HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Alegria's Hostel

Hostel | Calle 9 # 2-13, Bogota, Colombia 0571

88.3% Overall Rating

82 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Isaura Garcia thinks…

"I liked the staff. I liked their TV. The hot water. I watched the world cup game between the Netherlands and Brazil. I liked that they had some breakfast available (cafe con leche, pineapple, and…"

Read all Alegria's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.06
  • Towel USD 2.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel
18.94 USD

Hostel 92.7% 110 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
12.45 USD

Hostel 88.9% 72 reviews
Musicology hostel
8.66 USD

Hostel 82.9% 41 reviews
Summer C
18.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
16.23 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Lido Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Mr Warrot
9.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.82 USD

Hostel 89.9% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

82 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alegria's Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 89 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Huchet

24 April 2010 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner and staff

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 April 2010

Liked: Its location is the best. While I stayed there, they forgot to prepare the breakfast... and when they did... it was almost nothing... There was only one bathroom with hot water, but the shower didn't work well (hot water was like leaking...). The staff was absent most of the time, and when I had to pay my bill... the woman that was there has no idea about what I should paid. Not so many security boxes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan James Davidson

25 March 2010 Alan James would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a very beautiful house in the wonderful Candelaria area of Bogota, very close to the Botero Museum and many other wonderful buildings and facilities. I was staying in the private double room at the top of the house which is truly spectacular with a wonderful and huge window with spectacular views of Bogota during the day and especially at night with the lights of the city sparkling below. Breakfast is basic but ok. The only real downside is the shower facilities. There are three shower rooms but only one of them has hot water and that one is only hot when the water is trickling (as it is of th instant heating variety and when there is a decent quantity of water it comes out cold). The basins do not have hot water. Otherwise recommended!

Disliked: Alan James left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

gudrun & werner hupfauer

08 March 2010 gudrun & werner would recommend this property

Liked: The layout allowed for easy mingling.

Disliked: gudrun & werner left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: frienly staff.....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jorrit Visser

06 February 2010 Jorrit would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay, homely feel to it and very nice staff, helpfull and friendly... the kitchen was nice aswell and hammocks to chillout. free internet and coffee.Wanted to stay again on our last night but unfortunately it was booked out, decided to stay in DN hostal which was more new looking but very noisy and unfriendly (unpersonal)!We love you Alegria !!! :D

Disliked: Jorrit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie ganly

04 January 2010 katie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! I felt like i was at home... best living room in the world its so cosy and u even get blankets when your chillin out. Alegria was such a good laugh and the location was perfect. A great place to meet people. Not a crazy party hostel- unless you want it to be!

Disliked: katie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Jaklitsch

23 December 2009 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect Place to stay!!! Cool Owner, very helpful...

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Beacroft

14 December 2009 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here, it was amazing. I met an awesome group of people and probably drank far too much. The owner of the hostel is lovely, I´d definitley recommend this place.

Disliked: Monica left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kichen, the room upstairs with an amazing view ot the city, the location.the staff were not that nice is our only complaint

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location in Candelaria area and decent hot shower

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Alony

12 October 2009 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great, the owner is a hipster Colombian girl and she brings good vibes to the place. Lots of cool international people having funky late nite discussions and PokerNights. There is free colombian coffee 24/7, clean towels every day. The kitchen its the best, the people cooking there make the magic happen. We already miss Alegria the owner and the Martini's Night.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidy Maria

12 October 2009 Heidy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and help u for every thing, they offer u facilities and give u the best services all the time, the location is clean and Natural. The perfect place for to meet realy good people and get fun around the city. And the $ price... this is the best!!

Disliked: Heidy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Ambrozy

06 October 2009 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Previously I thought I would stay in Alegria´s for 3 days, later on I decided to stay during my entire stay in Bogota - 3 weeks. I find the hostel very friendly, the owner itself is a great and helpful person, the staff is very nice and ready to help in any situation. During my stay I was learning Spanish, Salsa (great thanks for arranging it for me). There is one "darker" thing - breakfast: it´s bread&butter, coffee and chocolate, so it´s rather below European standards, but it doesn´t change anything, Alegria is a great hostel I can recommend to everyone!Cheers,Adam

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jogga Craft

28 September 2009 Jogga would recommend this property

Liked: extremely warm and friendly Hostel, top location in the heart of stunning old Barrio "la Candelaria" in Bogota. There is a beautiful little garden, and a great kitchen for cooking. They also offer spanish and salsa classes.I met some really good people there.Another highlight is the French Bakery just next door, featuring top Croissants au Chocolat and other stunning food. j

Disliked: Jogga left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, very clean, safe, perfect atmosphere and character. Really good Spanish and Salsa lessons at the hostel!!!The most beutyfull hostel I've stayed in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phu Nguyen

17 September 2009 Phu would recommend this property

Liked: feel at country home very cool. good place to rest,

Disliked: Phu left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second stay at Alegria's and I'm glad to stay it was even better than before. The kitchen was way cleaner than my last visit and the plae looked even tidier over all. The only thing that I find strange is that I never really know who is a staff member or a guest. In my last 2 visits the receptionist was in bed...both different receptionists, and people that I thought were guests are actually working here....strange.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aileen Tennant

06 August 2009 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house with amazing character and space. Comfy beds, good showers and toilets, great space in the kitchen but not enough cooking equipment and crockery. There is a open fire in the 10 bed dorm....lush!

Disliked: Aileen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly, good people, nice vibe, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Edgardo Albarracín

24 July 2009 Oscar Edgardo would recommend this property

Liked: The zone around "Alegria's Hostel" is very nice, same like San Telmo, Buenos Aires. The house is a "Casona Colonial" and the people are very friendly.Gentlemen, the owner of the hostel is young, friendly and beautiful!

Disliked: Oscar Edgardo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Will Bennett

11 July 2009 Will would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful, especially when dealing with a cab driver who was trying to rip us off when we first arrived. The double room at the top of the house has the most amazing view of Bogota- especially at night!

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Macrae

08 July 2009 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice quite-ish (ie not boring quiet) friendly hostel, excellent staff, very helpful. Nice place to hang out, really comfy sofas to chill and watch a film. Good location close to all the historical bits, and in a pretty street. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house, comfortable shared facilities / but door to dorm didn"t close!Lovely, friendly staff.Breakfast could be better - some matresses hard -but positives overide the negatives eg. friendly atmosphere.Unfortunately hostel had no record of my booking -wasn't a problem - but could have been if they were full.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Richard Keeling

15 April 2009 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is super friendly and helpful

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels