HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Alegria's Hostel

Hostel | Calle 9 # 2-13, Bogota, Colombia 0571

87.4% Overall Rating

80 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

"The hostel is in a nice area and has a pretty inner yard to hang out. The activity opportunities are really good and much fun!"

Read all Alegria's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.89
  • Towel USD 2.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel
15.54 USD

Hostel 92.7% 110 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
11.91 USD

Hostel 87.8% 68 reviews
Musicology hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 83.7% 39 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
15.54 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Lido Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Mr Warrot
9.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.36 USD

Hostel 90.6% 53 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.80 USD

Hostel 89.8% 80 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

80 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alegria's Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a nice area and has a pretty inner yard to hang out. The activity opportunities are really good and much fun!

Disliked: The staff messed up our reservation and instead of a double superior room we got a moldy little chamber in which it was hard to breathe because of missing windows. There a two dogs for security reasons which is good but there is dog hair all over the place. The dog poop in the backyard is quite annoying when having breakfast next to it. Two bathrooms for the hostel is also not enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Tancred

Alone

City break

28 November 2013 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Two very nice outside patios.

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful little place. I arrived from the airport really early in the morning but a smiling Eduardo was there to open the door for me. Despite me arriving six hours before check in, he let me go to my dorm without me even asking. The other receptionist is also a sweetheart and made me coffee when I woke up. There are warm duvets in the beds and a super hot power shower and well as fast wifi and a TV. Location is pretty ideal in la candelaria.

Disliked: No lockers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. A staff that finally responds when one is having issues with the hostel, but it did take some blunt statements on my part. They did let me leave early without charge.

Disliked: Being left in the street late at night, dirty bathrooms with tufts of toilet paper and hair all over, general lack of order, saggy bed with clean sheets but several pillows without pillowcases, nary a hook or hanger anywhere in my room, wifi internet not working.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig CORBETT

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 July 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: We were delighted by the cool, quirky communal areas and outdoor seating areas which made Alegria's a really social, friendly place to be. We met lots of interesting people during our stay. The two dogs Moka and Poker are very friendly and fun, but are also there for security purposes and can get pretty loud if they feel uncomfortable. This was a positive thing for me as La Candeleria is pretty rough at night. We arrived very early (about 6am) and even though check in wasnt until 1pm, we were allowed to make ourselves at home in the comfy communal areas, sleep on the sofas, shower and eat breakfast... it was a nice start after 30 hours travelling! Staff are very friendly and accomodating and patient with those who dont speak spanish ( although the boss Alegria speaks perfect English and is around alot). Great place, we will definately stay here again when we come back to Bogota.

Disliked: The propery was great, the staff were great, but the location was a little dodgy at night. La Candeleria is beautiful during the day and very well policed , with a big police presence which makes you feel pretty safe. At night however, the long streets are pretty quiet and it can be bad for street-crime. That said, the hostel will book you a taxi to wherever you want to go which is cheap and safe, and there are plenty of small bars and restaurants nearby so its ok if you wander out as a group.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a beautiful private room with white washed walls, fireplace and a super comfortable bed. The common area and kitchen were cosy and well equipped, and the shared bathroom had the best shower I've had in months. Our favourite hostel to date!

Disliked: It seems to be a common problem judging by the reviews, but when we arrived they didn't have a room available for us the first night although we had a reserveration. The reason given was that other guests had extended their stay. They secured a room for us in another hostel near by, paid for the difference and taxis, and had a room available the following day. While it was a bit inconvenient, the owner handled it very well and we liked the place so much that when we returned we extended our stay by 3 nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eliana Valderrama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Eliana would recommend this property

Liked: The house is just beautiful and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is all right, close to many restaurants, bars and public transportation. Theres is always things (activities) to do organized by the hostel. Thanks to Alegria, this is a place with so much fun. Sure I´d come back!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brittany Herring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, comfortable beds, adorable dogs, great location within walking distance to many sites, and the wifi had a great signal.

Disliked: The shower was leaking and was cold. It eventually warmed up near the end but pressure was poor. Also, we were told there would be a game the next day so we stayed but nobody notified us when it was cancelled.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen, very centrally located

Disliked: Rooms are all located around the reception and the bell is quite loud - therefore rooms are loud in the mornings and evenings

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, well equiped kitchen, ample hot water, decent coffee although not always enough of it

Disliked: no smoking apparently not enforced by staff so I had to ask smokers to butt out. They always did.. Breakfast couil be more generous.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Smera Kazmi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Smera would recommend this property

Liked: set in a nice location. staff are nice and friendly, even though some don't speak much English they are still helpful.

Disliked: not enough bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great and the most helpful staff, great place will stay again

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private room we had was very clean and spacious with a decent bed and linen. Ruen who worked nights at our location (there are 2 in the same street) was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: if no one was onsite, you might have to wait for someone to let you in, didnt happen often, but did happen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manami Naito

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Manami would recommend this property

Liked: I also work at the hostel reception, and you can trust my review!!!! Yo también trabajo en un hostal como una recepcionista, pueden contar mi revisión (disculpe mi español) I only stayed just for 2 nights, but all of the staffs were really helpful and friendly. The place was really clean and in good mood with lovely doggies etc. Night there was very quiet and even though I was in dorm, I could sleep well.

Disliked: if they had a phone not only for local calls, it could be better. Since I had to call my friend in Medellin on the day I arrived (and it was already at 10p.m.) I didn't feel so secured to go to the phone place walking 2 - 3 blocks from hostel. even though the staff was really helpful and tried to help me as much as possible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

john grant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, morning coffee is good. comfy beds, big kitchen

Disliked: A bit cold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hang out tv room and big kitchen. really comfy, warm beds.

Disliked: hot water not consistent, not enough bathrooms for everyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind to me when I arrived late at night. There were no bottom bunks left (I am an older large size woman) so a staff member from the annex came to accompany me a few doors away. I liked the annex, it was smaller and quieter.

Disliked: It was all good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, good hot showers! helpful staff, clean etc.

Disliked: A couple of streets out the way feeling alittle unsafe when dark but easy to get taxis

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011

Liked: It was very clean, there was always hot water and 24-hour coffee!

Disliked: Not a single employee spoke even a little English and they would crank their music up super loud, making it impossible to sleep. It's one thing if it were other tourists, but come on, the receptionists?!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It`s comfortable and good service for guests and me. I really enjoyed to stay at Alegria's Hostel. It`s also included wonderful breakfast. I like it.

Disliked: Olny 1 computer can be used for guest to using. I have to wait 30 mins for using.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really friendly and helpfull

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

humberto perez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 humberto would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente and Fun!!! The best. i love it. Thanks :)

Disliked: Perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best quality for a great price, i had a perfect time during my stay at Alegria´s Hostel. Very highly recommended, all the staff are fantastic. This hostel is a perfect place to stay. . . Very comfy beds, delicious BBQ, a very nice chill area and a big kitchen. Thanks for every thing!

Disliked: More hammakas and dvds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love everything about Alegria´s Hostel. The owner is a bewtyfull girld that know everything about Colombial and Bogota, she live at the hostel and she is backpacker so the hostel have what we need, full information. Gorgeous dorms with fire place and big good duvets and lots of blankets. Hot perfect showers. Nice colombian breakfast. Wonderful staff, friendly atmosphere and very cheap, I realy dont know why... Thanks!!! I will be back soon, I love Bogota.

Disliked: Nothing, the hostel is the best!


See all Bogota hostels