We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Chapinorte V.I.P.

Hostel | Calle 79, N 14-59, Apart. 301, Zona Rosa, Bogota, Colombia 11001000

89.8% Overall Rating

49 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Eiji Suenaga thinks…

"Reasonably priced in a very safe area for anyone who wants to hit the Zona Rosa for nightlife and/or shopping at upscale shops and malls. Reasonably close to Transmileneo for transport to old town…"

Read all Chapinorte V.I.P. reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.52
  • Breakfast USD 2.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Chapinorte Hostel
17.08 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
Los Andes Hostel
20.74 USD

Hostel 85.9% 40 reviews
North House Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 70 reviews
Los Andes Boutique Guesthouse
44.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Quinta
36.59 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Falcon
19.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Kozii Hostel D.C
12.20 USD

Hostel 84.0% 5 reviews
12:12 Hostels
13.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

49 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chapinorte V.I.P.'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 49 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Antonio (owner) is helpful and friendly, and is fluent in both Spanish and English. After booking the reservation, I sent a separate email to confirm the reservation, and Antonio answered very quickly. It is important to him that his guests feel safe and comfortable. He has several employees who work part-time, and they are also very helpful and friendly. The hostel is clean, and located close to Zona Rosa, where there are a number of restaurants and clubs, and is an easy walk to the Transmilenio (one of the public transit systems) which can take you downtown to La Candelaria (shopping/museums/churches) in about 20 minutes. My flight left late, and I was able to leave my bag in a locked room for the day while I was out walking.

Disliked: I arrived around dusk, and the neighborhood was very quiet. As a single female, I felt uncomfortable until I was inside the building. The cab driver (authorized taxi from BOG costs about 23mil CP) waited with me until I was let in, and he was also very helpful and friendly. During the day, the area is completely safe, and I had an easy time getting around on my own. At night, I went out to dinner or dancing with other people from the hostel, and felt completely safe with them.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lawrence Cenotto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Antonio, the Proprietor, works overtime and extra hard to ensure his guests a positive experience. He got up for me at 4 AM to ensure a taxi ride to the airport, as my alarm clock was not working.

Disliked: Too much security ! You are handed six keys when you arrive, and if the lights are not on, you can't tell which is which or what lock to put them on. Front door alone has three locks ! This is something supposedly being attended to, but routine coming and going doesn't happen here unless Antonio is attending to you at the door personally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, great hot showers on the 3rd floor, friendly and helpfull staff, recommended

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location can't be beat. Zona T is a few blocks away and is the place to be at night. Oscar, a guy who works at Chapinorte, is extremely helpful with any request or questions about Bogota. Also, the shower is hot and powerful.. which I always like.

Disliked: Bathrooms are shared, the towels they provide are kind of nasty, and the place is small so noise from the hall (usually minimal) can be heard throughout.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BERK KIRAKLI

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 BERK would recommend this property

Liked: Due to long flight delay we missed our first night stay in this hotel so we could only stay for a night. I like the location being so close to Zona Rosa which is safe at night. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had no hot water and the room was a bit cold at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hasan Kizilkan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Hasan would recommend this property

Liked: I think it is a safe haven for people who are concerned about safety issues. It is a place where the people genuinely treat you in the best way possible to feel at ease and at home. It has been a very good start for me in Colombia due to Antonio¨s everlasting energy and high helping spirit. I would not know what I would feel if I had not been to this place. If you really feel foreign in a place without spanish speaking abilities and not much orientation of the country, then you really appreciate the extra mile you are getting from this place.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lasse Damstoft Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Lasse would recommend this property

Liked: Antonio the owner is a fantastic guy, he literally does everything you wish for... His employee Oscar is a great guy too, works hard from morning to evening, cooks great breakfast, omelet with sausage, bread and fruits... This is very close to Zona Rosa which is a very safe area both in the day and the night, a lot of people are here in the night, so you will never feel alone... It is an hour to walk downtown, can take the bus, but didn't try it, there is so many things to see on the way, so walking is the best way to see it all... Sightseeing during the day is fine... Brought a fancy sony camera (nex 5, a big camera) and nobody looked interested in it what so ever, just keep it in a camera bag and everything will be fine... They are not used to white tourists, i am from Denmark, and walking around in the streets has never given me so much attention before in my life, but it is fun, and the people are nice...

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Trefny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: It was just perfect. I'd stay here again and recommend Chapinorte V.I.P. to my friends.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super welcoming and friendly. This place doesn't feel like a Hostel which is great for a change. The rooms are big, with plenty of light and beds are comfy. The showers are really Hot! The apartment is really secure and in an ideal location from Zona Rosa and the Bus line. Having breakfast made for you is a real treat!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is our first time in Colombia, Antonio and Oscar were very helpful in getting us from the airport to Chapinorte Hostal. The location is excellent and very easy to get around town. Trips to Candelaria were easily managed by transmellenia. We were able to go to the cathedral of salt in Zipaquira, and to the mountain of La Candelera. It was all managed easily by local transportation. The zona rosa is two blocks away and very safe. We highy recommend Chapinorte for travelers.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

heather fehr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 heather would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at a lot of hostels across the world and this is one of the best places I have stayed. Antonio is really helpful and accommodating, he helps you find anything you need.. transport, a place to eat etc. The hostel is located close to the major transit system so you can access anywhere in town easily, theres lots of shops around the area too. the rooms in the hostel are simple, the bathrooms are the cleanest bathrooms i have seen at a hostel ( any many hotels). The staff has a good understanding of things to do in town and can speak enough languages to make anyones stay pretty easy. The place is chill and laid back, awesome place to stay. no complaints.

Disliked: no dislikes!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

zia sherrell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 zia would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is fantastically helpful, breakfast is included, place is very clean with large airy rooms.

Disliked: Not like a hostel, more like a guest house, but thats good for some people!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to Zona Rosa. Antonio the hostel manager very helpful and an excellent host.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark mcelvain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

07 September 2010 mark would recommend this property

Liked: This is the place to go when in Bogota! The location was dynamite, very safe and a walk to metro and the zona rosa, which was awesome!!Also, any questions you have or anything while you are there Antonio is right there, an amazing resource to fall back on. And he seems to really care that you have a good time and are taken care of. And the rooms are cleaned nicely etc....you will have a great stay here. (Just might be nice if the keys were color coded or something, lol, hard to remember, but still okay) I will go back whenever I go to Bogota!

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a pleasent stay here. The owner came to pickp us to the airport and made a call for us because we cant speak spanish. Hostel is really clean, location is excellent - two blocks away from zona rossa, and 5 minutes walk to transmilenio station where you can easily get to Candelaria and center of Bogota.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Siobhan Tierney

30 March 2010 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at both the VIP and their other hostel.Comments on VIP hostel;The lady that manages it is lovely. She is very helpful with everything. She helped when I was sick, and kept checking that I was ok. This hostel is kept clean, and rooms are very nicely laid out and rooms are a good size.On the last 2 days, we did not have the option of getting the free breakfast as no staff were there to make it. I didn´t really want to eat much as i had been sick though so not too much of a problem.Overall, I highly recommend this hostel if you want to stay in Zona Rosa.Other hostel:Rooms not as nice as the other branch. For example, there was no toilet seat in our bathroom! However our room was a good size and there was cable TV.Breakfast was not bad-omelette and bread plus drinks and a little fruit.We used the laundry service and in my opinion it was too expensive for a budget hostel (I´ve used laundry service in Asia, Chile, Argentina, elsewhere in Colombia and elsewhere in Bogota where the same was 7,000 pesos, and in London, which by the way has one of the highest cost of living anywhere in the world). It was 30,000 pesos (reduced to 25,000 after I complained) for 1 normal sized load plus 3 items separated from the other load. To his credit the owner did try to make it up to us after I complained, and one of his arguments was that cost of living is higher than the other place we had it done in Bogota, but I still felt uncomfortable about a hostel that sells itself as the cheapest option in Zona Rosa charging so much (I still don´t think I should be charged for a full load for 3 items as we haven´t been elsewhere).Overall I would recommend this hostel for location and because the owner is a nice guy who will help you with anything you need and it is an ok hostel, but just don´t get laundry done here!

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels