HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Hostal Colonial la Quinta

Hostel | CALLE 12B BIS N ° 1-23, localidad de la Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia 11001

83.5% Overall Rating

54 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"The beds are good and the sheets are warm. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. It is a quiet hostel so you can sleep well. The facilities are good and colorful. That made it to a nice place."

Read all Hostal Colonial la Quinta reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please see the accomodation section for detailed room descriptions

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Explora Hostels
10.30 USD

Hostel 86.9% 50 reviews
Hotel Aragon
11.78 USD

Hotel 75.4% 5 reviews
Colombian Dream Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 90.0% 8 reviews
Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria
6.83 USD

Guesthouse 69.6% 20 reviews
Hostal Buenavida
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 4 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.29 USD

Hostel 85.9% 88 reviews
Fatima Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 61.6% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

54 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Colonial la Quinta'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 59 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic and incredible staff. I turned up in the middle of the night without a reservation (I was a night early) and they phoned other hostels and even walked me around there. The security is top notch (especially seeing as the police are always hanging around there!) and the beds are superbly comfortable. On my first proper night there, I was invited to join the staff for wine and interesting conversation. The atmosphere is pitched just right: young and vibrant, but certainly NOT a party hostel. Which is good.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La estadía estuvo perfecta.

Disliked: Nada en particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedrooms & bathrooms, as described on Hostelbookers

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice beds.

Disliked: staff dont speak very good English. We booked a double room which look really nice, though when we arrived late at night after a 16 bus ride then 3 hour flight they had none available and we ended up with a dorm. very disspointing as otherwise is a great hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Mulhern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very safe as the police hang out there alot . It is hard to find but there is a square near by with lots going on but you a far enough away not to be disturbed by it. Staff are very nice and you get a good breakfast. Would stay there again

Disliked: Noise from the common area almost seems louder in your room but everything get quiet about 10 so you will sleep fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably one of the best places I have stayed. The staff were great, always wanted to help. The whole hostel was spotlessly cleaned daily. I usually think this is a cliche, but it really was like a home away from home. We felt completely relaxed there.

Disliked: It was hard to find, as the Google map on hostelbookers is wrong. The directions given by the hostel are right, follow these.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked everything. The rooms were nice, it was spotlessly clean with really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was with my wife at the hostel, room was very confortable and clean, the enviroment is very frienship and you can to rest very quietly, the personal very kind and helpfull, we liked the arquitecture and colours, very good location, in the historical center of Bogota, near from restaurant, cafe, museum and other interesting places, safe streets, with many policemen that help you with address and orientation, I liked the hostel because it is far from the Plaza del Chorro de Quevedo and the noise is not heard in the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so helpful. Nice atmosphere. Free breakfast too which was great

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Arguably the friendliest and most helpful staff I have come across in South America over the last 12 months. Incredible location in the Candelaria. Comfortable beds and hot water. Large lockers and free towels.

Disliked: Not a ton of common space to hang out in. There's a few tables and chairs out in the lobby, but no couches or living rooms. Small kitchen. Not the best hostel to meet people, but you're so close to the plaza and plenty of bars that it's not a huge issue.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kai Thaler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in La Candelaria. Internet access in the common area. Very clean.

Disliked: Bunkrooms are right off the common areas, so it can be very loud, and bunkrooms also have no windows.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very great! The staff is so friendly and helpfull. Its clean and beautiful and the area awesome.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Hogan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice, small hostel in la Candelaria district of Bogota. It's quite a nice place to stay if you're looking for a good location, helpful staff and a quiet place to stay. Not exactly the best for meeting people as it's very small, but still very very nice in comparison to most places I stayed during three months in South America.

Disliked: Can't think of anything really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a nice colonial time charme. the rooms are "old style" but the sanitaries are modern and clean and i had warm water without the typical shower heads.

Disliked: nothing. all fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, although they could have offered a map. One day we had clothes hanging in the room to dry, but when we got back from downtown, they had dried them in the dryer and folded them, wouldn't accept payment for this unexpected service. VERY friendly!

Disliked: The sauna wasn't working (don't know for how long), that was the main reaoson for us to book this place

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decorated, friendly staff

Disliked: A bit cold..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Bargery

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 February 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for a couple of nights in a beautiful double room with a tv. there are plenty of toilets and showers and even a sauna! the staff are really friendly and very helpful, and there are a couple of computers with free internet access (plus there is also free wi-fi). the hostel is located quite high up in la candelaria, just off a little plaza which has several nice cafes/restaurants and bars. the area is usually pretty busy so its quite a safe location as long as you're careful. its a pretty quiet hostel so ideal if you want some tranquility, but you might be disappointed if you're looking for a party.

Disliked: the only negative i can think of is that the rooms are located just off the reception/common area, and the noise can carry a bit. it didn't go on late though so not a big problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: frinedliness, double room

Disliked: not much fun

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Hojing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Extremly nice location and supreme staff. Eventhough sometimes language problems really tried their best which really worked out for us.

Disliked: The lack of people and not serving breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: The layout means that whichever room you stay in your face the common areas where there are people (mostly the staff or their friends) talking loudly and watching tv at all hours - late at night and early in the morning. People come and go that don't seem to be staying at the hostel at all hours, including the police who come in to use the computers all throught the day! The showers are awful as there is nowhere to put your clothes or towels and the doors open outwards so you end up flashing the whole dinning and internet area everytime.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Thomson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 July 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Colorful place in the heart of the Candelaria with lots of bars and cafes and a great view of the mountains.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imanuela Costiner

29 May 2010 Imanuela would recommend this property

Liked: I believe we truly lucked out by finding what feels like a bed and breakfast, for the cheapest price of the hostels in the area (one of the lowest I´ve ever paid for a lodging). Was looking for a safe place with a warm atmosphere when booking a vacation for my mom and baby sis, and when all hotels in the area (6-20x more expensive than this) were sold out, I stumbled upon this brand new place and booked it. It´s centrally located right in the middle of Bogota´s charming historic district, on a quiet street. All you need is within a short walk. The walls are a bit thin, but the hostel administrator was very receptive to my suggestions, as he will be to yours, and will work on toning down any noise (I was fine with earplugs). Kitchenette with utensils, cookware, stove is provided, as is space in a fridge, HOT WATER, free internet computers, board games and a friendly space in which to play them when it´s raining (came in handy during our stay). I had laundry done for cheap around the corner.The administrator, Edwin, and everyone else working here, will go out of their way to make sure that you´re enjoying your stay, and they treat travelers as wonderful new friends, even spending a few hours teaching my mom Spanish one morning before I got up. He even walked my friend and I to a salsa dancing spot late at night when we were too afraid. He made our beds daily, and changed our towels and soaps. And the rooms really do look better than the photos provided! I feel as if I am giving away a secret, because I really do want to return here and not find it overbooked by readers!

Disliked: Imanuela left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels