternate accommodation (probably to avoid a bad review). Can't speak for the quality of the hostel, but VERY poor customer service and I would NOT be recommending this hostel whatsoever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josefina Ginevra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012 Josefina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is awwsomeee, very nice people, good atmosphere, its all very clean, free coffee anytime (very good coffee) and breakfast included also very good. I would totally recommend this hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a really good location. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: All of the toilets/bathrooms are located around the main eating area which can make it uncomfortable at times.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well kept with bright rooms.

Disliked: Very little character, and very small and cramped, without the atmosphere to make you feel comfortable there, so ended up feeling fairly awkward. Not really space for hanging out. The showers were cold, and there is no space to put clothes or get changed inside, so very little privacy when showering. We only stayed one night out of the four we had booked in for, as we preferred a place that was a little more comfortable to hang out in with a better vibe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Harald Weber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Harald would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It seems they didn't get or realize my (confirmed) reservation. (Also not after two additional emails). In a first step there was no double room (as per my reservation) available.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in Candalaria (Bogota old town). The colonnial archictecture of the hostel, and the surrounding area is very nice. It is excellent value for money. There are no hidden charges with this hostel - the breakfast is included in the price. The hostel also has two computers which can be used free of charge.

Disliked: The showers are ok, but there is some room for improvement.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of the staff was very good, free tasty coffee the whole day. Nice double room with TV. Breakfast was also good.

Disliked: Shower in the morning was cold. The hostel was very hard to find (taxi) because the street names had been changed recently, information in the directions would have been helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good spot in la candelaria, super clean. rooms cozy & spacious with lockers. cleaned every day, bathrooms spotless. good breakfast. 2 computers/internet available. super tight kitchen but well supplied & not so many people that it's crowded. right next to super cool plaza chorro de quevedo.

Disliked: layout and lack of space to chill. every room opens up to the small front desk area where there's noise & action almost all night. please don't use speaker phone at 1:00am! small dinning, bathroom, computer, laundry area only fits a few and there's nowhere else to chill.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luke Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who were very helpful for non-spanish speakers such as ourselves. Hostel is well located, with plenty of sights, cafes and bars within a short walk. Free wifi was great, and very handy for us to plan our next move after Bogota.

Disliked: The staff had music playing for most of the day and into the night, which is great for atmosphere, but got a bit loud when we were wanting to get some sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Barsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Good location! Staff very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel. I stayed here for four days, after moving from the far inferior Musicology Hostel. The staff are excellent and very friendly. The hostel is very clean and it gets the important basics right - comfortable beds, good linen and hot showers. The guest kitchen was the best out of any hostel I´ve stayed in - you can actually cook a proper meal. Breakfast is nice, if a little small, and there are some nice touches such as free Colombian coffee all day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Attard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Cool, clean and comfortable. Close to all of Bogota's colonial buildings and plazas also an abundance of Cafes close by.

Disliked: Dominic left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Poyner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hot showers, really secure and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012

Liked: It was clean. The woman who did most of the work there (cooking, cleaning, assisting guests, etc.) was very friendly and was constantly busy, the rest of the staff was just ok. I felt like she did all the work and they did nothing but sit around all day and just check in guests. The breakfast was good. Wifi was good and there was cable tv in the room. Good laundry service. Nice hot showers.

Disliked: It was loud. The hostel is small and is not set up well, so no matter what room you are in, it is going to be loud. The staff needs to keep this in mind too, as the guests can hear them and their friends talking, their phones ringing, etc. There is music is playing most of the day and it is too loud. The tv is also loud when guests decide to turn it on at 6am to watch a football game. The remote control should be taken away so that guests can not turn it on until an acceptable hour. A guest arrived at 3am one night while we were there and rang the bell about 10 times until someone finally answered it. What the heck took so long? It is not a quiet bell. Was he just hoping that they would go away??? We arrived around 7:30am and we waited a white too, until they let us in. Also, PLEASE get rid of the plastic pillows!!!!! So uncomfortable to sleep on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Sonten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2012 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really friendly and tried to help as much as they can. the price is really good. breakfast is included. all in all i enjoyed the stay in this hostel and would book it again, if i come to bogota again.

Disliked: Leonard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost like a hotel with a new towel everyday and newly made bed. :) 18'000 COP per night (8bed dorm).

Disliked: Breakfast is okay but nothing rare..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stefano de cristofaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 stefano would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, good location.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people. The hostel is very clean, your bed is made up daily, and your clothes nicely folded if you make a big mess like me. Clean towels every day as well. Breakfast is nice with juice and fried eggs.

Disliked: The only thing missing is a tv room or somewhere to sit down besides the breakfast table.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magnus Blomstedt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Magnus would recommend this property

Liked: Super good value for the rate, great breakfast plus clean and tidy.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Bogota hostels