HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Colonial La Quinta Bogota Hostel

Calle 12B BIS # 1-23, Bogota, Colombia

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 80%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 84%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.44USD
  • Luggage Room 7.63USD

Important Information

Please see the accomodation section for detailed room descriptions

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 20:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Lockout
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 80%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 84%

Value 82%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds are good and the sheets are warm. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. It is a quiet hostel so you can sleep well. The facilities are good and colorful. That made it to a nice place.

Disliked: There was a small cute dog but she peed an shit in the common areas. We didn't have the impression that the owner cared a lot about it...the kitchen is small and although there weren't a lot people most of the time dirty.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Alllllllll good ! For sure a bit of noise like in all hostal of the district, but that's also why we staid in this area, no ?! People very kind, breakfast small but made with love, Reception very helpfull, bathroom shower super clean and hot water (very hot and all time !) .... For sure some people expect a five star hotel when they come in a hostel, sorry for them for living their life in an endless picky way !!! I recomand, and i'll be back !!!

Disliked: The review too picky from "travelers" on the net !!! They should maybe experience a bit more arsh places like India or Africa to understand how blessed we are to find hostel cheap and so nice, in The area where you have to be to meet Bogota !

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very clean, cozy room and quiet place. excactly what i was looking for.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We really liked the location and the friendly staff.

Disliked: It is a bit older and our room had a musty smell. It also smells of cinnamon, but not quite strong enough to get rid of the mustiness.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A nice little hostel in a quiet part of La Candelaria but close to all the interesting parts. Our room was nice and clean, the bed big and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and provided good tips on the area. While not outstanding, the breakfast is ok (coffee or a tea, eggs and bread) and enough to get you started for the day.

Disliked: It's rather small and doesn't have much of a common area, so it may not be the best place to meet other travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff were extremely rude during correspondence before arrival! They cancelled my booking after I questioned them about false information provided on HostelBookers.com.I tried to organize airport pickup, which was listed as an additional cost of $USD 13.88 on HostelBookers.com. I phoned the hostel before arrival to organize the pickup service and was informed that the cost would in fact be roughly $USD 22. This was annoying but I agreed to the inflated price as we were to arrive late at night and felt safer with transport already arranged.Later that same day, I received an email from the hostel stating the airport pickup price was now $USD 28 - double that listed on HostelBookers! So I responded and said that I would report that they had provided false information. At this point, the hostel advised me that they had cancelled my booking and that I should seek alternate accommodation (probably to avoid a bad review).Can't speak for the quality of the hostel, but VERY poor customer service and I would NOT be recommending this hostel whatsoever.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Decent location, although hostels closer to the bus station are much better.

Disliked: I turned up they didn't have my reservation, so they put me in a dorm (I'd booked a private) the dorm wasn't too bad so if that is what I'd wanted it would've been ok although they had the rock pillows that I'm about to mention.The next day I switched to a private, the bed was like a rock with a plastic cover and the pillows were also like rocks with plastic covers, fine if you're in a nursing home but as I rarely wet the bed this is not what I wanted.Not really any atmosphere in the hostel because it is quite small and there is only one small common area.


The property's response is

You are the type of people who are not able to demand things from the front, it does not explain why his private room and we had agreed to stay in a dorm, then the next day you will be accommodated in a private room and if you bothered pillows had to ask to be moved and agurantarse 3 days with no discomfort.
also know that there is a state agency that requires us to have the mattresses and pillows with a plastic liner and is not a whim of us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is awwsomeee, very nice people, good atmosphere, its all very clean, free coffee anytime (very good coffee) and breakfast included also very good. I would totally recommend this hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's in a really good location. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: All of the toilets/bathrooms are located around the main eating area which can make it uncomfortable at times.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It seems they didn't get or realize my (confirmed) reservation. (Also not after two additional emails). In a first step there was no double room (as per my reservation) available.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability