We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of DN Hostel

Hostel | Calle 11 No. 1 - 38, La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia 11001000

84.1% Overall Rating

99 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"Great hot water in bathrooms. I left my phone charger and they worked hard to find it for me"

Read all DN Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Colombian Dream Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 90.0% 8 reviews
Hostal Baluarte La Candelaria
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Fatima Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 61.6% 7 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.29 USD

Hostel 85.9% 88 reviews
Hostal Colonial la Quinta
7.32 USD

Hostel 83.5% 61 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
14.15 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Summer C
12.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Explora Hostels
10.30 USD

Hostel 86.9% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

99 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'DN Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2014

Liked: Great hot water in bathrooms. I left my phone charger and they worked hard to find it for me

Disliked: Not clean. Bathrooms were far away. Kitchen was less than desirable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms were clean and bright and the hostel was very comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012

Liked: The double room with the real double bed had a spectacular view of the city. It was clean, comfortable bed, and friendly staff. There are lots of bathrooms available, so sharing is easy.

Disliked: They realized on my first night there, that the room they put me in was booked for the following night by someone else. So even though I had 4 nights booked, I ended up staying for one only. They offered the other double bed room, which contains a bunkbed, and has no windows, but I declined. Things that I disliked though it was not the hotel's fault: huge construction going on in the whole street in the front, so there was no way for the taxi to pass in front. I had to walk down my luggage for half the block, which in my case was considerable effort. No wi-fi / internet, with no explanation either. It was probably due to the construction messing something up. Otherwise they are supposed to have wifi and public computers to use as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. The kitchen was great and had everything we needed to cook There are 2 cosy tv-rooms

Disliked: They don't have rooms with double beds, just bunk beds. Bit annoying as a couple

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012

Liked: Nice kitchen and clean bathrooms

Disliked: Sheets didn't look very clean on the beds. While some staff were helpful, some had no idea about things to do in Bogota and couldn't help with travel advice, were more interested in playing the bongo drums with their friends! Also, even though the hostel was almost empty, they placed us in a room directly across from reception so we could hear them chatting all night long and playing the bongos at 730am, staff could be more considerate of sleeping guests

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were good with 24 hour hot water. Staff were helpful in organising our onward journey.

Disliked: Room were cold, and the hostel was very loud with people keeping us awake until 03:00am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice and helpful staff, close to the main attractions

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ekaterina nazarova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, free coffee and toasts in the morning. Nice yard, quiet and comfortable.

Disliked: Firstly there was no hot water. But then they fixed it, it became good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la gente tenia la mejor onda!

Disliked: todo estuvo muy bien

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cathy Charles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean.Friendly staff. Well equipped kitchen. Close to Plaza Simon Bolivar. Good DVD collection.

Disliked: There was supposed to be free breakfast of tea,coffee,toast etc. but there was rarely anything available except coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the place is perfect, like being at home!

Disliked: the windows over the doors of the rooms. You can hear everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, secure. Helpful staff too.

Disliked: Not very busy when I was there unfortunately but it was still fun.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miha Trcek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Miha would recommend this property

Liked: In this hostel you can find everything needed. Atmosphere is great and stuff is very helpful.

Disliked: We got 3 bed room instead of double room which we didn't like too much. Later we got proper double room which was much better.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 July 2011

Liked: the airport pick up.

Disliked: very loud, i couldn't sleep with all the people talking and even walking or doors closing. it is in a bad area, i got out there thinking that Bogota is the worst city that i've been.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cool hostel with a relaxed atmosphere and super-friendly and helpful staff. and the frog game ;-)

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderfully friendly and it was a great place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: The location of the rooms on the ground floor - it was very noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located in the historical district, and walking distance to Bolivar square. So it is quite convenient for the museums. If clubbing is your thing, taxi ride to Zona Rosa is about 15-20 min, and about equivalent of $7-8 USD one way. Sheet and towel is clean. You can get extra blanket free of charge, and Bogota evening can be pretty chilly.

Disliked: It is a small hostel and you don't get to meet a lot of people. They are short of free maps, but you can get free maps in visitor center in Bolivar square.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and keen to help, hostel was very clean.

Disliked: nothing, really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities. Well equipped kitchen

Disliked: Sometimes too cold to eat in the terrace at night. Need for an inside dining room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff and info board with activities for the day. Nice outdoor space, if it's not raining!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Oehlers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel, lovely and clean, the staff were really nice, we had a huge hangover from our last night and they let us stay in the room an extra 3 hours waiting for our flight which was awesome! Breakfast is nice, the little dumplings they make are delicious! Great communal areas, nice selection of snaks available at reception - brownies are yum! They reccomended us a place to eat a couple of blocks away called the Mongolian Grill, it's owned by a guy called Jose and it's amazing, feels more like someones house you've been invited into, In fact we spent most of our time in bogota partying with them, definatley a must!

Disliked: The location was a bit sketchy as it was dangerous to walk round on a night, and it was also up a steep hill but apart from that all good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rutger Pronk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 Rutger would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in the safest neighborhood of Bogota and it's close to all the touristic attractions.

Disliked: The rooms where very cold. We booked a private room, but we got a room with two bunk beds.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 5 min walk to the Plaza Bolivar, there are lots of places to eat nearby too and the view of the city is gorgeous. Staff were mostly very helpful.

Disliked: It was really cold! Quite draughty inside, although the open-air area would be nice if it were warmer. The water supply was cut off when I stayed which wasn't their fault but they didn't supply any bottled water to brush our teeth with. I had booked airport pick-up which didn't arrive, it's a seperate company but booked through the hostel and they didn't seem too bothered when I told them. Patchy wifi access too.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly clean beds, rooms, toilets. Comfy beds. Super friendly staff. Great location. Met some great people. Not a crazy party hostel but good nights out organised.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a great area and is clean. The two most important criteria when I choose a hostel. Obviously, the hostel environment changes depending on the the type of guests staying but in general I would guess this hostel is more chill than party oriented. When I mean party oriented I mean a bunch of Aussies, Brits or Americans looking to get wasted every night of their stay. This is a perfect hostel to use as a base to explore the city and get into mischief in other ways.

Disliked: Nothing really.


See all Bogota hostels